We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cascades Guest House

4.0 of 5 174 Premier Street | Waterkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascades Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cascades Guest House
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Munich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Over the six or so years we have been staying at Cascades when in Pretoria, the guest house has maintained a high standard and has remained consistently good value for money. Situated a stone's throw from Brooklyn Mall and close to the upmarket residential areas of Waterkloof it is ideally located. An added bonus if visiting in October is that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Aaahh, one of our friends we see over and over as the years go by...thank you for coming back to visit and writing about it! More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Great gardens. Nice room. Try get a room with a view of the garden (and the courtyard with the pond). Internet was not always reliable and strong enough for Skype meetings; this was a problem for us. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice and quiet. Walking distance to get to a small mall with restaurants, pharmacy and convenience store.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! Our beautiful garden in this central, but quiet area is our joy - at the moment the weather is overcast and everything is lush and green... I am also challenged by our internet speed and reliability at times, one of the quirks of living in Africa, it seems to be better at the moment.... More 

Stellenbosch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed for 1 night and had a great experience as our flight was delayed and the guesthouse reception checked us in at 11h30 pm. My husband was not feeling well and wanted some tea late the evening. With a jug of rusks in our room we felt right at home. Thank you friendly service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Ahhh, our lovely John baked rusks! They are wholesome, fresh and delicious - so glad they made you feel at home! More 

Overijse, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This guesthouse is conveniently located, in a safe area close to a small mall (few minutes walk) and the larger Brooklyn mall. The rooms vary a lot and it might therefore be useful to be familiar with the construction of the guest house.. There are three buildings, each with a very different conception and garden. The first is on your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Dear IaraBrussels! Reading your detailed review was a delight. We are no longer able to be objective to our own space since we have had this Guesthouse for 13 years. Since inception in 2001, it has grown into the 14 rooms we have now. Which means we really appreciate the time and effort you took to describe each room from... More 

Pretoria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

This guest house is located close to shops and restaurants in an old leafy suburb. The house(s) & gardens are immaculate as are the rooms. Some rooms have doors onto a little private veranda which is nice. The attention to detail in the rooms is a bit sparse (no personal touches like a tissue box) but that won't prevent me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Wally8, We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our special location and that you would come back to stay with us! Hopefully you had time to have tea or coffee on the veranda with some rusks provided for you in your room. A previous survey convinced us that most of our guests preferred a regular, comforting breakfast... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Located in a beautiful suburb, Cascades is close to most diplomatic missions in Pretoria and as such convenient for those doing business there. It is functional and within walking distance to restaurants and shops at the Waterkloof Corner.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Great truth there: Our position, apart from our excellent service and wonderfull staff, is our best asset! More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The service at Cascades was very friendly and accommodating. They made us feel at home. I really enjoyed staying there and hope to stay there again soon! The location was perfect and the setting was beautiful - loved the stunning Koi and had two robins playing outside my room!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks Watnic007, hope to see you again soon! More 

Jos, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The service of Cascades Guest House is generally very good. The room I stayed in was very clean. The location of the Guest House is ok. The amenities were very good, except that the room I lived in was cold for my liking as I came from a warm climate.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Yes, the way one experiences life is relative...I could not believe my eyes when the guests from the Netherlands swam in the (not heated) pool in winter! More 

Alberta
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our last accommodations before we returned to Canada and it was just what we needed. The rooms varied from smaller garden view to huge suites for two couples to share and accommodate a patio party for the entire entourage. Two swimming pools provided privacy and a lovely garden supplied the solitude for a lazy afternoon. Breakfast was provided,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

I trust you enjoyed South Africa and I am glad we could contribute to your trip! More 

Hermanus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The service was excellent, with a very comfortable room and underfloorheating in the bathroom was the best. The location so near to the Malls and highway. The breakfast was great! We had a lovely stay and I will recommend this Guesthouse and come back again. The value for money was really worth it!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ansie7ster, Owner at Cascades Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Elmarie V, Yes, the toasty warmth that pervades the whole room because of the underfloor heating is definitely worth it in our chilly highveld mornings! Thanks for the lovely compliments, see you soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cascades Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Guest House

Address: 174 Premier Street | Waterkloof, Pretoria 0181, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cascades Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay