We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aluvi House

2 Clyde Street, Pretoria 40, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Aluvi House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Pretoria
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013
palesa323
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

wooooooooooooooow,me nd my husband booked room 12 luxury room nd my word ,da service was gr8 ,da staff was amazingly friendly ,the room omg da room was clean ,neat nd da view at nyt was just spectacular with da lyts ,da piece nd quiet nd da air wat u c 4rm da web nd mur ,da pool yes its dark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alphen aan den Rijn, Nederland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The place is far from perfect and needs some maintenance. But the rooms are tidy, the breakfast is good and most of the staff is friendly and helpful and flexible. The guest house is located just outside Pretoria in a nice and quiet area and has a nice swimming pool to relax in. Definitely worth staying here for a short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went to Pretoria and was recogmended to this hotel. What a great little hotel. The staff were friendly and you felt as if you were at home. the views from the sundowner area was spectacular and the jacuzzi was great - although i did not really have spare time. I enjoyed the Breakfast and the fresh coffee in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently bought a groupon special and what an experience. We received a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates in our room. I was treated to a hour massage - the girls were professional and polite. We ate in the restaurant that evening and it was worth every cent. The manager Thabo served us and he was always close by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am glad that this was just an overnight stay as I do not think that I would have been able to stomach much more than that. Even though the rooms were very clean and the champagne and chocolates was a great treat... I am afraid the service & amenities at this establishment leave a lot to be desired. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sheena01, Owner at Aluvi House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments. It is with regret that you did not enjoy your experience at Aluvi. I see that you came via Groupon for a special. We really try to meet the expectations of our guests. Just a response on the pool. The pool is a dark base pool but please be assurred, it is sparkling clear... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What we've expected from a Boutique Hotel & Spa and what we got at Aluvi House on the 2nd of January 2013 was not close in comparison!! It was a half day, wasted in time and effort to drive 180km return trip from Johannesburg to Pretoria for this terrible experience: We've received unprofessional service from staff-members. Cocktail offered at lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheena01, Owner at Aluvi House, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry to here that you did not enjoy yor experience at Aluvi. We strive to satisfy our guests and this is definately not what we offer. I will have a look into the matter further and see what was the events of the day and gladly respond to you. The spa, although at Aluvi, is an individual... More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Firstly its not a 4 star hotel! The rooms were nice and clean but the rest was dreadful. The swimming pool was dirty, the swimming pool area was unsightly, there was a near rotten looking umbrella, the balcony overlooking the swimming pool area had this couch that was falling apart and to hide it they had this dirty looking fabrics... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheena01, Owner at Aluvi House, responded to this review

Hi Beatrix. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy certain facilities at Aluvi. We always appreciate feedback so that we can improve our standards. The pool is a Black base pool so at stages you might think it is dirty, but we always keep it clean. As for the loungers and unbrella, they are pretty new and have just... More 

Midrand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a nice stay at Aluvi with my friends and enjoyed the massage. We received a bottle of bubbly and fruits on the house. The rooms were spacious and very neat with very minimal decor. However the walls in the room I was in has some water damage and need some attention. The bed has seen better days and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted and asked to sign a check in form and directed to our beautiful room. The room was neat and the view absolutely amazing. About 2 hours after checking in a bottle of champagne and a fruit plate was brought to our room which was completely unexpected and a wonderful surprize. My massage by Leigh was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hazyview, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at Aluvi over the weekend and was met by the Owner and his team. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay. Food was top class and they reserved me a table by the window.We then had Spa massages the next day. The therapists were professional and we enjoyed every moment. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay