We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Corner York & Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    160
    303
    112
    42
    13
See reviews for
48
239
80
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (630)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (146)
All months
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

The hotel is near the airport, there is free shuttle service running every 30 min, good size, quiet room, comfortable bed, free WiFi and it worked well, good choice of international tv channels, good size bathroom and shower; good breakfast (variety and quality of foods offered) though not included in the room rate. Helpful staff at the Front Desk and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel It gives me great pleasure to read your feedback. I will be sure to relay your compliments to our Chef and STAFF that had made your stay with us as lovely as what you describe. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Rooms are well appointed and functional and the food selection adequate. The shuttle service was excellent. Service beyond the basics was poor; finding a replacement for a faulty remote took from 9 am to after 4 pm with several trips to reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy that you found our hotel’s facilities and offerings to be good. I would like to sincerely apologize however for the experience had with our staff not offering the service expected of them and I can assure you that this is not the standard that... More 

Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

I stayed one night at Protea Hotel in between a safari and then flying to Durban to do some scuba diving. The hotel kept a piece of luggage for me while I was on safari until I checked in 11 days later. This was very helpful as the other hotels wouldn't do it and the airport charged $7 per day!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am very happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us as well as the additional services and facilities that we offer. We do pride ourselves on trying to assist our GUESTS as much as possible in terms of making their trips in and out... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Excellent hotel wonderfully located near the airport. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food good and rooms more than adequate. Quiet rooms despite nearness to airport. Free regular shuttle bus. Lovely pool area for use in warmer months.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. Reading your review has made me very proud of my TEAM and I will be sure to relay your compliments to them for their dedicated service and friendliness you had received. I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Stayed 2 nights at ZAR 950 per night. Extremely modern and spacious room on the 4th floor. Super comfortable bed. Brilliant WiFi - the best in 5 months thru Africa. Free 500mb although the guy on reception also provided vouchers for an extra 1gb on check in - not used but very much appreciated. Tea, coffee, water in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. It gives me great pleasure to read your review and we are so happy that you had enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities and services we offer. We do offer all our GUESTS a comfortable and peaceful nights rest with our windows... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

I wasn't expecting much from an airport hotel and I just needed an overnight to catch a connecting flight the next morning. The Protea exceeded expectation. The hotel offers a free shuttle every half an hour (from the bus terminal behind the Intercontinental) and the driver set the pace for the friendly and helpful staff service I received during my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. It makes me very proud to read such lovely feedback. I am so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be returning in the future. I will be sure to relay all your compliments to our... More 

Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

The hotel is a nice location close to the airport. The stay though was not nice. Rooms was like you were staying in a jail with high windows , dirty bedding no privacy for the washroom, even the breakfast spread was not nice. Inside was noisy too. Do not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to apologize sincerely for the bad experience you had at our Hotel. We have raised your concerns pertaining to the bedding and breakfast with the necessary department heads to rectify these situations as this is not our normal standards that we like to uphold.... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

The hotel itself is convenient to the airport (via shuttle), clean and comfortable. The menu and food were very good. With three separate overnight stays in our recent 2-1/2 week trip to South Africa, the front desk experience was very mixed. On the first occasion, check-in took us over 20 minutes to have a room assigned to us (with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gawieortambo, Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to firstly apologize for the experience you had during check in and check out, this is not our usual standards that we are so proud of. We have definitely taken your concerns into consideration and have addressed them with the necessary Department Heads so... More 

Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

In spite of being across the highway from Just Joburg's airport this is a quiet hotel. Reception staff could not easily locate my reservation as I had paid via 3rd parties including Trip Advisor. The hotel is new and clean, staff very helpful. Breakfast seeved by Karabelo was delicious, with ample variety of fruits and cold cuts but no so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you find our STAFF to be very helpful. I will be relaying your compliments to our Chef and Food and Beverage TEAM for the lovely Breakfast you were served. I will take... More 

Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
192 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

clean, comfy and modern well rooms with lovely walk in shower. coffee and tea service in room very appreciated if you arrive early in the morning; by the by, breakfast buffet also ok with cereal bar and many hot food choices. there is ample parking if you rent a car and accommodating staff helps with any of your needs... told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gawieortambo, General Manager at Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. It makes us very happy to hear that you regard us as perfection and we will be sure to keep it up. I will be sure to relay all your compliments to our Chef on the Breakfast Buffet and the rest of the Hotel TEAM. We look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

315 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (186)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (129)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 24 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Transit O.R. Tambo Airport
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 24 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay