We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Melville Turret Guest House

Hotel website
118 Second Ave | Johannesburg, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Melville Turret Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    18
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

This is a convenient location if you need to be close to the University of Johannesburg, or even the City of Johannesburg. Quit neighbourhood with restaurants and the Trendy Melville nightlife close by. Staff s friendly and the guest house has a homely feeling about it. Breakfast serving therefore can be a bit slow, but it also has this friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

I ended up at Melville Turret by accident, but I'm glad I did. The rooms are clean, well-presented and cosy, breakfast was delicious, and most importantly, Ellie went above and beyond in helping me to manage when my bag didn't arrive with me at the airport. Melville itself is a nice leafy area, and I didn't feel at all uncomfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I stayed for 3 nights recently and the rooms were fine but my issues are with the service, if I didn't feel like they were major i wouldn't bother complaining; I arrived and was given a key to the gate, the security guard was on holiday and I had to open the gate manually, i'm not against the act of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JFHeymans, Owner at The Melville Turret Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your experience and can assure you that it is not the norm . We have many regular visitors from all over the world who come back again and again and also good feed back reports which prove otherwise. However, during the time of your visit we were operating... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

I stayed two nights, and really enjoyed my stay, the guesthouse is well-located in Melville, the rooms were comfortable, clean and lovely design, staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at Melville Turret for 3 nights in late July, 2014. This was our second visit, having stayed in the Loft room back in 2011. So, this review focuses on the Loft room, we don't know much about the other rooms. We love this guesthouse and highly recommend the Loft room, which costs slightly more than a standard room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A nice place to stay in Melville. It is in a quiet end of Melville, but not far from restaurants and attractions. It represents good value. Staff are great. Room chosen was a budget room, which was small but functional. ti had a small courtyard. Everything promised was there. Staff are very helpful. It is well priced and the location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed in the luxury suite upstairs at the back of the premises for 10 days in winter and thoroughly enjoyed it. This room is unique, so my comments on the suite will definitely not apply to the other rooms. The suite is clean, well-appointed and very spacious. The interior design is unusual but appealing in my opinion. It has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This place is nice. The building has a nice character and the lady at reception was nice. The only issue with room we had was ventilation was not working, so room had a bit of humid feel as shower steam does not ventilate without window door open. Also location is in suburbs so don't expect walking distance to city centre,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My son and I had an excellent stay at the Melville Turrett. It's a pleasant, attractive place and our room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed the walk to Melville and sampled several of the establishments there. The low-key funky Melville scene was perfect for us. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed in this guesthouse in Johannesburg for 3 nights all together. It is very clean guesthouse, in better location of Jo'burg and close to Park station where most of the trains leave to travel to majority of South African cities. Breakfast and room are great with very good showers. Stay there it is great stop over in Jo'burg.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#32 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.2 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#24 of 260 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Life on 3rd
Life on 3rd
#21 of 260 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#14 of 260 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
84 on 4th Guest House
84 on 4th Guest House
#55 of 260 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay