We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Johannesburg hotels

Sunnyside Park Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prince of Wales Terrace, Parktown | 2 York Road, Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sunnyside Park Hotel to your Saves list
Sunnyside Park Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
47%
Ranked #34 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Johan H Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (74)
  • Photos (50)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    19
    13
    5
See reviews for
9
8
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This really is an old time hotel beautifully restored and maintained to a four star grading. In a similar class of the likes of the Mount Nelson in Cape Town or the Lord Charles in Somerset West. Food and drinks are of a high standard and the staff very friendly and courteous. I will go back here any time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sunnyside is close to CBD and recommendation for everyone working in CBD Johannesburg. The hotel is clean and in a safe area with a little park surrounding the buildings. They do have a restaurant and a bar/pub area with nice and decent food. Staff is well trained and with and old-school approach that i like very much. For sure a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Thorsten Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future. Yours in Hospitality. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed one night on our way from Zimbabwe and back to Europe. The hotel has a classic atmosphere, in the lobby, the rooms, etc. Room was nice and clean. Bar was cozy with very friendly staff. Restaurant was OK, but rather expensive. Staff were a bit slow and not coordinated (came and asked the same questions from different sides).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Lars Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged. We are disappointed to hear that the dinner service did not meet your expectations and I do apologise for the inconvenience... More

Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We only stayed here one night as we were attending a wedding nearby but we found it to be a great hotel. The gardens and surrounds are lovely, the staff all very helpful and efficient and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the new wing and didn't have any complaints about the room at all. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Buzzah Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged. We look forward to seeing you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future. Yours in hospitality, Chris Schutte More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have been at this hotel for almost a week and love it. The service has been outstanding since the moment I made my reservation. After check in, the front desk graciously changed my room from the new wing to the main building - a very nice suite with a balcony. I booked the new wing based on reviews here,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann S, Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged. We look forward to seeing you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future. Yours in hospitality Chris Schutte... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I was once again very happy with the Sunnyside Park. My room in the new wing was outstanding. Well appointed and comfortably furnished. The well equipped gym is, for me, a big plus. I would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nevvy Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your stay and accommodation. I am delighted you enjoyed using our gym. Our regular guests are very important to us and we appreciate your support. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sunnyside Park Hotel. Yours in hospitality Chris Schutte General Manager More

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Visited this hotel one night on a business trip. The hotel is a beautful colonial building and has a beautiful front yard with a small swimming pool. We arrived almost at midnight, but were assisted promply by friendly and very polite reception staff. The room service was still able to put together a very decent burger that we could have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TrippinThom Many thanks for this great feedback and for taking the time to post this review. I have passed on your comments to my team who are always grateful that their hard work and service is acknowledged. We look forward to seeing you back at the Sunnyside Park Hotel in the near future. Yours in hospitality Chris Schutte General... More

Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is terribly old. There is old and then there is old. Unfortunately the Sunnyside Park has not been upgraded or touched in any way since it first opened and it shows in the rooms. I stayed in room 313 on the third floor - it was absolutely disgusting. There were holes in the carpet, stains on the duvet,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AdelsK Thank you for the feedback. Yes, the hotel is very old… it was built in 1895 and is a Victorian-style Monument Status Hotel. However to say that it ‘has not been upgraded or touched in any way since it first opened’ is not accurate. I am sorry that you were so disappointed in your room, and I feel... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our visit to this quaint heritage hotel was a bit disappointing. We did not stay at the hotel but wanted to enjoy a drink before our tour. My daughter ordered a passion fruit which she enjoyed after a long wait. My order was a simple hot choc to which the waiter took a while to come back and tell me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MirindaK I’m extremely disappointed that your meal and the service you received were so below standard, and would like to make it up to you. My PA will contact you directly in this regard. We are addressing all your concerns and I hope to be able to prove to you that what you experienced is not the norm. Yours... More

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times on my visits to Jo'burg. The hotel has a very good location in a quiet neighborhood. The colonial look and feel is charming and I particularly liked relaxing at the lounge, though it could get noisy at times! Staff are polite and helpful (although you may have to incessantly call them or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris S, General Manager at Sunnyside Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Na0mi_Wa Thank you for the great feedback. It is always nice to receive compliments from regular guests and we hope you continue to stay with us when you visit Joburg. I have noted your comment about getting the attention of the staff and passed it on to my team. Hopefully you will notice an improvement next time you are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunnyside Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunnyside Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyside Park Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Parktown | 2 York Road, Johannesburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunnyside Park Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sunnyside Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Park Johannesburg
Hotel Sunnyside Park

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Johannesburg with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#26 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The historically restored Johannesburg hotel, the Sunnyside Park Hotel has been completely refurbished to capture the elegance and charm of a by-gone era. Built in 1895 in a Victorian-style, the hotel is centrally located providing the business executive and the leisure traveller with easy access to the Johannesburg CBD, Rosebank, Sandton and the Johannesburg International Airport ... more   less 
Number of rooms
154

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunnyside Park Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer