We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

5.0 of 5 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    112
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
19
38
27
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (263)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (90)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there with my family from 14-17 December on Hyatt Gold redemption. Having stayed there before,on occasion when I've need to, I know this to be a pretty average hotel for the 5 stars that it boasts. I also know from previous experiience personally and via other business associates that this hotel has a chronicle problem with hot water in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 4 days while attending a business meeting. Its in one of the safest neighborhoods in Joburg and easily accessible to the most happening places in Joburg. Good connectivity from the airport via the Gautrain..Staff are friendly and accomodating, rooms are excellent and well laid out. Nothing that I could find a fault with except for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team More 

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a solid and safe business hotel in Johannesburg. Nice and clean rooms with excellent club level amenities Close to shopping mall and restaurants. Dedicated staff, especially concierge desk who go above and beyond Recommended for business traveller

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear ThorwaldVikingAsgaar, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team More 

New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Hyatt Regency Johannesburg numerous times over the last year and a half and used a number of services provided by the hotel. In all, I find it a solid business class hotel and a good choice for stays in Johannesburg. Hotel Property: The newly renovated Lobby and Restaurant are stylish and comfortable. The staff is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear MrDutchNYC, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location feels safe and check in is smooth. The rooms are better than average and the restaurants are good with breakfast a pleasing array of fresh foodstuffs. Just one significant niggle- the officious restaurant head (lady with a gold filling to her front teeth) had a poor attitude. Having arrived at the allotted venue at 620am and sat down I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Guy H, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your most recent experience with us. It is important to us to receive your feedback and to learn where we can improve our service and facilities. We were disappointed to read that you encountered some issues while staying with us, we will most definitely take this up... More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is very nice, facilities, dining area and room are very good. I have a very nice view from my room 8th floor! Attending workshop there all facilities are organised well / high tech no issues. Have only 2 concerns: 1- seems they have problems with reservations and they see my booking on other dates and cancelled twice even when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Mo M, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was an overall positive one!. We were however disappointed to read that you encountered some issues while staying with us, we will most definitely take this up with the team. We value your... More 

Atlanta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is good and clean. Noting special but a fine place to sleep. It was clean and safe. Best part of the hotel is the shopping area and restaurants attached to the hotel. The steak house in the mall connected to the hotel (500 feet from check in area) is AMAZING and very well priced (flat out cheap) by USA... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Muntz73, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team More 

North Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I haven't stayed in a bad Hyatt yet! This property is no exception. The location was excellent - not too far from the airport (with no traffic jams). What I liked best about the hotel was it is attached to a nice large mall. So you could shop, people watch, and have a wide selection of restaurants at which to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear TravelFootloose, Warm greetings from Hyatt Regency Johannesburg! We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us and we are thrilled that it was a positive one! We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, The Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Team More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Close to the airport and Sandton. On arrival Front office staff didn't bother to inform me of the facilities on offer and seemed disinterested and aloof. Got a lovely room on the club floor. Decent bathroom but as many reviewers have mentioned the shower is basic and difficult to control. The pool is small and the surrounding area was basic.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear Ratagiyadub, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your most recent experience with us. It is important to us to receive your feedback and to learn where we can improve our service and facilities. We were disappointed to read that you encountered some issues while staying with us, we will most definitely take this up with... More 

Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

First class hotel operation personnel-wise - from an attentive and courteous check-in process, through the restaurants, straight through to checkout. The location was good for the business we had to conduct in Jozy. The one minor maintenance issue was handled promptly. Looks like TVs have been upgraded since my last visit. The new Samsung units will accept HDMI and even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HyattJohannesburg, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Johannesburg, responded to this review

Dear mktgguy, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your most recent experience with us. It is important to us to receive your feedback and to learn where we can improve our service and facilities. We were disappointed to read that you encountered some issues while staying with us, we will most definitely take this up with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hyatt Regency Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Johannesburg

Address: 191 Oxford Road | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2132, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Hyatt Regency Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg Hotel Johannesburg
Hyatt Johannesburg
Johannesburg Hyatt Regency
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay