We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Johannesburg hotels

Valverde Country Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beyers Naude Extension, Muldersdrif, 1748, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Save Saved
You added Valverde Country Hotel to your Saves list
Valverde Country Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
86%
Ranked #14 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Shilinia Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
22
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I'm not sure how the reviews here on Tripadvisor are for the same place we just stayed! Here's the story: arrived and the room wasn't quite ready, so were sent to have lunch. No problem. However after waiting for 50 minutes for it to arrive, decided to query where it was. After all, the restaurant was very quiet. The waitress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Wow!!!! Thank you Valverde for making our wedding such a memorable one. From the food, to the service, to the actual venue - We could not have made a better choice. The staff made us feel so special, not to mention the service excellence. I called Barbara at 2am as I had lost my key to my room. Barbara is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

am beyond dissatisfied with Valverde Country Hotel. We had our wedding there in August. Although the celebrations went well, the after sales service is disgusting and non-existant. You will never get your full breakage deposit back and they will come up with all kinds of excuses not to pay you the full amount. They are extremely quick to take your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last month we took a vacation to South Africa and we stayed at Valverde Country Hotel, near Johannesburg. It was the perfect location and it served us as our home base to visit many family attractions in the area: Lions Park, Crock City, Elephants Sanctuary, etc. Also very close to Lanseria airport, very convenient airport with connections to important other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We got invited by management to stay over for a night. The location is very nice and the decorations for the weddings that were there the same day was breathtaking. Our room was close to the reception hall and was noisy, but they moved us to a room where it was nice and quite

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The perfect place for your special cost effective and friendly staff nothing more u need to make any bride feel special with excellent service delivery xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Service is amazing, the owners are very nice and everything is as good as it can get. Everybody is very helpful and they help you always with a smile on the face. Hope to be back soon. They speak English, German, Italian, French and any language you might need to make yourself comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked 2 months in advance yet staff had no knowledge of our booking. We had booked massages only to be told that the "spa" was closed. No one bothered to email us. The staff were clueless but smiley. The hotel is in beautiful grounds. No hot water and sometimes no water! Window a lot bigger than the curtains Noisy,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KinoMalaga, Owner at Valverde Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer I am sorry that your experience wasn't what you expected. I apologize for the hot water, unfortunately we had a problem with the hot water pump that day and we couldn't get it replaced as it was over the weekend, that problem has since been fixed. I will find out about the dirt behind the bed, that is... More

Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night in winter and almost got frostbite. We had no hot water, and the gas heater in the room didnt work. Management gave an empty apology. Very poor. We certainly won't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KinoMalaga, Owner at Valverde Country Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry that your stay wasn't as you expected. However I would like to mention that when you spoke to the housekeeping supervisor about the hot water she immediately reported it to the maintenance supervisor on duty who went to the room and opened the tap... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I stopped by Valverde last month.we were totally blown away by the venue and the service. We met Pam and JP the owners who were unbelievably friendly and down to earth. Thanks for being so hospitable. Loved the food as well as the lengths they are going to to make the Hotel eco friendly. Just loved the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Valverde Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Valverde Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valverde Country Hotel

Address: Beyers Naude Extension, Muldersdrif, 1748, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valverde Country Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Valverde Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Johannesburg with
any amenities