We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 67 Pretoria hotels

Aluvi House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Clyde Street, Pretoria 40, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aluvi House to your Saves list
Aluvi House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
66%
Ranked #23 of 67 hotels in Pretoria
A recent review
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

wooooooooooooooow,me nd my husband booked room 12 luxury room nd my word ,da service was gr8 ,da staff was amazingly friendly ,the room omg da room was clean ,neat nd da view at nyt was just spectacular with da lyts ,da piece nd quiet nd da air wat u c 4rm da web nd mur ,da pool yes its dark... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alphen aan den Rijn, Nederland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The place is far from perfect and needs some maintenance. But the rooms are tidy, the breakfast is good and most of the staff is friendly and helpful and flexible. The guest house is located just outside Pretoria in a nice and quiet area and has a nice swimming pool to relax in. Definitely worth staying here for a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I went to Pretoria and was recogmended to this hotel. What a great little hotel. The staff were friendly and you felt as if you were at home. the views from the sundowner area was spectacular and the jacuzzi was great - although i did not really have spare time. I enjoyed the Breakfast and the fresh coffee in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently bought a groupon special and what an experience. We received a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates in our room. I was treated to a hour massage - the girls were professional and polite. We ate in the restaurant that evening and it was worth every cent. The manager Thabo served us and he was always close by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am glad that this was just an overnight stay as I do not think that I would have been able to stomach much more than that. Even though the rooms were very clean and the champagne and chocolates was a great treat... I am afraid the service & amenities at this establishment leave a lot to be desired. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheena01, Owner at Aluvi House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments. It is with regret that you did not enjoy your experience at Aluvi. I see that you came via Groupon for a special. We really try to meet the expectations of our guests. Just a response on the pool. The pool is a dark base pool but please be assurred, it is sparkling clear... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What we've expected from a Boutique Hotel & Spa and what we got at Aluvi House on the 2nd of January 2013 was not close in comparison!! It was a half day, wasted in time and effort to drive 180km return trip from Johannesburg to Pretoria for this terrible experience: We've received unprofessional service from staff-members. Cocktail offered at lunch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheena01, Owner at Aluvi House, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry to here that you did not enjoy yor experience at Aluvi. We strive to satisfy our guests and this is definately not what we offer. I will have a look into the matter further and see what was the events of the day and gladly respond to you. The spa, although at Aluvi, is an individual... More

Pretoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Firstly its not a 4 star hotel! The rooms were nice and clean but the rest was dreadful. The swimming pool was dirty, the swimming pool area was unsightly, there was a near rotten looking umbrella, the balcony overlooking the swimming pool area had this couch that was falling apart and to hide it they had this dirty looking fabrics... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheena01, Owner at Aluvi House, responded to this review

Hi Beatrix. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy certain facilities at Aluvi. We always appreciate feedback so that we can improve our standards. The pool is a Black base pool so at stages you might think it is dirty, but we always keep it clean. As for the loungers and unbrella, they are pretty new and have just... More

Midrand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a nice stay at Aluvi with my friends and enjoyed the massage. We received a bottle of bubbly and fruits on the house. The rooms were spacious and very neat with very minimal decor. However the walls in the room I was in has some water damage and need some attention. The bed has seen better days and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted and asked to sign a check in form and directed to our beautiful room. The room was neat and the view absolutely amazing. About 2 hours after checking in a bottle of champagne and a fruit plate was brought to our room which was completely unexpected and a wonderful surprize. My massage by Leigh was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hazyview, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at Aluvi over the weekend and was met by the Owner and his team. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay. Food was top class and they reserved me a table by the window.We then had Spa massages the next day. The therapists were professional and we enjoyed every moment. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Aluvi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aluvi House

Address: 2 Clyde Street, Pretoria 40, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 67 hotels in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aluvi House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aluvi is a Small Boutique style hotel with a spa. Situated above the Moreletta River with spectacular views of Pretoria.Aluvi offers an executive bar, Restaurant with a mini a la carte menu, outdoor pool, heated Jacuzzi, Spa treatment room and of course the Gecko Room with glass panels overlooking Pretoria while enjoying a refreshing beverage.All rooms are en suite and have airconditioning, free top of the range ammenities as well as complimentary tea / coffee in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Aluvi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aluvi House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.