We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Midrand hotels

Protea Hotel Midrand

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14th Street, Noordwyk Ext 20 | Halfway House, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Midrand to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Midrand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
46%
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Midrand
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
scotchbroth100 Pattaya
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    19
    17
    3
See reviews for
1
4
4
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure what was wrong with my original review that it was rejected, but anyway let's try again! The Protea Hotel, Midrand is a decent enough hotel. I am currently 4 weeks through a 5 week stay. It has everything that you could possibly need as a business traveller, I chose it as ith was ideal for the office that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHMidrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear scotchbroth100, Thank you for taking the time and trying a second time to complete your review, your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback about your bed... More

Portimao, Portugal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is listed as a four star but it does not compare to a European 4 star. I would give the hotel more of a 3 star award. The food in the restaurant is also poor from breakfast to dinner. The food is an important item because there is little around the hotel so it will be your only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHMidrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear init4thetravel, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Midrand is viewed in a serious light. Your comments with regards to the food and taxi service, together with the others we received, are being analysed and will be instrumental in... More

tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found the location of the hotel to be less than ideal. The road leading to the hotel is poorly lit and isolated. Staff are friendly and accommodating which makes time in the hotel a better experience. The breakfast spread was good and accommodates vegetarians as well. Rooms and bathrolms are small but neat and contain the necessary amenities, viz.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHMidrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear JunaidElias, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we were delighted to receive your commendations about our friendly and accommodating STAFF as well as our good breakfast spread. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to your room not being cleaned and pleased that you had no further problems during your stay. Your interest... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been staying at Protea Midrand Hotel for many years now and eventhough we reside in Johannesburg, any excuse to get away we will chose Protea Midrand Hotel. We are like family and we have enjoyed many occasions both big and small, ranging from 80th birthday celebrations to 50th birthday parties, weekend breakaways, the very best to be found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PHMidrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear Odette v, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we were delighted to hear that you experience Protea Hotel Midrand as a home away from home and proud ourselves in our garden and koi pond and that your grandson grew up with us. Please be assured that I will convey your complimentary feedback to... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Although the room was nice and clean, the lunch we had was enjoyable, the service received from the front desk left a lot to be desired. The location was good for our purposes, and the security staff were very nice and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear dmans2610 At the outset I would like to thank you for taking the time to supply feedback on your recent stay with us. As we always strive to give ALL our GUESTS that home away from home feeling, I was shocked to have read about the unwelcome feeling you received from our Front Desk. Please accept my sincerest apologies... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel provides a convenient solution for meetings. The need to drive all the way to Pretoria and vice versa is eradicated as people are afforded the opportunity to meet halfway in Midrand. The staff here have always been very pleasant and evidently understand the need for quick service when dealing with the business community.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear Yusuf O The need for efficiency is definitely met at our Hotel. For the past 20 years of the Hotel's existence we have been able to afford a convenient, comfortable and serene environment for business meetings, conferences, functions and various social events. Apart from our location, the excellent and friendly service offered by our STAFF has always been an... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel located in quiet and serene environment. The kind of place you want to come and unwind. Very clean rooms with smiling housekeeping staff. Additionally, the restaurant has very warm staff although sometimes they seem uncoordinated in the sense that you order for something and sometimes it takes too long and yet you can see staff moving around very busy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear ggithaiga Thank you very much for the feedback received regarding your recent visit. It is always rewarding to read that our GUESTS experienced the warm, homely and inviting environment that we strive to create. The hotel and it's STAFF are geared to assist and exceed our GUESTS expectations in every way possilbe, complemented by our beautiful surrounds. Your feedback... More

Deventer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A nice hotel, close to all kinds of restaurants if you do not want to dine in the nice and very good restaurant. sitting outside next to the waterfall makes your dinner or drink a great experience. the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear EricDene Thank you very much for taking the time to post on this valuable channel your positive experience at the Protea Hotel Midrand. The Hotel boasts a beautiful garden setting and the excellent and efficient service we offer is something we pride ourselves in. Your kind words will inspire us to do even better in future! We trust that... More

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The atmosphere so inviting, staff very friendly, food divine. I enjoyed my stay and my friends wax so lyrical about the experience. I will recommend to all my friends and family. KEEP UP THE GREAT JOB OUT THERE!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PH-Midrand, Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear soloniANC1969 It is an absolute pleasure to respond to your letter of appreciation to the Protea Hotel Midrand. Thank you for your kind words! I am delighted that your friends and yourself enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope that we can offer many more "experiences of a life time" to all your friends and family visiting. Hope... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very friendly staff, nice clean rooms, Bathroom and shower works great. Nice outside garden and pool area. and a restaurant with an "OK" selection and quality. Not a family hotel.. more suited for business... BUT... the Wi-Fi really isn't good. you get 500MB for free.. but the line quality and speed is no use for Skype or GoTo meetings..ok.. for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PH-Midrand, General Manager at Protea Hotel Midrand, responded to this review

Dear FHarvard Thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the services and facilities we have on offer and especially thrilled that my TEAM blew you away with their spectacular service! Your points regarding the unacceptable speed and signal for Wifi was taken up with the... More

Been to Protea Hotel Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Midrand

Address: 14th Street, Noordwyk Ext 20 | Halfway House, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Midrand 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Midrand – Where you want to stay between Sandton and Pretoria. Protea Hotel Midrand is situated halfway between the dynamic, bustling cities of Johannesburg and Pretoria. The luxurious hotel provides optimum access not only to this prestigious business districts' numerous corporate headquarters and conference venues, but also to business and shopping destinations throughout the Gauteng region. As befits a 4–star Protea Hotel, plush elegance is evident from the moment you enter the spacious foyer with its sophisticated combination of Italian granite, cherry wood finishes and lofty glass–and–wood–rafted ceiling. This level of quality extends to the hotel's spacious bedrooms. Protea Hotel Midrand boasts all the facilities needed for business travellers - conference facilities, 24 hour fitness centre and a Gautrain bus service. For those with some leisure time; relax and unwind beside the large pool area, spoil yourself with a treatment at the in house beauty salon or visit The Palm Terrace Restaurant for an unforgettable dinner experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Midrand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.