We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Midrand

4.0 of 5 14th Street, Noordwyk Ext 20 | Halfway House, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Protea Hotel Midrand
Professional photos View all
Protea Hotel Midrand
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    25
    18
    8
See reviews for
2
7
4
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Midrand
See the most recent reviews
Portimao, Portugal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is listed as a four star but it does not compare to a European 4 star. I would give the hotel more of a 3 star award. The food in the restaurant is also poor from breakfast to dinner. The food is an important item because there is little around the hotel so it will be your only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHMidrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear init4thetravel, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Midrand is viewed in a serious light. Your comments with regards to the food and taxi service, together with the others we received, are being analysed and will be instrumental in... More

tanzania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I found the location of the hotel to be less than ideal. The road leading to the hotel is poorly lit and isolated. Staff are friendly and accommodating which makes time in the hotel a better experience. The breakfast spread was good and accommodates vegetarians as well. Rooms and bathrolms are small but neat and contain the necessary amenities, viz.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHMidrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear JunaidElias, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we were delighted to receive your commendations about our friendly and accommodating STAFF as well as our good breakfast spread. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to your room not being cleaned and pleased that you had no further problems during your stay. Your interest... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have been staying at Protea Midrand Hotel for many years now and eventhough we reside in Johannesburg, any excuse to get away we will chose Protea Midrand Hotel. We are like family and we have enjoyed many occasions both big and small, ranging from 80th birthday celebrations to 50th birthday parties, weekend breakaways, the very best to be found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHMidrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear Odette v, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we were delighted to hear that you experience Protea Hotel Midrand as a home away from home and proud ourselves in our garden and koi pond and that your grandson grew up with us. Please be assured that I will convey your complimentary feedback to... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Although the room was nice and clean, the lunch we had was enjoyable, the service received from the front desk left a lot to be desired. The location was good for our purposes, and the security staff were very nice and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear dmans2610 At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to supply feedback on your recent stay with us. As we always strive to give ALL our GUESTS that home away from home feeling, I was shocked to have read about the unwelcome feeling you received from our Front Desk. Please accept my sincerest apologies... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel provides a convenient solution for meetings. The need to drive all the way to Pretoria and vice versa is eradicated as people are afforded the opportunity to meet halfway in Midrand. The staff here have always been very pleasant and evidently understand the need for quick service when dealing with the business community.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear Yusuf O The need for efficiency is definitely met at our Hotel. For the past 20 years of the Hotel's existence we have been able to afford a convenient, comfortable and serene environment for business meetings, conferences, functions and various social events. Apart from our location, the excellent and friendly service offered by our STAFF has always been an... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel located in quiet and serene environment. The kind of place you want to come and unwind. Very clean rooms with smiling housekeeping staff. Additionally, the restaurant has very warm staff although sometimes they seem uncoordinated in the sense that you order for something and sometimes it takes too long and yet you can see staff moving around very busy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear ggithaiga Thank you very much for the feedback received regarding your recent visit. It is always rewarding to read that our GUESTS experienced the warm, homely and inviting environment that we strive to create. The hotel and it's STAFF are geared to assist and exceed our GUESTS expectations in every way possilbe, complemented by our beautiful surrounds. Your feedback... More

Deventer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A nice hotel, close to all kinds of restaurants if you do not want to dine in the nice and very good restaurant. sitting outside next to the waterfall makes your dinner or drink a great experience. the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear EricDene Thank you very much for taking the time to post on this valuable channel your positive experience at the Protea Hotel Midrand. The Hotel boasts a beautiful garden setting and the excellent and efficient service we offer is something we pride ourselves in. Your kind words will inspire us to do even better in future! We trust that... More

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The atmosphere so inviting, staff very friendly, food divine. I enjoyed my stay and my friends wax so lyrical about the experience. I will recommend to all my friends and family. KEEP UP THE GREAT JOB OUT THERE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear soloniANC1969 It is an absolute pleasure to respond to your letter of appreciation to the Protea Hotel Midrand. Thank you for your kind words! I am delighted that your friends and yourself enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope that we can offer many more "experiences of a life time" to all your friends and family visiting. Hope... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms, Bathroom and shower works great. Nice outside garden and pool area. and a restaurant with an "OK" selection and quality. Not a family hotel.. more suited for business... BUT... the Wi-Fi really isn't good. you get 500MB for free.. but the line quality and speed is no use for Skype or GoTo meetings..ok.. for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear FHarvard Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the services and facilities we have on offer and especially thrilled that my TEAM blew you away with their spectacular service! Your points regarding the unacceptable speed and signal for Wifi was taken up with the... More

Sunny Sidcup
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Normally when I go to Jo'Berg I have the pleasure of staying at the Intercontinental at the airport. On this occasion I was booked into this one due to easy access to my all day meeting. What a disappointment!!! Not a cheap hotel but by comparison no better than a Travelodge in UK. My company paid a high rate for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear SEB1967 Thank you for your feedback and for posting it on TripAdvisor. I am extremely sorry that we did not meet, nor exceed your expectations during your stay. Protea Hotel Midrand is conveniently located for those needing to business in the area. Providing a clean and fresh room is important to Protea Hotels and I can assure you that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Midrand

Address: 14th Street, Noordwyk Ext 20 | Halfway House, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Midrand 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Protea Hotel Midrand

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby