We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Roodepoort hotels

Protea Hotel Roodepoort

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Roodepoort to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
47%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Roodepoort
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014
sello m Pretoria, South Africa
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
1
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

sometimes we as people we have to be realistic and positive and nothing or no one is perfect. but been harsh to another human been does not help any one... but as for me and my family we had a great weekend and better service thanks to the lady's at the help desk though the was a mix up with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear sello m, Thank you for your words of appreciation on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Roodepoort. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. We acknowledge that there was an error on your booking upon check in which was quickly resolved.It was our pleasure to accommodate... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I do not often stay at Protea Hotels as I consider their hotel rates to be about 10% higher than average rates for the same standard. I was however feeling low and I needed to get some much needed rest. The Protea Hotel was well located in Roodepoort. The security outside was really good with high visibility and I felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear GrantH490. Thank you for taking your time to give us such positive feedback. We value such feedback as this is the true yardstick we use to measure our successes but most importantly to correct and improve where we went wrong. I will also commend the TEAM for the exceptional service. I would like to mention that Protea Hotels has... More

Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Paid R1000 per night for a 3 star hotel- normally stay at other 4 star proteas for the same price On arrival our booking was mixed up, after being told the system is giving them problems by one staff member and that we also we made the wrong booking by another staff member?? Got to the room - twin beds-... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Janineregtien, Thank you for taking your time to communicate your feedback to us. We value such feedback as this is the only way we can improve on our service delivery. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and the discomfort that was caused to you. It is very clear that we did not meet and exceed your expectations.... More

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked a double room. We got a twin room. Then we asked to move and they then moved us to a room with a 3/4 bed with BLOOD on the bedding!!! Who does that! The staff were unhelpfull and the manager incompetent. I'm shocked!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Alex F, We would like to sincerely apologize for the unacceptable levels of service you received, on your recent visit to Protea Hotel Roodepoort. I can confirm that upon hearing of your dissatisfaction I investigated the matter thoroughly and I fully agree and accept that we did not meet your expectations. Your concerns regarding our overall service, the allocation... More

Clarens
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed a night with my 8 month old and my 2.7 year old son. The bed was comfortable, they set up a sleeper couch for my son and a cot for my daughter without being asked. When we checked in the ladies at reception were friendly and efficient. The location is great and the Spur next door is awesome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear MaggieMae82, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Roodepoort and posting such a great review on TripAdvisor, we also thank you for giving us the highest rating. We, at Protea Hotels pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations, I am glad we did just that. What a wonderful ambassador you are for our... More

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My colleagues in Johannesburg booked this hotel because it is near our shop and office facility. The price was definitely good, the buffet that they provide is quite nice and a good value. The service from the staff is also quite good. The shortcomings are the lack if ironing boards and irons in the rooms. The rooms and the beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Tyrerubber, Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor, regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Roodepoort. GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive and quality of the facilities is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I can assure you that your comments are being used constructively to... More

Europe
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The previous reviewer who talks about poor maintenance has it right. Using the sink in the bathroom on the first morning, I was rather surprised when the U-bend fell off, causing the contents of the sink to fall onto the floor. I reported this to the front desk and went about my business day. The following morning (today) the exact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear DjBenedict, Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor on your recent visit. We trully value your honest feedback that assists in rectifying our shortcomings and service delivery. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvinience that you experienced during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Roodepoort. I can assure you that your experience with regards... More

Isle of Man
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just spent 9 nights at this location. The staff are excellent and the hotel manager should be very proud of all of them, they do an excellent job in looking after you, being friendly polite and helpful. There is a good transfer link in the mornings and the afternoons when you need to go for the hotel to and from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear AlbanyHouse Thank you so much for staying with Protea Hotel Roodepoort and posting such a great review on TripAdvisor. You mentioned that I should be proud of the STAFF for their outstanding efforts and service excellence. I could not agree with you more and I am filled with pride and gratitude to be working with such an amazing TEAM.... More

Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I reviewed this hotel last year also & it was reasonable till then. However after 2 more stays (total of 6 stays - approx 30 nights in total) - my notion about the place changed this time. Thumbs up - The Staff! Unbelievably friendly when you meet them. Inspite of now having an easy surname (for non Indians), some of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear prateek2410 Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the honest feedback and your continuous support of Protea Hotel Roodepoort. It is very disappointing to hear of the concerns raised during your stay at our hotel. There is no excuse for the maintenance issues and I have addressed these matters with the relevant people. We are a... More

Liège
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The pressure of the working day vanishes once you enter reception. Friendly and welcoming staff offers a welcome drink while reception formalities get done. Rooms are fresh, clean, modern and comfortable. Very Good ! No pool or fitness center found but I actually did not look for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear mco2805 It is great to hear about your wonderful experience with the hotel and STAFF. Thank you for posting such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. We pride ourselves on offering a fresh room, which is comfortable and clean, to every GUEST. I will commend the STAFF on the attitude you speak of and will also relay this message to... More

Been to Protea Hotel Roodepoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Roodepoort

Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Roodepoort Greater Johannesburg
Address: 14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Roodepoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Roodepoort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Roodepoort - modern comfort you can afford. The Protea Hotel Roodepoort is ideally located in the West Rand, connected to the major business parks and head offices. Let everything go after a busy day whilst overlooking a beautiful lake and gazing at the lovely views of the city to the east and Magaliesburg to the west. Mix business with pleasure - make the most of your trip and visit some of the many attractions in the area. Get in touch with your roots with a trip to the Cradle of Humankind, and then explore your wild side at the Lion Park. Other sites nearby include Soccer City Stadium, Monte Casino and the Witwatersrand Botanical Gardens. The hotel has easy access to the N1, providing easy access to Greater Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Sandton, Soweto and Johannesburg CBD. Roodepoort also has a busy business centre, with a large variety of shopping centres for guests to choose from; perfect for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Roodepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Roodepoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.