We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Roodepoort hotels

Protea Hotel Roodepoort

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Roodepoort to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
45%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Roodepoort
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Khalilaleker
  • Reviews (24)
  • Photos (22)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
1
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you have to be stuck in a hotel because of rainy weather it should be an enjoyable experience. The Protea in Roodepoort is in bad condition. Each day I was there it rained and when it rained outside it rained inside. Buckets placed all around the food where water was dripping. The bar, business office, lobby and buffet all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Blkwomannucleus, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us about your stay at the Protea Hotel Roodepoort in February 2014. It saddens us greatly to see that you did not have the exceptional experience we aim for all our GUESTS to have. We would like to express our deepest apologies for the inconvenience... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Protea Hotel was well located in Roodepoort for me to attend a course nearby. The security outside was really good with high visibility and I felt safe. The front desk staff were extremely well groomed and very efficient. I appreciate this kind of attention to detail and I would like to compliment the management and staff of this hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Khalilaleker, We would like to express our sincere appreciation for taking the time to inform us about your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Roodepoort. We are delighted to receive such wonderful feedback and we hope that you will have many more memorable stays with us. Thank you for all the compliments received, we pride ourselves in offering our... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This gem on the West Rand, just off the 14th Ave offramp, forms part of Constantia Park Office Complex, right next to Spur, close to MTN, Standard Bank, ABSA offices and Flora Clinic in Florida Hills / Fairlands area Gauteng. It is the perfect location for business meetings or small conferences and workshops, very central to Joburg/Randburg/Sandton/Pretoria even East Rand.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear RainBowsend1, Thank you so much for sending us your feedback on Trip Advisor. GUEST perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to complete a GUEST Feedback, after... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

sometimes we as people we have to be realistic and positive and nothing or no one is perfect. but been harsh to another human been does not help any one... but as for me and my family we had a great weekend and better service thanks to the lady's at the help desk though the was a mix up with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear sello m, Thank you for your words of appreciation on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Roodepoort. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. We acknowledge that there was an error on your booking upon check in which was quickly resolved.It was our pleasure to accommodate... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I do not often stay at Protea Hotels as I consider their hotel rates to be about 10% higher than average rates for the same standard. I was however feeling low and I needed to get some much needed rest. The Protea Hotel was well located in Roodepoort. The security outside was really good with high visibility and I felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear GrantH490. Thank you for taking your time to give us such positive feedback. We value such feedback as this is the true yardstick we use to measure our successes but most importantly to correct and improve where we went wrong. I will also commend the TEAM for the exceptional service. I would like to mention that Protea Hotels has... More

Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Paid R1000 per night for a 3 star hotel- normally stay at other 4 star proteas for the same price On arrival our booking was mixed up, after being told the system is giving them problems by one staff member and that we also we made the wrong booking by another staff member?? Got to the room - twin beds-... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Janineregtien, Thank you for taking your time to communicate your feedback to us. We value such feedback as this is the only way we can improve on our service delivery. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and the discomfort that was caused to you. It is very clear that we did not meet and exceed your expectations.... More

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked a double room. We got a twin room. Then we asked to move and they then moved us to a room with a 3/4 bed with BLOOD on the bedding!!! Who does that! The staff were unhelpfull and the manager incompetent. I'm shocked!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Alex F, We would like to sincerely apologize for the unacceptable levels of service you received, on your recent visit to Protea Hotel Roodepoort. I can confirm that upon hearing of your dissatisfaction I investigated the matter thoroughly and I fully agree and accept that we did not meet your expectations. Your concerns regarding our overall service, the allocation... More

Clarens
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed a night with my 8 month old and my 2.7 year old son. The bed was comfortable, they set up a sleeper couch for my son and a cot for my daughter without being asked. When we checked in the ladies at reception were friendly and efficient. The location is great and the Spur next door is awesome... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear MaggieMae82, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Roodepoort and posting such a great review on TripAdvisor, we also thank you for giving us the highest rating. We, at Protea Hotels pride ourselves in meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations, I am glad we did just that. What a wonderful ambassador you are for our... More

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My colleagues in Johannesburg booked this hotel because it is near our shop and office facility. The price was definitely good, the buffet that they provide is quite nice and a good value. The service from the staff is also quite good. The shortcomings are the lack if ironing boards and irons in the rooms. The rooms and the beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Tyrerubber, Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor, regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Roodepoort. GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive and quality of the facilities is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I can assure you that your comments are being used constructively to... More

Europe
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The previous reviewer who talks about poor maintenance has it right. Using the sink in the bathroom on the first morning, I was rather surprised when the U-bend fell off, causing the contents of the sink to fall onto the floor. I reported this to the front desk and went about my business day. The following morning (today) the exact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear DjBenedict, Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor on your recent visit. We trully value your honest feedback that assists in rectifying our shortcomings and service delivery. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvinience that you experienced during your recent stay at Protea Hotel Roodepoort. I can assure you that your experience with regards... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Roodepoort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Roodepoort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Roodepoort

Address: 14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Roodepoort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Roodepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Roodepoort Greater Johannesburg

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Roodepoort with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Roodepoort - modern comfort you can afford. The Protea Hotel Roodepoort is ideally located in the West Rand, connected to the major business parks and head offices. Let everything go after a busy day whilst overlooking a beautiful lake and gazing at the lovely views of the city to the east and Magaliesburg to the west. Mix business with pleasure - make the most of your trip and visit some of the many attractions in the area. Get in touch with your roots with a trip to the Cradle of Humankind, and then explore your wild side at the Lion Park. Other sites nearby include Soccer City Stadium, Monte Casino and the Witwatersrand Botanical Gardens. The hotel has easy access to the N1, providing easy access to Greater Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Sandton, Soweto and Johannesburg CBD. Roodepoort also has a busy business centre, with a large variety of shopping centres for guests to choose from; perfect for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Roodepoort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer