We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kievits Kroon

Certificate of Excellence
Plot 41, Reier Road | Kameeldrift-East, Pretoria 35, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kievits Kroon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kievits Kroon
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    97
    39
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
90
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (166)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked the hotel to celebrate our 10th annivessary. I had high expectations based on the cost and accolades of the hotel. On arrival no porter , you have to find your room on your own . Rooms ok and spacious. TV set small and the pic fuzzy. Really need to buy new ones. Dinner was a fantastic experience .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations. We do have a porter service, and if a porter was not available when you checked in, our staff at reception should have asked you to wait or directed you to your room. We are in the process of updating all television sets and I will address your comments about... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On a two day conference with one night's stay it was pleasant to be out of the city and in such a peaceful location. The conference facilities could do with a bit of updating, they felt rather old and tired, but the rooms in a new two storey building were fine, rather typical business hotel type rooms. I noticed that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your conference. All the things which you point out – the peaceful location, characterful buildings, and good food, are exactly what make Kievits Kroon the ideal leisure getaway for a couple, although I think you will have to try it for yourself! I look forward to seeing you back here. ALAN O’LEARY, MANAGING... More 

Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited for a company 2-day event. The conference was very well organised, good food etc and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The nights were very cold but the room was always comfortable. I did not use the spa facilities but my colleagues were raving about it. The grounds are beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this very nice review. I hope that you will be back to experience Kievits Kroon as a leisure guest and to try out the spa! ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR More 

san francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here several times, usually a conference event, rarely by choice. I would never stay here if I had an option, there are far better places to go in the area. The positives * Nice grounds * Friendly staff The negatives * Super uncomfortable bed -- it's like sleeping on a wooden board -- I would have slept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

Your review is very disappointing as we pride ourselves on our high standards. You are understandably very upset and we take full responsibility for your sub-standard experience and I would like to apologise profusely for this. As you know, we contacted you following your stay to discuss your complaints and try to resolve the matter. I am very sorry about... More 

Kolwezi, DRC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had high expectations based on the cost, reviews and posted photos...but unfortunately my expectations did not totally live up to the reality. The hotel should be seen separately from the spa and Granita restaurant, that I thought was very good. First impressions of the hotel were very good, entering the beautiful white gate with gold letterings and tree lined... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

I’m as disappointed as you are that you were not ‘wowed’ when you visited Kievits Kroon, because we work very hard to exceed our guests’ expectations. Reading through your review, it’s apparent to me that you were put in a room that had not been checked properly, and for this I apologise sincerely. We have investigated the matter internally to... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on few occasions since the placed opened well over 10 years ago. Kievits Kroon is till fantastic venue. Very good food, great service, beautiful gardens. My only complaint was a poor quality proxima, so I hope this will be addressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

It's wonderful to receive this kind of feedback from someone who has known Kievits Kroon for so long! Thank you for the great review. I apologise for the poor quality of the proxima - we are currently upgrading all our audio visual equipment. ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic stay. When traveling locally one becomes accustomed to sub-service compared to abroad however Kievets Kroon is the exception. Other resorts across the country should use Kievets Kroon as their benchmark for exceptional service. Dinner at Granita was also superb and we were pleasantly surprised to see the chef was a local young lady.....the food was so great we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

This is high praise indeed, and I have shared it with my team. Thank you for this great review. We do strive to provide excellent service to our guests and to receive this kind of recognition is very rewarding. We hope you will visit us again. ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Had the most amazing time the past weekend. I booked the Autumn Romance package which included fine dining at their Granita restaurant. The food was amazing, the chef really outdid themselves. The spa was the best, really deserving of their awards. My husband could not stop talking about what a wonderful place it was. The onIy bummer was I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback about our True Romance package! It really is good for us to receive comments like these from our guests because it tells us we are getting it right. I do apologise for the noisy party next door and hope it didn't spoil your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. ALAN... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Stayed at Kievits Kroon while attending a business conference. Found the staff to be very friendly and very eager to help and assist with any request. The huge property was beautiful and peaceful one could not imagine you are just a stone throw away from the city. The room was spacious and stylishly decorated and had everything you needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

This is great feedback - thank you for taking the time to post it. Now that you have had a taste of what we offer on the estate, I hope that you will be back to experience a leisure stay with us! ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

What an excellent lunch we had in their Granita restaurant. Such a treat for my mom, aunt and husband. Service was excellent. Staff are professional but remain friendly. Will be back for a longer visit that's for sure! The gardens are beautiful and could lounge around that pool all day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KievitsKroon, Owner at Kievits Kroon, responded to this review

I'm delighted you all enjoyed your Mother's Day with us. Thank you for choosing Kievits Kroon to celebrate this special day. We look forward to seeing you back for a longer stay! ALAN O'LEARY, MANAGING DIRECTOR More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
1:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay