We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa

Travelers' Choice award winner
36 Saxon Road | Sandhurst, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    19
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
46
141
11
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (309)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the chance to visit South Africa in April. We had 2 days and one night to stay in Johannesburg before starting our Safari. As soon as you enter the Saxon Hotel, you realise that you are going to spend a very relaxing time. The staff is extremely polite and effective, the swimming pool is out of this world,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Buyer's remorse is my feeling the day after dining at Restaurant 500. After the wonder and awe faded from the night before, I'm left with a bitter taste of being ripped off. Most of the food was pre-prepared so there was very little kitchen action. The menu is designed that way. Giving the chefs a stress free evening which compised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Nigel P, Thank you for your recent review of five hundred at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa and your feedback regarding your recent experience. Could I please ask you to be in contact with me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za or +27 11 292 6000 as I would like to discuss your recent experience with you further. Kind Regards, George Cohen More 

Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a 5 star scale we give the Saxon an 8. We were lucky on our 2nd stay there to be upgraded to the Nelson Mandela suite consisting of 6 rooms! This is the suite that Mandela, Pres. Obama and the Clintons have stayed in. I have stayed in some of the world's finest hotels, but few could hold a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear DaleSchwartz, Thank you very much for your lovely review of Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look very forward to welcoming you back to your home in South Africa very soon! Please contact me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za when you plan your next visit as we would like to ensure that... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a morning at the spa to relax before an overseas trip and we were left highly disappointed. The prices at the spa are steep compared to other spas in Johannesburg, but we thought we would indulge ourselves. The massage was mediocre, and was in a room that desperately needs a makeover. The staff were not very welcoming at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jared_B16, Thank you for your review of Saxon Spa and Studio. Please accept my apologies for your recent experience at the Spa, I will most certainly look into the matter and rectify the issues that you have addressed. Could I please ask you to contact me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za as I would like to discuss the experience that you had... More 

Harrison, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Saxon Hotel is a special place with a host of attentive staff including Molapisi, the gracious host for the award winning Qunu restaurant and Angie, the knowledgable and charming Sommelier. Denise arranged a shopping and lunch outing for us with a car and driver that was perfect! We were entertained at night by the talented musicians, Jonathan Assampah on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear QR365, Thank you for your lovely review of Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa. I will most certainly pass your wonderful comments on to Molapisi, Angie and Denise as well as the duo of Jonathan and Femi who entertained you in Qunu Grill. We hope to welcome you back to your home away from home in South Africa soon! Please... More 

London, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cannot begin to tell you how wonderful this hotel is. GREAT service, beautifully thought out, wonderful food, excellent spa, lots to do and try within the premises that even after three full days we hadn't tried everything. And 500 is out of this world. Thank you to Denise, Brett, Sinclair, Roland, Angie, Marko, Lloyd, Amit, Memory and Sibusiso.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tarek M, Thank you for your wonderful review of Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and look very forward to welcoming you back soon, please contact me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za when you plan your next visit. Kind Regards, George Cohen More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

The location of this hotel is great. Prime real estate. The feeling you get from staying here is like that of a presidential accommodation. And yes Oprah stay here. The host and the butlers can read your mind and know exactly what you need. Room size and design excellent. Hotel is classic with a sophisticated twist of African decor. Ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear D4chesi, Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our butler team met all expectation of your stay. Please do contact me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za when you next visit Johannesburg. Kind Regards, George Cohen More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

My wife and I spent our anniversary at this hotel. We were not disappointed. From the time we stepped out of the car, we felt like royalty. The service is what you would expect from a 5 star establishment. The waiters and porters were friendly and always served with a smile. The room we stayed in (which was an entry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hemz_SA, Thank you for your review and for selecting us to celebrate such a special occasion. We pride ourselves on offering our guests the best service that we are able to and I am delighted to read that you experienced that during your visit. Thank you also for your comments with regards to your dinner in Qunu Grill, please... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Superb. The decor and artefacts are elegant and divine. Food superb. Service impeccable with attention to detail at every turn. Staying one night a must ... more if you can. Its heritage and links to Nelson Mandella are evident throughout the hotel giving the place a real sense of history. I can't imagine visiting Johannesburg and not squeezing in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Amanda C, Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you experienced the award winning service and offering that we pride ourselves in offering our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Please contact me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za when you next visit Johannesburg. Kind Regards, George Cohen More 

Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Like an oasis in the midst of massive Jo'burg, the Saxon was pure delight - - - elegance through and through with wonderful amenities. The service was over the top, and the decorator did a lights out job. We enjoyed a nice couples massage at the spa, and the room service presentation was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeorgeCohen, General Manager at Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Barbara S, Thank you for taking the time to send us your lovely review, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you relaxed and enjoyed some Spa time. I will most certainly pass your lovely feedback on to my team. Please do contact me on managingdirector@saxon.co.za when you plan your next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities