We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manhattan Hotel

Hotel website
247 Scheiding Street, Pretoria 0007, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Manhattan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    18
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
12
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The good: staff super friendly, well decorated spacious rooms, clean, comfortable beds, good wifi in rooms The bad: not a great neighborhood, rooms suffer badly from street noise and impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom ! I think they get a lot of coach tours so turn up at the wrong time and it's a bun fight or a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

This is exactly what it is, a home away from home. I'very been to the Manhattan Hotel on a regular basis since 2010 and not once was I disappointed. It is walking distance from the Gautrain, their free transport to almost everywhere in Pretoria, the friendly and courteous staff plus their variety of their buffet is something to die for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you SO MUCH for the kind words, we really appreciate it! Thank you for staying with us, we always appreciate the business :) Have a great day! Kind regards, Nico Rowan Managing Director More 

Germiston, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

We recently stayed at the Manhattan Hotel after doing a fitness show at the Pretoria State theatre, we booked in after 12 in the evening and were obviously very tired after a 16 hour day. We were escourted to our room on the 6th floor and a lady was screaming frantically, she was being beaten by the man with her,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Fourie, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Manhattan Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you regarding the noise. We made a special arrangement on request of the Rossi Classic Group for the bar hours to be extended. We assumed that all Rossi Classic athletes would have joined and did... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pretoria hotels

South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

My home away from home. Always excellent and never disappoint. Best hotel in Pretoria by far. Thanks again for the awesome service and perfect stay everyone. The uncapped WiFi is such a effortless service at the hotel. Fast and now even easier to connect and reconnect when I arrive back at the hotel every day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for great review and feedback. We really appreciate the continued support and look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Nico Rowan Managing Director More 

Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

I spent a night at the hotel after a meeting. The room was large and spacious. The highlight of the evening was the dinning experience. The hotel catered for vegetarian dishes . The stir fry was amazing. The manager Terence went the extra mile in order to ensure that all expentations were met.A great experience!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words and great feedback, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed ür stay at the Manhattan Hotel and we look forward to serve you in the near future :) Thank you for staying with us, we truly value and appreciate ür business. Kind regards, Nico Rowan Managing Director nico@manhattanhotel.co.za More 

Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

A 3-star hotel with 5-star service; great place to stay, whether for business or holiday, friendly staff, from the Duty Manager to the cleaner. Only thing is if you want to use the telephone, you need to put down a deposit, and if you need to charge your cellphone make sure you bring a two-point plug for the charger or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Henrietta, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Thank you SO MUCH for the kind words, we really appreciate it! The deposit needed for telephone calls is ridiculous and I will change this procedure in reception back to another procedure that does not inconvenience the guest when making use of hotel facilities like using... More 

Boston, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

While this hotel is situated in a rather dodgy area, it should be noted that mosf of city centre of Pretoria has the element of risky. The Manhattan management/owners make up for area with superb service, food and accommodation. Ther transport facility is excellent as well. I have stayed here on a number of occassions for business visits and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Trudy, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, especially with kind words like this one. We really appreciate it and your comment about the staff service and friendliness made my day. This is something we will alway be focussed and working on, thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to see you back... More 

Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Spent a night at the hotel. From the time I walked into the hotel to the time I left, the staff were extremely friendly and polite. The hotel is very clean, ooks rather impressive and is very good value for money. Ate supper at the restaurant and the food was outstanding. Breakfast was just as good. As the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Manhattan Hotel. We really appreciate your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to see you back at the Manhattan Hotel in the near future. Thank you very much for supporting us, we really appreciate it.... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We booked this hotel based on the location (near the train, bus and gautrain stations). I know that means not the best of areas, but we ended up feeling trapped in the hotel. The only food options were fast food or from the grocery. The hotel restaurant was expensive, especially the breakfast option. Though the room service menu was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Manhattan Hotel. We really appreciate your comments and feedback. I was however surprised to get your review and comments regarding the hotel and service assessment during your stay. I remember you and your husband and personally spoke to you both several times during your stay as my... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

My partner booked lunch for my birthday at Manhattan hotel on 28 February. We were a small group of adults & kids. The restaurant food was good. The staff were friendly and even sang for me. The restaurant was nice and emptier than usual and apparently that is the case on Saturdays so I will definitely consider having lunch again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Manhattan Hotel. We really appreciate your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed you special day and trusted us with such an important day of your year. We look forward to serve you at the Manhattan Hotel soon. We send monthly emails with our specials... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#16 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 70 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Capital
Protea Hotel Capital
#12 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
11.6 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#2 of 70 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#34 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay