We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Valley Lodge

779 8th Ave | Wonderboom South, Pretoria 0084, South Africa
Green Valley Lodge
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a wonderful room... a little bit smaller than what I saw on the Picture, but the view and the whole setup made it wonderful! The service was great and extra effort was made when asked. No dinners or breakfast was served over the weekend, but more than enough restaurants in the area to sort that problem. Thank you very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I visited Green Valley Lodge for a two week period while busy with varsity practicals in Pretoria. The guest house is very pretty but my overall experience was terrible. I found that the owners were not interested in their guests at all. During the two weeks that I was there, I did not see them once. The beds were without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Green Valley L, Owner at Green Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and note that we responded to your e-mail immediately. We have addressed the problems and have taken the necessary steps to ensure that this will not happen again. More 

Travelers are raving about these Pretoria hotels

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

My daughter and I stayed in this guest house for the first time for a month in August 2014 because of her having surgery at Eugene Marais Hospital. The young lady that worked there at Reception was very friendly and helpful during this period of time and really went out of her way to be helpful. we had a follow-up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Green Valley L, Owner at Green Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review as this assists us to improve our service. We are sorry to hear your stay was unpleasant. As a predominantly Corporate Guest House, we usually have a shut down after 20 December until first week in January, however, we accommodated your request to stay longer owing to your medical condition. We informed you that there... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Absolutely a must! Lots of privacy - professional and warmhearted place to stay. Lots of choices in different breakfasts. And that all for an affordable price. All that together make you wonder why you're not gonna stay a day longer …

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Looking on the internet for accommodation close to my family, whom I visited in Pretoria recently, I found this gold nugget. Something about the place just 'felt right' and that was the start of an on-and-off stay with them of a total of 13 days months later while touring South Africa. All dealings and correspondence by email from New Zealand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Being often in Pretoria, and B&B hoping constantly, I have found the one that I love. I prefer a guesthouse where yu are not forced to tell your whole life story and listen to endless stories on arrival or during breakfast. This place gives you your privacy. The owners are very friendly though! Also, I like about this place that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tzaneen, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay here when my wife has to stay over in the hospital around the corner. Apart from the rooms being clean, neat, well accessorized and comfortable, it is the quiet area and calm atmosphere that I find most appealing. The garden especially, is well tended and there is a small secluded 'separate' garden other-side the pool which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good value for money. Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. I only spent one night there, and it was comfortable. Breakfast was sufficient. There is a great honesty bar in each room, which is just as well, as there are no shops close by. Transport is essential as it is a little isolated. Bonita was very helpful, in advising me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
montreal
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Rooms vary but for the most part are good. Beds are comfortable and the place is quiet. I had difficulty accessing WiFi in my room but that seemed to be the exception. Breakfasts were good and staff in general was friendly. One in particular really went out of her way to accommodate our group. However, the location is hard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This place we stayed at whilst attending a wedding in SA, fantastic rooms and lovely pool and all round very tidy. But the 'gym' was untidy and they had a great bar area by the pool that was unused and then the breakfast came! The staff member was quite unfriendly in the morning, not really a B&B hostess! The continental... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities