We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Town Lodge Midrand

2.0 of 5 1 Montrose Road, off Bekker Road | Waterfall Park, Vorna Valley, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Town Lodge Midrand
Professional photos View all
Town Lodge Midrand
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (11)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

After staying in many kinds of hotels around the world, this is one of the worst. First you need to climb up stairs to your room and, if you are lucky, have a view of a parking lot. The rooms are pokey, small and old-fashioned, with a tiny TV and a barely-usable remote. No free Wifi - which should be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Midrand, responded to this review

We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. Please note that we do offer one hour free wifi per day and are in the process of sharply upgrading our offering. As we are not a full service hotel, we do not offer room service or room fridges which need to be carefully monitored and restocked. Our breakfasts are usually well received,... More

Tzaneen, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

As Town Lodges go the Midrand Town Lodge is one of the better ones. Value for money is good and cleanliness, which is one of my non-negotiables, was excellent. The area feels safe and secure and the personnel are very welcoming and efficient. The only issue I have with Town Lodges in general is a minor, but noticeable one, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Midrand, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy to hear that we're one of your favourite hotel's in the area and that you find us to be good value for money! We're thrilled that you find the rooms clean and welll equipped. With regard to the issue of the thin walls - we will certainly look into this. Finally, it's... More

Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This was my first time in South Africa so left it to someone with local knowledge to book me a hotel. The hotel was accessed through a security gate where a visitors pass is required to get in. My room was well specced and comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small side though. I did ask for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Midrand, responded to this review

We thank you for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that the check-in process was efficient. We hope to see you again soon! More

Great Brak River, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

One thing about staying at any hotel in the City Lodge group is that you can be sure that you will get value for money. Therefore a Town Lodge would not come with bells and whistles but then you do not pay for it as well. Rooms are nice and comfortable although the shower and toilet are a bit cramped.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Midrand, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon. More

Mauritius
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at the lodge during a business trip and it is great value for money. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast may seem expensive but is worth the price as you get a varied choice. The lodge is a very good choice if you are travelling to the area on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Midrand, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review - we hope to welcome you again soon. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed in Town Lodge Midrand while attending an exhibition at Gallagher Convention Centre, and I found the hotel to very convenient as it was reasonably close to the centre. The hotel rooms are very clean equipped with modern gadgets to make ones stay comfortable, such as air conditioner that also has a heating function during cold weather, tv with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Midrand, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Very, very basic! Be prepared to carry your luggage two flights of stairs. Central if you need to be at the Waterfall office park. Bring your own hairdryer. Standard variety available at breakfast. Room size caters for one person........"........................?............"...............

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Midrand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful, I was so surprised. The room was clean, neat and very comfortable. The shower in the double room is spacious. Really enjoyed the breakfast. Good value for money. I strongly recommend Town Lodge above Road Lodge. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Town Lodge in Mid Rand 6 times for a minumum of 3 nights over a period of 5 months and found the food to be very consistent and the cleanliness standards to be very good too. The breakfast is good value for the price one pays for the accomodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Provides exactly what you expect - no frills, clean, safe, convenient budget accomodation. My room (single) was small but had everything I needed - mirror was situated where there was enough light (it's amazing how many hotels don't get this right - even high-end ones), bed was comfortable, everything was clean. Reception was really friendly & helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Town Lodge Midrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge Midrand

Address: 1 Montrose Road, off Bekker Road | Waterfall Park, Vorna Valley, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Lodge Midrand 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Town Lodge Midrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Town Lodge Midrand

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby