We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 294 Pretoria B&Bs / inns

Opikopi Guest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   581 Verdi Street | Eramsmuskloof, Pretoria 181, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Save Saved
You added Opikopi Guest House to your Saves list
Opikopi Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
100%
Ranked #9 of 294 Pretoria B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Michelle S Sydney, Australia
  • Reviews (55)
  • Photos (30)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Starting with the personal reception at the gate to ensure we could find our way round to the parking, to the farewell after breakfast, our overnight stay was delightful. The service was superb, our room was large and very well appointed, the breakfast beautifully presented in the comfortable and elegant dining room. The decor, both interior and exterior, is welcoming... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure to accommodate you at the guest house. Hopefully we will see you again in the future Regards Helen de Beer More

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at opikopi for 3 days. Enjoyed my short stay thoroughly. It is one of the places you would feel at home. The staff were very friendly, and the rooms were nice and clean. If I ever visit south Africa/Pretoria,I now know where to make my stay memorable -OPIKOPI!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Opikopi 6-9 July during our recent holidays in South Africa. The guesthouse provided us excellent value for money, incl spacious room and good restaurant. All we miss is environmental measures such as water savings measures and waste separation.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to review our guest house. It was realy a privalige to host you at Thank you for bringing the water and wast under our attention however we in South Africa is not so clued up with technology like what you have in Switserland. We are still far behind your way of living in Europe. Defiantly... More

Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Opikopi after arriving early at the airport im Johannesburg for just one night but next time would probably stay one more day. It is just a short drive (approx 30-45 minutes?) from OR Tambo Johannesburg Airport in a private residentail area with superb view. We had a family suite including whirlpool bathtub, floor heating and heating blankets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen d, General Manager at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Stefan Thank you for your kind words and great feedback. We hope you will visit us again shortly as we enjoy treating our clients here again and again. Also hope all your travels in south Africa went as fantastic as planned and that our country can expect you again. Kind regards Opikopi More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly service with very good facilities. Felt like I was at home :) In secure location with secure access. You will need a car to get where you want to go. Busy with renovations but it did not bother me.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Guest House for your stay in South Africa. We try not to inconvenience our guests with renovations, but we do need to upgrade the premisses on a regular basis to make sure that our Guest House is always on standard. We also try to work during the times that their is no guest on our... More

Bethlehem, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quiet and tranquil. Very safe and comfortable. Good food at reasonable prices. Highly recommended! Had a problem with the geyser in my room. Was sorted out by the time I got back that afternoon. Friendly personel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your time to review our Guest House. We strive to make sure that everything is in working condition but sometimes an element will brack without any warning. Luckily we do have an excellent team to fix problems like that in a jiffy. Hope that we can spoil you again on your next visit to our Guest House.... More

Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The services and facilities of Opikopi were outstanding! I was very impressed with the staff, they were always polite and friendly while always making sure that the guests were beyond satisfied. It was very clean and well kept.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Jessica for your time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your party at Opikopi. Hope that your next trip will include Opikopi again ❤️ Helen de Beer PS. The steak will be waiting.🍴🍷 More

Witbank
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Staff at Opikopi went above and beyond upon my stay , in addition they provided excellent service for my wedding the next day . They were always willing to help , friendly and courteous at all time . I would gladly endorse Opikopi guesthouse . Daniel Brink

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the time to comment on our guest house. Our staff strive to be there for our guests. Hope that we can be for great service to you again in the future. Helen de Beer. More

Durbanville, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Charming guest house with VERY friendly staff. Very well equipped rooms with everything you need - including razor with shaving foam, filter coffee, underfloor heating, steam iron, complimentary sherry etc.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you once again for all the compliments. Its our plesure to see that every guest is treat as royalty and that we provide a good service to every one. helen de Beer More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Opikopi is my preferred accommodation choice when I travel to Pretoria. Service is excellent with a very friendly staff and good restaurant. I often recommend Opikopi to friends and co-workers. The only downside is that they don't always have rooms available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Helen d, Owner at Opikopi Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Bennie for your positive comments on our Guest House. I whish I could double up on my total of suites. Think I will always be fully booked, but with guests like you it would only be a pleasure!!!! See you soon. Regards Helen de Beer More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Opikopi Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Opikopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opikopi Guest House

Address: 581 Verdi Street | Eramsmuskloof, Pretoria 181, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Opikopi Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Opikopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
AA Tourism Winner as BEST GUEST HOUSE IN SOUTH AFRICA WITH DINNERS IN 2012 AND 2014. Tshwane Tourism Award Winner 2010: Guest HouseOpikopi is situated centrally in a quiet Eastern Pretoria suburb called Erasmuskloof and is close to numerous attractions and offices: Botanical Gardens, Voortrekker Monument, Union Buildings, Menlyn shopping Mall, Sita Offices, Kloof Medic Clinic, Waterkloof and Wingate Park Golf Course, N1 freeway and only 20 min from OR Tambo Airport! This makes our Guest House ideal for the local and international visitor. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer