We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

3.0 of 5 Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    60
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
4
1
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very basic and dating hotel, good for business stop overs and not much more. We stay here when visiting family from overseas but only because of its location. They have the most pathetic room key cards system that we had to re-load at reception sometimes twice a day. They give the same weak excuse every time that one shouldnt keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. While we are glad that you like the convenient location of our hotel, we’re not so glad about the other issues you have raised. Please accept our apologies for the automatic screen divider being stuck on open – there must have been a technical fault. We will certainly consider the other points you have... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for five nights on business trip. It is not a bad hotel but it is not very good either. The location is mixed- it is a bit distant from everywhere and without your own transport., as I was, you feel pretty isolated. On the other hand it is part of a restaurant and shopping complex which is nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed our rooms. Our apologies for breakfast starting late – it should be available from 6am. Our hotel is mainly aimed at business travellers, most of whom find it to be convenient and suitable for their short-stay accommodation needs. Thank you for your comments... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There isn't much to say, other than that the Lynwood Protea Hotel is a perfect, simple spot to stay for business. I was able to check in at 9am, as soon as I got in from the airport (super close to a Gautrain Bus stop as well) The rooms are impeccably clean and there is a full shower, a major... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the standard and cleanliness of the rooms, and that you found the breakfast options to be enjoyable. With regards to the Wifi - please note that we're constantly working on upgrading this service for our guests. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

basic hotel with simple amenities. simple decorated lobby and rooms. efficient meeting rooms. did not like the food, poor internet for fee, no minibar in the room and the only place you can find water at night is a vending machine operating by local currency. has a small swimming pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

We thank you for the good review. We're happy to hear that you did enjoy the standard of the rooms. We're sorry you didn't find the food to be enjoyable - we will certainly look into this matter. With regards to the Wifi please note that we're constantly working on upgrading this service for our guests. We hope to see... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
84 hotel reviews
500 helpful votes 500 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Clean and decent beds, good shower, quiet aircon, efficient staff; all you need for a short stop of a few days if you are not going to be hanging around the hotel all the time. There’s a small gym with cardio equipment to work up a sweat and a pool to cool down in. Parking is free. A car is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you found the rooms to be comfortable and well equipped, and its also great to hear that you enjoyed friendly and efficient service from our staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The location is great. It is right next to the N1 in a shopping mall with good restaurants, far from a crummy CBD, but close enough (a few minutes minute's drive) with secure undercover parking. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is worthwhile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be helpful and the breakfast enjoyable. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon. More 

New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

City Lodge Hotel in Pretoria is tucked between a couple of office buildings and a pleasant shopping-mall (yes, an oxymoron) around the corner from a small park in the relatively safe suburb of Lynnwood. I didn’t stay elsewhere in Pretoria so I can’t compare it to other hotels around but the price seemed very reasonable, the staff friendly and efficient,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review - we're glad you found us to be well suited for business traveller and that you found the staff to be friendly and efficient. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, such as the clean rooms and the breakfast options. We look forward to having you stay with... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

A clean, tidy and comfortable hotel; good sized rooms, spacious bathroom with separate walk-in shower and bath. One hour free wi-fi per day - I needed to top this up but not too expensive for five day unlimited access. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice. The hotel only offers snacks at other times but 'room service' is provided by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

We thank you for the comprehensive review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the rooms to be comfortable and spacious. It's also pleasing for us to hear that you enjoyed the variety of choices available for breakfast. We're thrilled you experienced great service from our staff and you enjoyed the umbrellas on offer! Thank... More 

phatdaz
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

So I had the distinct pleasure of staying at this hotel for 3 weeks on a business trip and being my first trip to SAY I was pleasantly surprised at everything. If you are on a family or solo or business trip. This hotel is pretty good for you. Location is just off the main highway N1. Very good restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and recommend it to others! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Navi Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

It was a business trip to Pretoria and City Lodge, Lynnwood was a pleasant surprise. The hotel was recommended by our host and it was rightly don't! The hotel is right in front of Lynnwood bridge retail mall, a vibrant place for shopping and dining and entertainment. Hotel rooms have excellent decor providing cosmopolitan look. A coffee shop and bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood, responded to this review

We thank you for the great review. We're thrilled to hear that you had such a great stay and that you enjoyed the surrounding facilities. We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood

Address: Corner Lynnwood and Daventry Roads | Lynnwood, Pretoria 0040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Lynnwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Lynnwood Hotel Pretoria
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Pretoria

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay