We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Hotel website
Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    168
    264
    112
    37
    20
See reviews for
102
166
66
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (601)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (157)
All months
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Located close to OR tambo with a regular shuttle, staying here for a night is ideal and would recommend as a transit hotel. Service was good and food from the restaurant was decent. Has a little shop on site for any of those forgotten souvenirs and also a spa/salon for any necessary last minute beautifying.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mix 211 Thank you for your support and the positive review highlighting a number of vital provisions that differentiates this hotel making it the preference both as a transit hotel and for those spending time in the province of Gauteng. I am a little disappointed that we were not able to do more than provide you with a decent... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Early morning arrival from an overnight flight but a bedroom was found within the hour, with a cup of coffee whilst we waited. A comfortable place to stay in every aspect of the word. We'll be back there twice in the near future.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael K Thank you so much for the positive review. Your acknowledgment of this hotels ability to accommodate your needs and comfort is most appreciated. We do pride ourselves on our flexibility and your most appreciated effort to highlight the provision of a room early in the morning is a testament of such. We look forward to hosting you... More 

Augsburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed one night in the hotel. All hotel employees were very friendly and assist in a descret way. We have chosen it to be very close to the airport. The free shuttle service takes only 2 minutes. We would book it again for a stop over in Johannesburg.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thomas R Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. It is most appreciated that you have highlighted our complimentary and efficient shuttle service that runs every 15 minutes, 24/7, our friendly and discreet service delivery provided by my team and of course our proximity to the airport terminals that... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Good location for overnight stay....very convenient, and great shuttle service from the arriving and departure Terminals...will tell all my friends to make use of this hotel when they visit South Africa

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eugene C Thank you so much for the wonderful review and support that we enjoy. We appreciate you highlighting what we consider to be one of our differentiators to all other quality accommodation providers in that our location, being only 500 meters from the airport terminals, provides for unequalled convenience thanks to our frequent and efficient complimentary shuttle service.... More 

Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed in the Southern Sun for one night as we had a stop over in Johannesburg and it fit the purpose. We got the shuttle to and from the airport. The rooms were a little outdated but clean. We did however get at knock on our door at 7am for laundry we think? Which was annoying. We had room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LC-irish Firstly, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I am most disappointed that you were disturbed at 07h00. Whilst I am not able to pinpoint what occurred here, I will again stress the importance of not disturbing our patrons to the housekeeping staff as a result. I am admittedly distressed... More 

Bangalow, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

over all its ok not the best rooms they need to a better standard are not the best location in convenient staff are good and curious the free airport pick up is very good over all Average for the price

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luke B Thank you for staying with us and providingthis review. It is regretaable that the room that you stayed in left you with a negative impression in terms of value for money. Please would you send your details to Antony.Larsen@tsogosun.com to enable me to ensure that should you return, we will deliver a room experience that will redeam... More 

Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The only minor dissatisfaction was the heater which I did not know how to put it on to warm my room, I did not ask help either because it was not cold, also the heater was working fine just that the buttons were very ambiguous.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charles M Thank you so much for the wonderful review and that fact that you stay with us when visiting Johannesburg. I am dissapointed that you struggled with our heater but am most relieved that it did not affect your comfort. We look forward to your return and to being of service to you in the future. Regards Antony... More 

Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was a great hotel if you needed to stay overnight & fly out the next day, which we did. Rooms were clean & quiet. Breakfast was lovely. Free shuttle to the airport and to the nearby casino/entertainment centre for restaurants & some shopping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Murgatr Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this review. You have highlighted a number of our unique selling points and for this I am most grateful. The fact that this hotel is so ideally suited to provide for those flying into and out of the Gauteng province of South Africa requiring quality accommodation with no... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just to clarify, the first room I stayed in (superior) was ENTIRELY too small for myself and my family. Even though the 2nd room I was moved to (an Executive unit) was not advertised or advised as a "family friendly" unit, we found it much better. We have a little 10mth old baby and the "crawlspace" in the second room... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil G Thank you so much for entrusting us as your accommodation provider whilst in Johannesburg. Further to this, thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide both the internal review and this review. It is most regrettable that the first room that you in did not provide the space required. Should you return, we will most... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I had arrived in the evening. Had to wait at least 10 minutes to get checked in although there was plenty of staff behind the desk and only one customer ahead of me. When finally attended to, the employee required the credit card I had used when I booked the hotel room in July 2013. Since it had expired she... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sven H Firstly, I would like to thank you for both staying with us and for the review which presents me with an opportunity to perhaps have you consider returning in the future. I am particularly concerned with the lack of service from the numerous staff during check in and of course the lack of communication relating to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay