We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Certificate of Excellence
10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    25
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
23
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
There are newer reviews for 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in early December, arriving mid-morning on Sunday - shown to my room immediately and offered complimentary guava juice. All the staff were delightful. Hotel was full but somehow it never felt crowded or busy. Breakfast outside overlooking the gardens was a great start to the day - lots of cooked options and sumptuous continental spread (champagne... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much indeed for your very kind and positive comments after your stay here in December. We do strive to always delight our guests, and it is indeed a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed all the wonderful services and amenities of our lovely hotel here in Houghton.... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel was a joy! Wonderful staff, enjoyable surroundings, relaxing atmosphere, great food. The garden is very pleasant. The rooms are spacious, bright, and luxurious. Room service was particularly good, with the full dinner menu available! The pool is small but relaxing. I would highly recommend the 10 2nd Avenue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team at 10 2nd Avenue, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us, and that our "Gracious Living in Luxury" has met and exceeded your expectations. We all here at 10 2nd Avenue would be delighted to... More 

Malelane, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here recently and was thrilled with the experience. I travel to Johannesburg often for business and have stayed at so many places where I paid a lot, but was never happy. 10 2nd Avenue is everything I ever wanted in a hotel! The staff are wonderful and nothing is too muh trouble. The rooms are spacious and luxurious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your detailed and extremely positive comments with regard to your stay at our beautiful hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and this will certainly motivate the entire team to strive even more to ensure that each and every one of our valued guests are served and hosted to... More 

Botswana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at 10 2nd Avenue earlier this month as I was keen to use this hotel for our clients travelling through Johannesburg to Botswana on safari. I have tried so many Johannesburg hotels within easy reach of the airport and most are disappointing (within the an affordable overnight price bracket). I was very happy with this hotel. I stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

My team and I are most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you chose our hotel to bring your valued clients, and in particular the amenities and services which we provide to ensure our guests utmost comfort. We do always strive to ensure our guests experience is one of “Gracious Living” and that... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Tucked away in leafy and sleepy Houghton is this hidden gem. Quiet location, lovely, large well-furnished rooms. Wonderful, kind, helpful and always cheerful staff. Although a regular worldwide traveller I cannot think of another hotel where I received such good service. Perhaps this is because it is a small team who work extremely well together. I was on business in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to complete your review of our beautiful hotel on Trip Advisor. I am particularly delighted that you enjoyed the services of our superb and attentive staff, and that they were able to assist you and provide you with the services you required during your stay. I will certainly pass on your... More 

Cape Town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

l spent three nights in this stunning boutique hotel, in the heart of Houghton Estate. My choice of this boutique hotel as a getaway was certainly the right one. The staff all round are friendly, attentive and most welcoming. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious, with the most wonderful amenities provided to make your stay even more special.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

On behalf of the entire team here at 10 2nd Avenue, I would like to thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to hear that our valued guests have enjoyed their stay with us, and that we are your destination of choice on your next visit to Johannesburg. We do take care... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed at this boutique hotel and we were disappointed. We found the service was not what it should have been. When we booked, we specifically requested a room with its own balcony and this was confirmed by the hotel in my reservation, the room we were given had no balcony and we actually shared a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response regarding your observation during your visit to our hotel. First of all I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience we may have caused during your stay with us. It is certainly not our usual high standards you have experienced during your stay. We are aware of the various shortcomings over this... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Beautiful facility, enormous rooms and bathrooms, fabulous service. Great breakfast selection as well. Eating dinner there feels like you're in someone's fabulous colonial dining room, and the staff really sets things up nicely so the different groups have their own space. The hotel is out of the way so may be better if you have transport of your own so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel on the Tripadvisor website. It is always a great pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We were also delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the meals and the service. We do pride ourselves on our fine cuisine and... More 

DC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
67 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at this hotel. It is like staying in a grand house. All the people working there are very friendly. The rooms have a gas fireplace, nice bathrooms, very comfortable bed. The breakfast is very nice. We also ate dinner in their restaurant on two evenings -- the food was very good but the menu understandably tends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. We were most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us here at this wonderful hotel, not only the hotel facilities, but also and in particular the service provided by our excellent team of staff. We do strive to always meet and exceed our guest’s expectations by providing... More 

Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This Hotel had terrific big spacious rooms with big bathrooms, tub and shower. Very comfortable beds and space with all the extra touches to make you feel at home. Restaurant was just average though, food nothing special and drinks were way over priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all comments related to the services and products of our Hotel, and most particularly the well being and comfort of our valued guests. We were most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us here at this wonderful hotel. We have noted your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities