We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

4.0 of 5 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Special Rate
Free upgrade to a suite
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    51
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
18
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
See the most recent reviews
mahikeng
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

room conditions of the hotel. all the appliances of the rooms to be checked regularly and be repaired. it will be appreciated if the frequent visitor card can be arranged for companies. the courtesy shuttle hours to be extended at least 22h00

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Renanao, Thank you for your recent review of the Hotel. Company frequent guest cards are availabe and you can get details about this on our website at www.tsogosun.com. Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager More

Cape Town
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This must be the best hotel in South Africa. It's location is perfect. The concept of the rooms is outstanding. Coupled with that its chef (Rob) must be one of the best. To top this the reception always gives outstanding service thanks to Thumi,Tsepo and Charlotte. To Thumi keep up the service. It is rare to have someone with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Henmo67, Thank you for your lovely survey and comments. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the spaciousness and privacy our hotel offers in the middle of the hussle and bussle of Sandton. I will pass your lovely comments onto Tumi, he truly is a rare gem. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards Wilma Swart... More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I enjoyed my stay. I wish Kesley reasturant upgrade their menu add more stuff. It would be nice though to have Mzantsi magic channel, some of us we love Isibaya. :). Many thanks to all who have made my stay comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Chwayita, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed yours stay at the Hotel. The restaurant has a "Chef on Call" who you can contact at any time for special requests that might not be on the menu. On your next stay I invite you to... More

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Was there for 1 night for work. This hotel is part of a chain but doesn't have that generic cookie-cutter feel that chains can have. Reception staff very friendly. Room clean. Mine was quiet (it looked onto a courtyard) but a colleague in another part of the hotel got traffic noise.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Kath dt, Thank you so much for your lovely review on the Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced the ambiance as relaxed and not "cookie cutter" like. This is exactly what we aim to deliver to give guests a relaxed atmosphere where they can stay and work in. We sure... More

Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Nice location but you should ask lots of questions when checking in as you won't be told anything until you check out when you would receive massive billing. Hoxani isn't fit to be a front desk he has no inter personal attitude.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Bola957, Thank you for your review on your stay experience. I trust that you were happy with management's intervention into your situation during your stay. I know that the Assistant General Manager personally tended to trying to meet your requirements. I sincerely hope that this has shown our commitment to guest satisfation. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience... More

Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

exceptional service room are spacious and comfortable location is convenient in a business district and near downtown walking distance to most attracted place in Sandton; michaleangelo/Sandton city shopping center and Nelson Mandela square good value for the money

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Malak, Thank you for your recent review of Southern Sun Katherine Street in Sandton. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to finally meet you and a treat to meet your wife as well. I believe you enjoyed your stay in Cape town as well. We look forward to welcoming... More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have consistently received excellent service from Katherine Street Southern Sun and this one was the same. Great room, fabulous dining experience and a good welcome from staff. Wi-Fi connection was superb and staff very responsive to my needs.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Wimshisa, Thank you so much for the wonderfull review. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern Sun Katherine Street More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was not the first at this hotel but my expectations were surpassed this time around. The rooms looked spacious and the accessibility to the bathroom was easy. The kitchenette was clean and looked hygienic. the TV was easy to watch while in bed. I came here without prior arrangement but the manner in which I was helped was excellent!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Kwaito1957, Thank you so much for your lovely review about your stay experience at Southern Sun Katherine Street. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the unique features of our rooms. We sure hope to see you back soon! Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern Sun Katherine Street More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We often visit Johannesburg and stay in the Santon area because of the short distance to the Gautrain the shoping centre and our work commitments. This hotel answers to all of the above. We found our room clean and well maintained. The price was reasonable and we will return upon our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Lionel, Thank you so much for your lovely review on our hotel and your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you find out extra spacious rooms so conducive to your business needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton More

Durban
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend... for the price, I was expectin a lot more... rooms require urgent upgrading... the hot water shut off after 1 person had a bath...the hotel is crying out for an upgrade... I have stayed at many Southern Sun hotels before, but this was very disappointing.....give it a miss

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Asish, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your stay. I am very disturbed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were in one of the remaining 40 rooms that have not been refurbished yet. All our other rooms have undergone a refurb recently and these 40 rooms... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay