We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Kempton Park accommodations

Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel

2 Halifax St | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel to your Saves list
Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Azhar M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (34)
  • Photos (39)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • More
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
8
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing better than finding a place that reminds you of home. Not once did I feel like I was in a stiff ennvironment generally associated with hotels and BnBs. Joy and Steven are awesome company and extremely friendly. Always willing to help out if and when the need arises. Thanks for an amazing night. You gave me exactly what I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, Azhar, for your wonderful review. Steven and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay at Terrylin. We wish you all the best for your audition - you will be a winner. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I spent a night here with my young son before going to the airport the next morning. It is very convenient. The accommodation is very basic, but clean and comfortable in a quiet situation. The people were very friendly. A good overnight stop at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you Alan for your lovely review - It was really a pleasure having you here. All the best to you and Sihle. More

Guangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is the best accommodation experience in SA. We are pax of four from China who stay in backpackers mostly. Terrylin is like home. It's clean, cozily decorated, with beautiful garden and even a pool. The common shower rooms are so big and clean that we use comfortably. The host will arrange anything nice and neat as long as you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, Tony, for your excellent review and rating. It was a pleasure to have you here and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. All the best, Steven and Joy. More

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After a long trip I got to Terrylin and felt completely at home! I was pleasantly surprised! Very comfortable place, Fully equipped, quiet and great facilities! I stayed in the Double room with private ensuite, the room was very clean, nice and warm Almost did not want to leave it! :) The staff was very welcoming and helpful at all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, Evelyn, for your wonderful review and rating. I hope we see you again if you return to South Africa to study. All the very best. Steven and Joy. More

liege
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here on my own once s well as with 5 members of my family onan other. We were all very happy. The place is undoubtedly clean, Joyce and steeve are very helpful. Arrangements can be made easily for a taxi which, beeing this close to the airport, is quite convenient. I definitely recommend this guesthouse! !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, Alain, for your great review. It was really a pleasure having you and your family here. Also, thank you for the Belgian chocolate you gave me. I really enjoyed this. More

La Ciotat
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed here 5 nights to prepare the rest of our trip (10 months traveling around the world) and it was perfect for us. We came here because it was apparently not the style of Backpacker where everyone is beautiful, everyone is nice, but no one does the dishes, cleans the table ... basically, here, there no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was really a pleasure having you both here, and we look forward to seeing you in a months time. Steven and I wish you all the best on your further travels through Africa. More

Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not a bad place. Well situated, ample space around the house. A bit old, the furniture. The beds were terrible, far too soft, slept in a pit. No other visitors, so it was made clear the place would shut down for the day, please leave at ten (our plane went quite a bit later) We will not go back, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

When you 'phoned me, late that afternoon, and enquired about the Family Room, it was already booked, and I could only offer you the dorm room, which I explained was for backpackers. You mentioned that you had noticed the check-out time on the website, but did not mention that you would like to stay until the following night until 22h00.... More

Ånge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very friendly and nice play to stay near the airport. The rooms are cozy. There´s no heating but the room was reasonably warm despite cold weather. Tea and coffee are available all the time and at breakfast rusks and biscuits are available. There´s no complimentary airport transfer and the taxi charged 150 Rand which is steep for such a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, Gert, for your 5 rating and review. We appreciate this. I agree that the price charged for the taxi was steep. It is best to use the Airport (ORTIA) taxi service who charge around R100 for up to four guests. It was lovely having you and your family here and we wish you all the best. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here last June for one night whilst waiting for my connecting flight, travelling on my own. I had paid to sleep in a dorm as I had been misinformed on a travel site that there were same sex dorms available. That was fine. When I emailed, they told me that this was not the case but that there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

I am perturbed by your review, which I cannot understand. You wrote that you had paid to sleep in a dorm. I did not receive any payment from you, nor can I find an e-mail from you. As I have had complaints from some guests, about other guests in the dorm room, I rectified this. Our dorm room is now... More

Port Alfred, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a late night incoming flight and and very early outgoing flight - Terrylin Backpackers was perfect for your night. It is very close to the airport, easy to get a taxi to and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were welcomed when we arrived (which was very late) and shown all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrylin, Owner at Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you, Laurielee, for this lovely review. Steven and I appreciate your positive comments and that you had a pleasant stay with us, before your honeymoon. We wish you and your husband a happy and blessed marriage. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel

Address: 2 Halifax St | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Terrylin Backpacker's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Terrylin for Travellers is a mere 10 minutes drive from O R Tambo (Johannesburg) airport, and within walking distance to the Gautrain station. A supermarket is nearby, and two upmarket hotels are in the next street.Located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood, Terrylin offers dorm, twin, double and family room accommodation.The dorm and twin rooms have communal bathrooms and showers. The twin rooms have electric blankets and heaters and the dorm room has night lights above each bed. All linen, including towels is provided.The double room has a double bed, TV and en-suite shower. The family room has a queen-size bed and a bunk bed, with a TV and en-suite bathroom.There is a communal lounge, kitchen, laundry and dining area.A sparkling swimming pool is in the large, well-established garden. Spanish bars and security gates offer added protection, although the area is very safe.Visa and Master Cards are accepted, and wi-fi is free for an hour. Tours of Johannesburg, Soweto and Pretoria can be arranged.Terrylin does not offer meals, although tea, coffee, rusks and biscuits are provided in the morning.Steven and Joy will do all they can to make your stay memorable in a homely environment. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer