We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cascades Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
174 Premier Street | Waterkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Cascades Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
7
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is quiet, service attentive, facility clean, and breakfasts excellent. The room was spacious and well appointed. My only complaint is the lighting above the bathroom sink in my room was inadequate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

I wil stay again her that was nice. The room was big and nice and clean The service was great and good The location was also nice easily to find There short a small fries in the room to keep the drinks and ice could.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Hi 725bff, Thank you for the excellent review! We had small fridges in the rooms, but the resultant mess on the carpets was not to my liking. We can supply you with a container with ice next time.... More 

Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We had to stay for a non planned night. We just typed in our GPS a close Guest House and we found the Cascades...and thank God we did: very good service and environment; very comfortable rooms with a special details (warmed up bathroom tiles), and also excellent location. Thank you very much for the good rest on the road :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Hi antonio, I am glad the marketing is working and that you enjoyed your stay, this is how we make friends! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Cascades for almost 3 months when we went to Pretoria to have our third child (any noise complaints in reviews from April to June would be because of our kids - sorry) We could not have picked a better place. Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms and a fantastic staff made our experience wonderful. The location cannot be beat,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kroberts60, All our best wishes go with you and your family! It was a delight having you and the kids here, the baby was really quiet and obviously happy... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We stayed for two nights and can highly recommend the guest house for business or personal stay. The rooms are very clean and modern. Wholesome hearty breakfast are great too. Location is in lovely suburb of Pretoria and close to malls an restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! Our location in Waterkloof, one of the upmarket suburbs in Pretoria, one short block away from the Waterkloof Centre with a convenience store, 4 places to dine, a hairdresser, flower shop and many more shopping options is a bonus. I am glad you liked our rooms and service :-) More 

Saffron Walden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

A pleasant guest house with a few niggles. Sound carries between the rooms which can disturb your sleep, the squeaky bathroom doors sound is also disturbing. Some rooms back onto the car park which is not pleasant

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Hi idubeSA, We appreciate that you consider Cascades a pleasant place to stay... Thank you so much for making time to write a review for us and also for the positive criticism! I have immediately greased all the doors and also made a note of your preferences for your next visit. More 

Clanwilliam, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Seeing as we both travel with our notebooks, we always have concern about the workspace we would get with our stay. Well at Cascades we were given the most gorgeous accommodation. We had ample space to work with a beautiful garden setting outside. Even a running fountain and swimming pool. Coupled with freshly cut fruit with breakfast, they are now... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Aaaaah, Johan, I am so glad you enjoyed our haven. I designed the rooms around my requirements when I travelled extensively as an IT consultant, great that it works for you too... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Cascades. We stayed in one of the self-catering apartments for 2 weeks and it was exactly what we needed for our longer trip. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The grounds were lovely and the staff were fantastic. I will surely stay here again and recommend that my friends... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

'Word of mouth' is our best advertisement...Thanks for the review! More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Very clean and calming place close to Pretoria. Host is very friendly and goes out of his way to fulfill requests, including delivering hotel umbrellas to guests in a thunder and lightening storm. Tables outside are in the middle of a lush garden with the sounds of water falling into the ponds providing a great place to work between meetings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you mego698 for the very pleasing review, we try to enchant out guests and also love the relaxing sound of the water! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

John the proprietor and his team are excellent caring hosts. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The property is tidy, and they server a very homely breakfast. Well located in Pretoria! What more can one ask for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Great review, thanks! Hope to welcome you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.5 mi away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#3 of 70 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wardrobe Guest House
The Wardrobe Guest House
#9 of 318 in Pretoria
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bohemian House
Bohemian House
#2 of 318 in Pretoria
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Capital House Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hudson House
Hudson House
#3 of 318 in Pretoria
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#4 of 318 in Pretoria
5.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay