We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shumba Valley Lodge

R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Shumba Valley Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week end of October whilst visiting the area. Room simple but everything we needed. Good shower. Tv quite poor choices and no wifi in the room. Breakfast a good selection each day, although most of the preserves on the table were out of date . Staff were lovely and helpful. Would recommend staying here.

Helpful?
Thank hattie411
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All the points raised are immensely significant and can help us to direct our efforts in areas where we did not hit the mark. Your feedback has been shared with the whole team at Shumba Valley and they are pleased to hear that they were lovely and... More 

Sandton, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

The facilities matched our theme for the meeting. Breathe taking surrounding with less noise interuption. Easy access to major recreational facilities and tourist attractions. Its a peace of mind just a stone throw away from the City buzz

Helpful?
Thank Ofentse015
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ofentse015 Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities were perfect for your conference. Shumba is indeed a hidden gem in Lanseria and the ideal spot for both leisure and business activities. Please spread the word and we hope to see you on your next conference. Kind regards Tafadzwa... More 

Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

I think the reason why there are so many rather negative reviews for this place is that people expect more then they pay for! Its a pretty cheap place, so you're not going to get 5 star luxury! I stayed here for 5 nights and everything was to my expectation, great food, comfortable and clean rooms and their staff are... More 

Helpful?
Thank FelixBorner
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Felix Borner Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted we were able to deliver our promise to you. Our team works hard to ensure all guests are comfortable and that they receive value for their money. Thank you for being very loyal and sharing your wonderful experience about what we offer as a brand. This is... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

On my way from Haartbeespoort dam, I pulled through to have dinner with my family, we were greeted on arrival by the Front Desk Agent and proceeded to Restaurant where no one was manning the desk, we set ourselves and grabbed three menus from the desk, we only got attention after about 10 minutes, order was placed and took a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steevenmas
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Steevenmas I appreciate you taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay and can assure you that this feedback is instrumental in allowing us the opportunity to better our guest experiences. I sincerely apologise for not finding a waiter in the restaurant to courteously welcome and provide you with menus. This is sadly not the level of... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

The Shumba Valley Lodge is well located to Johannesburg and the Lanseria airport. However, even driving by and looking at the site when you pull up it looks a bit short of attention. Everything is well presented and clean but it just looks like something that has been painted over to hide the blemishes. Food was actually better then expected... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred S
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fred S Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay. I assure you that this feedback is vital for us to improve on all areas of the hotel. We have already embarked on projects to improve certain areas of the hotel to ensure that it is sightly for all guests driving through. We are very... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We stayed at this venue for 2 nights for a work conference. First impression from the outside was that it was a bit tired and needed freshening up. The rooms were adequate but the chairs in the room and the restaurant had stains. The toilet did not flush properly and sounded like running water all night. The room I stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lilibee243
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking your time to review us following your stay at the lodge. While we are happy to hear that our food was very good, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the challenges you experienced during your stay. We are already working on a refurbishment project that will... More 

Upington, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We stayed here one night as a stop over... The place isn't terrible but could use some basic improvements, as i did not enjoy our stay based on simple "troubles" ... Our Bedside Lamps had no Lamp Shades. My Lamp was missing feet and wiggled... The Wardrobe mirror was dirty, the chairs had stains on them, the towels had stains... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank wanderluster05
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We truly appreciate you taking time to write this review and we are saddened that certain aspects of your stay were not to your liking. Even though we look forward to positive reviews, it is constructive feedback such as yours that is more crucial and helps us to continually improve. All the concerns you have raised have... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We were very excited to go and stay at this hotel. I have to say that I read the other reviews and thought 'How bad can it be for a 4 star hotel?" - it's that bad. The rooms need so much attention. Fixtures in the bathrooms, broken lamps, etc. Not to mention that the pool was a completed disaster.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 889lieslb
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking time to raise your concerns with us. Based on the valuable points you have mentioned, we can certainly improve to guarantee you and all other guests future stays that will meet or even exceed your expectations. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused. I will pass on your words of appreciation to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Athens
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Service is average or poor, internet connection was a big problem, the switchboard for trnasfering a call to the room not working, the hotel at least during this period doesnt look at it best... All the rest of basics are provided, is clean and pleasent but not the one to choose among so many excellent choices in the greater area.

Helpful?
Thank gerkouv
ManyowaT, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gerkouv I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing crucial areas for improvement to our attention. We do regret that your stay at the hotel was not up to standard and please kindly accept my sincere apologies. Our aim is to provide all our guests with an unforgettable experience, because they... More 

Hammanskraal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I stayed there on Saturday. My booking was handled professionally by Gary and professionally checked in by the same guy. all the request were delivered accordingly he really made our day special. The room was nice but the is no water in the room for guest to drink, you are being forced to drink from tap in the toilet, as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe R
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking time out to compliment the team at Shumba Valley Lodge, especially Gary. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience while staying with us. I have shared your feedback with the team so that they are aware that their hard work is noticed and valued. We take all your comments... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
6.7 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#5 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
22.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#3 of 6 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
22.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
3.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#5 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay