We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Attitude

522 Atterbury Rd | Menlopark, Pretoria 0102, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Attitude
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alpine Attitude
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
8
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

This is a charming boutique hotel with about 7 rooms and a few apartments. A nice 1970 glass chrome and earth tone esthetic. The neighborhood is calm but some motor close to my room made an incessant hum. Breakfast is very limited but ok. The staff very friendly. Internet was ok and AC worked. Unfortunately, the minimalist design approach made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We have stayed at Alpine Attitude a few times and were initially impressed. We however spent the past weekend there and were shocked by what we found early Sat morning. The sheets of the bed my 7yr old daughter slept in on the Friday night had huge dried blood stains on about mid-section level. We came to the conclusion that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This is a quaint, lovely guest house, and is owned by a very nice lady, who cares genuinely cares about her clients comfort, but it was the wrong hotel for a business trip. It did not have a proper desk for me to work. Plugs were far from the little desk in the room or the bed. There are no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I always come to Pretoria and stay at the Alpine Attitude. I am not sure what went wrong this time. My room (#1) and my colleagues' didn't have electricity the whole night in the outlet, so we were unable to work. During that same night there was no wifi at all in my room. The DSTV was also not working... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlpineAttitude, Manager at Alpine Attitude, responded to this review

I would like to apologise about the unfortunate events that occurred during your stay… unfortunately the main circuit breaker of your floor tripped after our last staff member had already ended her shift at 22:15 that evening, so we were not aware of the difficult situation our guests were placed in. I can only presume that the reason for the... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Superb customer service, wonderful tasting cuisince, comfort beyond expectation, good internet connection, and elegantly decorated. I stayed at this superb establishment for more than 30 days because of the exceptional amenities, impeccable customer service, and proximity to the mall and other fine restaurants. I would most definitely remain at this five star establishments during future business trips to pretoria.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The first impression immediately tells you that this is a stay to remember. The stylish decor both indoor and outside made you feel at home. The reception was very friendly and helpful. My parents, who traveled with us, were set up in the self-catering apartment, and they were blissfully happy with all amenities. The absence of a telephone was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

To be honest, it is the staff that make this place. Very approachable and always keen to help, arranging transportation, booking restaurants etc. Rooms are a good size, well equipped - including international ac adapters in the room I stayed in. OK, there was no telephone in the room, but seriously? Does anyone use landlines when travelling these days? Desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windhoek
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

One's first impression on arrival is that it is not the usual hotel. The main vehicle entrance, which is a solid piece of glass gate was spotless clean, the "weird" front façade - invites you for a rewarding experience. Reception was very friendly and helpful, but I would have appreciated help with my luggage. My room was decorated professionally (no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

PROs: - excellent location in relation to The Financial Services Board in Pretoria - great rooms (stylish decor and in-room amenities) - slick outdoor furnishings and decor - excellent breakfast spread (not your usual/boring selections) and service from the morning host CONs: - after a long flight in from Cape Town, upon arrival at Alpine around 18h30 - i was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alpineattitude, Owner at Alpine Attitude, responded to this review

Dear Brad, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Alpine Attitude on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you liked the South African design of the hotel and that it is so conveniently situated to the offices for your business trips! At Alpine Attitude, we tend to serve Gourmet dishes, but are also... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Alpine Attitude is by far my favorite place to stay in the Pretoria/JoBurg area and one of my favorite places in the world (if not my absolute favorite). I'm hesitant to even write a review because I don't want it to become so busy that I can't book in! Since its opening in 2008 (?) I've stayed at Alpine at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay