We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castello di Monte

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
402 Aries Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Special Price
Winter Special - 35% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello di Monte
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castello di Monte
Add Photo

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
62
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights and didn't leave the grounds until it was time to go. Clearly, I can tell you nothing about Pretoria itself but it was nights five and six of an African holiday and we thought that relaxing might be what we were after by this stage of the journey. This hotel did not disappoint. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your respectable comments. It is always good to hear that guests had an tremendous time and created memories lasting a lifetime. It is a team effort, so we will inform all departments involved. From the gardener, reservations, the waiters and cleaning staff all play a vital role at Castello which we cannot do without.... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was very hospitable and more than happy to answer any questions. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The property is in a lovely, quiet area of Pretoria so guest need to have transport arranged.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that all was to your liking. We will advise all departments involved; from the garden guys to the top management we strive to provide a home away from home with good quality products, amenities, food and beverages and service to make each stay memorable... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

ask for the terrace rooms, spacious, lovely view and excellent quality beds and bath rooms. Top this with the staff hospitality which makes you feel very sorry to leave, and you have the Castello experience. The location is not convenient if you do not have a car, however they have an excellent limosine service. The pool is romantic, but small.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Treasured Traveller, Thank you for your delightful comments. This warms our hearts that you had an abundant experience and lasting memories were created at Castello Di Monte. We do offer an additional service with outsourced companies that provide tours & day trips to historical sites as well as to the amenities that is about five minutes away. This can... More 

Kyiv, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is just good. I stayed in dozens of hotels all over the SA and neighboring countries. Castello di Monte is one the best. Quiet and cozy. No cameras in the hotel - another portion of relaxation. Can't say anything about the hotel's kitchen since didn't eat there. Will recommend to friends.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your wonderful comments. We really appreciate your feedback. Although we are a small establishment with only 9 rooms we do respect the privacy of each guest. We also offer lovely dinners on request and also our rates include a Full English Breakfast. Hopefully with your next visits you will be able to enjoy this... More 

Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay for the second time in your beautiful villa. The presidential suite was a welcome surprise and areal special treat thank you so much for that!! The massage was an absolute favourite ,pure bliss!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castello_Di_Monte, Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank You so much for your recent review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your massages, a little bit of luxurious treatment really can go a long way. We are also happy that you enjoyed your stay in the Presidential Suite, it is a special room and we are glad that it made your... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night and arrived after a long drive involving a flat tyre and almost zero visibility rain. The lady greeting us obviously realised we were a bit stressed because she made everything as quick and smooth as possible to get us to our room to start unwinding. It worked and we had a lovely stay. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We value your enthusiastic response. It warms our hearts to hear that you felt a warm welcome and are also grateful that you had a most memorable say. Thank you for your feedback we will convey to all departments. We are in process to get a new supplier for our Wi-Fi and should be fully implemented by... More 

Congleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a night before a journey on Rovos Rail. From the outside the building is certainly impressive and very attractive, set amongst some lovely properties in Pretoria. The welcome was warm and efficient with a cold drink ready. Arriving in the middle of the day the hotel was empty and had an indefinable feel which was slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Castello_Di_Monte, General Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations so we are very sad to hear that everything was not as you expected. Firstly I have to apologize for the elevator still not working. Our service provider Otis is struggling to get local parts as this elevator was installed in... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night in Pretoria waiting to board our Rovos Rail to Namibia and we were lucky to be at Castello di Monte, which is in a lovely part of Pretoria and inspired by Tuscany as the name implies. The rooms are big and comfortable, we had a huge terrace, the decoration is reminiscent of the Renaissance mixed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Respected Guest Thank you for positive and constructive comments. Castello boats 9 lovely individually decorated rooms and we offer a 3 course menu with 2/3 options per each course for guests to choose from. I do apologise for not being able to meet your husband request of the chicken broth. I will investigate this a bit further. We always... More 

Paphos, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on the night before our Blue Train trip to Cape Town - a stunning building and excellent staff/food. Wish we had stayed for another night to sample the pool and see more of Pretoria. I was unwell whilst there and the staff were very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your time to give us feedback on your stay at Castello DI Monte. We will advise all departments involved to thank them for their contribution towards your memorable stay. Pretoria has some lovely historical buildings and museums to see. One could schedule one additional day and take a city tour. We also could assist... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

So much more than a guest house. Lovely room. Excellent food and service. We were provided with our very own Vegetarian menu with a choice for each course - Heaven! (We had pre-warned that we were veggie but this is a first for us at a hotel. Well geared up for early departures to the Blue Train.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Castello_Di_Monte, Front Office Manager at Castello di Monte, responded to this review

Dear Respected Guests, Thank you so much for your positive feedback, we appreciate so much. We do your utmost to accommodate all requests of our guests from the time they make the booking till they depart. We will convey to all departments involved. We look forward to welcoming you back to Castello when you visit Pretoria, SA. Yours sincerely Tanja More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay