We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gallo Manor Country Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
23 Canterbury Crescent | Gallo Manor, Sandton 2052, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gallo Manor Country Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gallo Manor Country Lodge
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
3
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very impressed to say the least. i tried other guesthouses in the area and I must say the country lodge offered the best value. It's rooms are greatly priced and spacious. The owner was kind enough to offer me a ride to the place I was visiting which was about 5 minutes away. I would love to visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for your valued comments and look forward to meeting you again in the future. More 

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our third and fourth all-too-brief stays at the Gallo Manor Country Lodge during January 2015. We have tended to use this establishment as a stop-over when travelling between other locations in South Africa but we enjoy our stays so much that the next time we will try to spend more time there - if only to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

It is such a joy for us to hear that you enjoyed your brief visit to Gallo Manor Lodge. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we look forward to your return in 2017. Regards Lynne More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

I loved my stay of 2 days, I stayed in the Emerald room and loved it and I will go back any day. It is in a nice closed off area, very friendly staff and quiet area, 3km away from MHPSA head office, little traffic and close to everything. My room had a kitchenette and a lovely bathroom, big comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are please that you appreciated the tranquillity experienced at Gallo Manor. More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

An excellent place to stay in Johannesburg. Very conveniently situated near the motorway and not too far from Sandton City. Lovely gardens and well-appointed rooms. Lynne Taylor, the owner, is very helpful and her staff are competent and friendly. The only drawback is that parking could get a bit tight if the Lodge is full. We didn't have a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We that you for your review and are pleased that enjoyed your stay More 

Benoni, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Once again we had an amazing stay at Gallo Manor Country Lodge. A tranquil setting in which to greet the New Year with amazing people. Hospitality impeccable as always. Thank you, Lynne. May the Lord continue to bless you and your establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of Gallo Manor Lodge. We enjoyed the New Year celebrations with you too. May 2015 full fill your wildest dreams with good health and happiness! More 

Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I stayed for one night for business and was sorry to have to leave. Lynne was a charming host from booking right through to check out. She was attentive and willing to go out of her way for a guest who was only spending one night. For example, I needed 100kg of boxes delivered for my business trip, which she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We thank you for sharing your Gallo Manor experience. It is of great importance to us, that we meet the need of our guests. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I cannot praise enough how welcome I've been made to feel by Lynne and her staff. Beautiful lodge and nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful bedrooms and grounds . Will definitely be coming back should we be this way again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are pleased that you appreciated the true Gallo Manor hospitality and trust that you will feel free to visit us again. More 

gatorgirl515
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Lynn is a lovely host and the house is beautiful! Rooms and bathrooms are large and very comfortable. She really goes out of her way to accommodate. You will need a driver because nothing is walkable but she suggested a great service that we enjoyed. Overall recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments as it is of great value to us. More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Located on the edge of the JHB Country Club golf course this makes the residence and pretty gardens very quiet. Easy driving distance from local shops and about 10-15 minutes from Sandton City centre. The staff and owners are lovely and friendly, the breakfasts were good. Rooms are well appointed. But that's where it stopped. I was disappointed that my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

We are mindful that reviews are the opinion of the individual and have taken into account that at no stage during your stay any mention was made of the negative feed back reported in your review. It is unfortunate that we can therefore neither defend or accept that your comments are true. I would recommend that in future whilst travelling,... More 

Snohomish
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This would be an excellent B & B if you have transportation because it is in a very nice, secure, gated, residential area but quite a distance from restaurants. Lynn is a great hostess trying to meet the needs of each of her guests. We did not have transportation so she offered to drive us to the local shopping center... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lynne T, Owner at Gallo Manor Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued coment. It is always a great joy hosting our guests More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question