We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunkeld Manor

34 Smits Road | Dunkeld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunkeld Manor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dunkeld Manor
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Hong Kong Region, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful property, wonderful owner, very helpful and friendly staff. Convenient and safe location. A far more pleasant option for business travel than staying in a branded hotel. I would highly recommend this guest house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Secunda, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful romantic setting in Rosebank close to Clinic and many restaurants and shopping mall. Will have to come back as we normaly do not like a stay in the city hotels. Modern room, very nice bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dunkeld Manor is an up market guest house in a salubrious part of Rosebank, Johannesburg. The rooms are enormous - very clean and simple. The breakfast is good and wholesome. Everything worked faultlessly e.g. good wifi signal, secure onsite parking and late arrival. The location is also good, being in a quiet residential area and yet close to shops, restaurants,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandi L, Owner at Dunkeld Manor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Dunkeld Manor. We really appreciate it. For some time I have been wondering about the situation with having two large tables and not a few smaller tables as well. I have asked many guests and they have all said that in Europe that is how it is done. Well you have... More 

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Great location, beautiful house and room, no safety concerns at all. Unfortunately the service was not what I expected - starting with a blocked drain in the shower that flooded the bathroom and bedroom. While the housekeeping staff were very helpful, the owner/manager seemed less concerned. The owner/manager also required her staff to copy my credit card, although the account... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandi L, Owner at Dunkeld Manor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review we always appreciate valuable suggestions. I would just like to explain the reason for asking for a copy of card which the bank has in fact said it is common practice. When we tried to do payment the bank requested I did that as it did not allow us to do prepayment. I... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

My stay at Dunkeld Manor was great, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The garden is absolutely gorgeous, the rooms were well equipped and very stylish. I would recommend Dunkeld Manor to other travelers!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandi L, Owner at Dunkeld Manor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review. The roses are sensational at the moment wish you could see them. Best Always Sandi More 

Jacksonville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Large room with very comfortable bed!. Heated floors in bathroom. Close to restaurants. Garden was beautiful. And, as you might expect, very good breakfast. Only had one night, but would choose to stay here again next time I visit the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I was there on business and loved it. I can only imagine how much better I would have felt if I was there for pleasure... Great people, lovely breakfast, great bar system, fantastic rooms, great surroundings.... I would go back anytime. If one things could improve then it would be the speed of the internet.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

From the friendly staff & efficient service on arrival, to the home made crunchies on my coffee tray... I would definitely stay at Dunkeld Manor again, and would highly recommend them for any seasoned travellers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Dunkeld Manor is a well situated, well presented home from home. It is beautifully decorated with all the amenities you would want from an establishment like this.The rooms are comfortable and quiet and the staff friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Mary, Jersey, Channel Islands
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

If you are looking for a fantastic place to stay when visiting Johannesburg, look no further than Dunkeld Manor. I felt really pampered during my stay, and Sandi and her team of staff are just wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dunkeld Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld Manor

Address: 34 Smits Road | Dunkeld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dunkeld Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay