We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain Manor Guest House

98 Cole Street | Pretoria East, Pretoria 0084, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mountain Manor Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Bela Bela, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Being a beauty therapist myself and being in the industry for 19 years I was expecting the very best spa treatment as this establishment has won a spa excellence award. How disappointing, we arrived 10min early as requested but there was nobody to welcome us for 10min, we were standing outside waiting in the cold. The treatment rooms were icy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feedback received through Tripadvisor, regarding your experience on the 29 June 2015 we advise as follow: We always use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances. An investigation was conducted on your feedback and we have found that two of your treatment times was incorrectly allocated on the day’s schedule and this... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Hi, same problems as was complained by people in 2012 etc! Not the same place as per the website! Thats fraud!!! We werent considered to be informed in adance that they experienced electricity problems other than loadshedding also. Not willing to refund us. No answer on the phone in an emergency, no one available, couldt get out by gate due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback received on 20th February 2015 regarding your Guest House and Spa experience on Saturday 14th February 2015 and advise that load shedding was from 8:00 am till 10:00 am the power came on for one hour and at 11:00 am the Tshwane Municipality transformer outside our gate burnt out and left us with out... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pretoria hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Beautiful surroundings and ideal setting. I booked the spa for my mother's birthday but what a dissapointment. Firstly we showed up and were then seated in a dark little restaurant on our own to have 'lunch' - no formal welcome or anything. We then had lunch for 50 minutes, because even though I had booked way in advance they still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Hello AnnemarieGrobbel, We thank you for your feedback regarding your spa experience, we dearly apologize for the negligence of our staff regarding the noise levels that you have experienced. The Clients were welcomed at the Deli door and seated in our Deli at 14:00. No special requirements were indicated on the booking form. The Lunch Order taken at 14:05 whilst... More 

Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The Spa consultant was nice but for me going to spa's often the therapist wasn't really well trained as she did not touched one pressure point and rubbed my skin that I had a rash for 2 weeks after we were there. When I looked up from underneath the thing they put over your eyes at one stage, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client Thank you for the feedback on Tripadvisor, we have your concerns have been taken note of and resolved. We appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances. You are most welcome to visit us at our new acquired premises. More 

Corinth, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had spent the previous two weeks touring various game reserves throughout South Africa staying at properties with comfortable but relatively rustic accommodations. We have always left hotel and lodge reservations in the hands of our outfitter and, this being our third trip, preferred to be surprised by his choices. Knowing we wanted to spend our last day sightseeing in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feedback provided, we appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances as client Satisfaction is a very serious matter for us. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Horrible experience at the full day spa treatment. Treatment rooms need to be revamped. Bathrooms old an dingy. No promised 'welcome drink' , slow unfriendly service at the restaurant, poor quality food. Towelling robe cold and damp and not replaced even when I complained about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client Thank you for the feedback on Tripadvisor, we have taken all the concerns mentioned buy our clients in to consideration and recently acquired our own property which addressed all the previous complaints. We appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Really dissapointing day spa & treatments... The venue is cramped and of poor quality, their therapists are untrained and their products are old; my nail polish peeled within 24hrs. Definitely a spa to avaoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client Thank you for the feedback on Tripadvisor, we have taken all the concerns mentioned buy our clients in to consideration and recently acquired our own property which addressed all the previous complaints. We appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

i was really looking forward to staying in this hotel. As the website and pictures made it look extremely big and the rooms decorated to a high standard. I booked one standard room for two nights and one "luxury room" for two nights. The luxury room was so poorly decorated, it looked like they had got a blind person to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client Thank you for the feedback on Tripadvisor, we have taken all the concerns mentioned buy our clients in to consideration and recently acquired our own property which addressed all the previous complaints. We appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances. More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was indeed an ultimate relaxation out of a busy Gauteng! We stayed one night with my husband and enjoyed the couples spa experience the next day. Our bedroom, the Mbeki suite was exceptional, very spacious, clean and had a nice African deco theme. The staff gave us the best service, from the security guy, the waiters at the restaurant,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the feedback provided, we appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances as client Satisfaction is a very serious matter for us. More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I travel a bit and stay in many B & B's and hotels. This ranks with the worst that I have experienced. my wife and I stayed here to attend a wedding in the area. The room that we were put in was in no way luxurious as advertised. We had to force the sliding door open and closed as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ikhutsa, Owner at Mountain Manor Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Client Thank you for the feedback on Tripadvisor, we have taken all the concerns mentioned buy our clients in to consideration and recently acquired our own property which addressed all the previous complaints. We appreciate your feedback and use our client feedback to improve our standards and performances. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
10.3 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#2 of 70 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
10.6 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
9.7 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 70 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#16 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
10.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Capital
Protea Hotel Capital
#12 of 70 in Pretoria
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay