We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shumba Valley Lodge

R511, Malibongwe Drive Extension | Lanseria, Johannesburg 1748, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Shumba Valley Lodge
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #45 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lilibee243 Johannesburg, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    6
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
3
12
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this venue for 2 nights for a work conference. First impression from the outside was that it was a bit tired and needed freshening up. The rooms were adequate but the chairs in the room and the restaurant had stains. The toilet did not flush properly and sounded like running water all night. The room I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking your time to review us following your stay at the lodge. While we are happy to hear that our food was very good, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the challenges you experienced during your stay. We are already working on a refurbishment project that will... More 

Upington, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We stayed here one night as a stop over... The place isn't terrible but could use some basic improvements, as i did not enjoy our stay based on simple "troubles" ... Our Bedside Lamps had no Lamp Shades. My Lamp was missing feet and wiggled... The Wardrobe mirror was dirty, the chairs had stains on them, the towels had stains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We truly appreciate you taking time to write this review and we are saddened that certain aspects of your stay were not to your liking. Even though we look forward to positive reviews, it is constructive feedback such as yours that is more crucial and helps us to continually improve. All the concerns you have raised have... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We were very excited to go and stay at this hotel. I have to say that I read the other reviews and thought 'How bad can it be for a 4 star hotel?" - it's that bad. The rooms need so much attention. Fixtures in the bathrooms, broken lamps, etc. Not to mention that the pool was a completed disaster.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking time to raise your concerns with us. Based on the valuable points you have mentioned, we can certainly improve to guarantee you and all other guests future stays that will meet or even exceed your expectations. Please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused. I will pass on your words of appreciation to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Johannesburg hotels

Athens
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Service is average or poor, internet connection was a big problem, the switchboard for trnasfering a call to the room not working, the hotel at least during this period doesnt look at it best... All the rest of basics are provided, is clean and pleasent but not the one to choose among so many excellent choices in the greater area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManyowaT, General Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gerkouv I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing crucial areas for improvement to our attention. We do regret that your stay at the hotel was not up to standard and please kindly accept my sincere apologies. Our aim is to provide all our guests with an unforgettable experience, because they... More 

Hammanskraal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I stayed there on Saturday. My booking was handled professionally by Gary and professionally checked in by the same guy. all the request were delivered accordingly he really made our day special. The room was nice but the is no water in the room for guest to drink, you are being forced to drink from tap in the toilet, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking time out to compliment the team at Shumba Valley Lodge, especially Gary. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable experience while staying with us. I have shared your feedback with the team so that they are aware that their hard work is noticed and valued. We take all your comments... More 

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

What a disappointment. Spent the evening there with work colleagues.Bar Service poor & Beer Warm.We had supper in the Boma. Staff could not get the Camp Fire going - So ambiance was not there - May as well have just eaten in the restaurant. Food was terrible as well. They only set up the bar in the boma when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManyowaT, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that your stay, as well as your dining experience at Shumba Valley Lodge did not live up to your expectations. The points you mentioned are constructive, and an important indicator of how we perform as a team and subsequently how we can improve and strive to achieve... More 

Tampere
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

I stayed here for one night as it was close to the Lanseria airport and I had a early flight the next day. I was at first impressed as it looked quite welcoming at the reception, but when I got to my room I firstly discovered that there was no water and that the WiFi was not allowing me to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Amazing place to be Must visit Near from lions park and very reasonable stay for a night or 2 Amazing experience with the feel and comfort and very cooperative people I would personally like to give 5-stars to patrika 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 We got the best treatment and hospitality from her Thank you patrika

Was this review helpful? Yes
White River
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We had booked two nights but due to a crisis at home, ended up staying only one night - just as well. While the rooms are clean, there were missing light shades and no plugs anywhere in the bathroom! When we mentioned this on checking out, we were met with indifference. At 1pm rubbish from the rooms was still lying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I am really not sure how this hotel is even rated as a 4 star hotel. I went there for my Birthday celebration with my girlfriends and our kids, the reception we received on arrival was not bad at all, however after we received our key everything went pear shaped from there. The property is quiet big and we did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SVL2013, Manager at Shumba Valley Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Phumeleleb Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the feedback that you have sent to us. Your points raised will be used to rectifying and train the staff to alleviate these problems from happening again. We would like to state that you were asked to consume your alcohol in your room due to our property having a liquor license.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
6.7 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#5 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#5 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
22.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#3 of 6 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
20.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#33 of 71 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay