We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Woodmead Guest Lodge | 84 Edison Crescent, Sandton 2157, South Africa
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Management photosView all
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    18
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
8
11
3
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What A Pleasure. We have stayed for 4 days. From check in to depart. Excellent Service. Wonderful Stuff. Thank you: Liezel (General Manager). Charmaine @ reservations. Pauline, and Blondie, Duty managers. And To Fred, Dipou,and Daniel. You guys have been of such great service. You all are assets, to the Holiday Inn Group. We'll certainly see you again, on our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

For the price you pay > 1000 rand , you can do much better elsewhere . A utilitarian basic hotel where everything is a problem. - we were not advised at time of booking that the restaurant was being renovated - this caused many issues with many guests battling to order food , from a delivery service that charged more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Sandton hotels

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

You would expect "Basic" accommodations when the name Holiday Inn is mentioned, however, this location was the "Upscale" version! A tad far from the airport but Sandton is a Very Nice part of town... It reminded me of Buckhead in Atlanta. This location is walking distance to Nelson Mandela Square Mall as well as many nice restaurants (Bulls Run) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

It is a little difficult to find the place on Google maps - the GPS (Garmin) works better. The entrance is a bit confusing as the reception is on Level2 and not visible when you enter the building - there is nobody around to point you in the right direction and no proper signages either. The check-in was quick with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review

Dear Ram368, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you had a smooth check in and that you liked the service you have received. We highly appreciate your comments as we do strive to improve our amenities and services. I have faith in our hotel that they will continue to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

no wifi every thing dismanged yekh hate it i never want to go there this has bad view yekh i hate it and i do not want to go there again this is very far from every thing do not go there bad view from up i hate it never evrr go there

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review

Dear esmawakhwtaeaw, Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. I regret that this visit was not completely up to par due to the issues encountered with the Internet service. We have sent you a private message in order to obtain more details about your stay. We look forward to your reply and being of further... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

We arrived on a late flight and had to pay around $50 to get to the hotel since it is quite far. When we arrived the restaurant was closed and we perceived the staff no too friendly, we were starving and did nit have change for the vending machine, only option to eat something, and we asked for change in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_11, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip advisor. We always appreciate all forms of feedback from our guests and use it to continuously improve both our products and services. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our restaurant, its food as well... More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

If you need a place to stay on business, and need to be in the Sunninghill / lower Rivonia Road area, consider the Holiday Inn Express, Woodmead-Sandton. The rooms are well equipped, WiFi is available (though I did not make use of it so cannot comment on speed/access), and you can order in meals through their Yumbi service (similar to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_11, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Woodmead. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share your comments with our team. We are delighted to hear that you found our location convenient, rooms fully equipped and... More 

Harare
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

this is a good place for business person who is engaged in business activities in woodmead/ sandton.m the place is quite and close to major business centres. it's hussle free as it free you from all the traffic congestion .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEX_11, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking your time to write an insightful review on our hotel - Holiday Inn Express Woodmead. We appreciate your comments on hotel location and it convenience to other business in the area. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I stayed for one day on the 15th of May to be specific. I booked and payed in advance and as i got there on the night the lady at the reception was rude, I told her the room has been payed for already and she says to me no the room is not payed for without even checking her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_11, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete a comment on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Woodmead. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the clean & neat room and good breakfast. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Not great used reward points, good for business people due to the business park otherwise not recommendable, very small double beds, ask for Internet as a rewards member, we were given false info and had only 100th free

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead, responded to this review

Dear Pueppithecat, Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback and for your continuous business as our IHG Rewards Club member. It is truly disheartening that some aspects of our hotel fell below your expectations. Allow me to apologize if our beds and internet provided may have caused you any inconvenience. I have taken note of your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
0.0 mi away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#28 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westford Hotel, Sandton
0.0 mi away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
0.0 mi away
Glenalmond Hotel
Glenalmond Hotel
#26 of 48 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay