We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Sandton hotels

Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free upgrade to a suite
Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton to your Saves list
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
85%
Ranked #7 of 44 hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
zmalak Beirut, Lebanon
  • Overview
  • Reviews (101)
  • Photos (45)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    47
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
18
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

exceptional service room are spacious and comfortable location is convenient in a business district and near downtown walking distance to most attracted place in Sandton; michaleangelo/Sandton city shopping center and Nelson Mandela square good value for the money

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have consistently received excellent service from Katherine Street Southern Sun and this one was the same. Great room, fabulous dining experience and a good welcome from staff. Wi-Fi connection was superb and staff very responsive to my needs.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Wimshisa, Thank you so much for the wonderfull review. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern Sun Katherine Street More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was not the first at this hotel but my expectations were surpassed this time around. The rooms looked spacious and the accessibility to the bathroom was easy. The kitchenette was clean and looked hygienic. the TV was easy to watch while in bed. I came here without prior arrangement but the manner in which I was helped was excellent!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Kwaito1957, Thank you so much for your lovely review about your stay experience at Southern Sun Katherine Street. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the unique features of our rooms. We sure hope to see you back soon! Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern Sun Katherine Street More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We often visit Johannesburg and stay in the Santon area because of the short distance to the Gautrain the shoping centre and our work commitments. This hotel answers to all of the above. We found our room clean and well maintained. The price was reasonable and we will return upon our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Lionel, Thank you so much for your lovely review on our hotel and your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you find out extra spacious rooms so conducive to your business needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton More

Durban
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a weekend... for the price, I was expectin a lot more... rooms require urgent upgrading... the hot water shut off after 1 person had a bath...the hotel is crying out for an upgrade... I have stayed at many Southern Sun hotels before, but this was very disappointing.....give it a miss

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Asish, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor about your stay. I am very disturbed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were in one of the remaining 40 rooms that have not been refurbished yet. All our other rooms have undergone a refurb recently and these 40 rooms... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent stay at Katherine street . Staff always friendly and helpfull and very professional and tidy in their uniforms.Rooms comfortable and very clean.Special thanx to Nelson and the shuttle service, always just a phone call away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Anjs, Thank you so much for your lovely review about our Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be performing at the high level we aim to provide to our valued guests. We sure hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern... More

Centurion
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite the construction that is happening along the road in front of the hotel, the service is still of very high quality and the property is in close proximity to certain places of interest and business complexes. The hotel is strategically placed in Katherine street. It definitely gives value for money.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Matlhogonolo827M, Thank you for your lovely review on our Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also looking forward to the council completing the expansion of the entire Katherine Street but understand that they need to do this in order to create a designated bus lane. We look forward to welcoming... More

Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are very clean.. Hotel stuff are very kind and very good services I would highly recommend to try and stay at this hotel during your visit to Sandton..you won't worry for anything there... Excellent hotel

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Wassim Adra, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Southern Sun Katherine Street in Sandton. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff saw to your every need. We sure look forward to welcoming you back! Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton More

Queenstown, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The stay at this hotel was very pleasant. The staff are very courteous. The rooms are not luxurious but are very clean. The shuttle service is also an added bonus if you require transport. The driver, Nelson, is excellent. He is so polite, drives really well and certainly is an asset to this hotel. He is a true gentleman. Breakfast... More

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel. I am delighted to inform you that we will be refurbishing the rooms that you stayed in this year to give it more of a luxurious feel. We have already compled the suites and if you stay again, we will gladly upgrade you to one of those for free... More

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I wish that your bed cleaners could do the proper bed change when they change the linen so people dont get all this bad expirience that i went through because your hotel is one of the best.Otherwise you have a good reception that is so warm

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilma S, General Manager at Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Martha R, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to see you enjoy all the property has to offer. On your next stay please make contact with the Executive Housekeeper so we know exactly how you would like your bed made. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards Wilma Swart General Manager Southern Sun Katherine Street More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton

Address: 115 Katherine Street, Sandton 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton Greater Johannesburg

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sandton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sandton #8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Everyone from sportsmen to business travelers is attracted to the Southern Sun Katherine Street Hotel in Sandton for its elegance, proximity to Sandton's attractions and welcoming atmosphere. Executive suites have their own kitchenette and dining area, perfect for the traveler staying a bit longer to truly explore the city. The intimate conference facilities are ideal for private business meetings and the restaurant and bar offer a relaxing place to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
122

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Katherine Street Sandton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer