We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in late January. The room I had was spacious with separate bedroom and living area. The room was cleaned daily and was spotless. The location is great, at least from airport. Breakfast was average. You may choose between english and continental breakfast. There is no restaurant in this hotel, so if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Markku R
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

Our party of six recently stayed here for five nights. The units are in an enclosed complex and we always felt safe. The units are comfortable and spacious and the WiFi in our rooms was excellent.. We enjoyed the modest breakfast included in our rate. All the staff we encountered were friendly. The hotel is in a good location. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank JasonNeuendorff
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Jason. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
395 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Perfect location for central Johannesburg without being in the actual CBD. One traffic light away from the circular freeway and the highway to the airport and 5 minutes from an enormous shopping center. A gym is available in the complex for a fee. Rooms are standard Courtyard chain fare; large, well-equipped, clean to the point of sterility. Good bed, good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BadgerCT
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

The hotel is business park like area separated from Eastgate mall by a flea market type area, but once inside the hotel gates, environment is pleasant and secure. Rooms are very clean and are kept that way. The staff is welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast is well laid out and service good. No dinner service but you can order from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexmarufu
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Piet Retief, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

Attention from Bronwyn, the GM, from the first day of my enquiry was excellent - and carried through to our arrival. Incredible warm welcome from efficient staff. Very comfortable, exceptionally clean accommodation. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank penny n
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Penny and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

I was attending a conference (accompanied by my husband) in Johannesburg and stayed at the Courtyard Eastgate. It was my first experience of their facilities and I was impressed with the facilities, the cleanliness and the friendly staff. The renovations that were being undertaken at the time did not affect us at all. The breakfast spread was beautiful and at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miz_Sindisiwe
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Summerville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Mu husband and myself arrived at the hotel around 8:00 pm for a one night layover before we headed out early the next morning to the airport. While checking in the man behind the desk said his credit card machine was not working so he made a hard copy with the swipe machine. We did not leave the hotel that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Connie H
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly look into this matter on your behalf and for our own edification. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

A depressing joint - the furnishings are clean but outdated, the TV is tiny, there is a noisy extractor fan in the bathroom which drives you crazy, a broken shower door and a soft, useless mattress which leaves you screaming for a chiropractor the following morning. Although it's a centrally convenient location, the view from your patio is a deserted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Note T
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will certainly look into the matters you have raised, especially regarding the shower door, mattress and extractor fan. Please note that the former Bruma Lake site is in the process of being redeveloped, which we believe will be positive for the hotel and other... More 

Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayes at courtyard hotel in august 2014. We enjoyed it very much. Nice rooms, great facilities, very helpful staff. We really enjoed the free drinks sesion from 17 to 19. They also have free shutle to the mall. It was great. The only thing that could bother you could be the lake behind the hotel, it smells a bit.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anita_BCluj
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy you enjoyed the rooms and found the facilities up to scratch - we're also pleased you enjoyed helpful service from our staff. It's also great that you took advantage of our shuttle service and the complimentary drinks! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard on 3 January 2014. First impressions are good but the hotel is looking tired in places. The paving around the pool was loose, top of the table on the patio completely loose from the table, the pool was beginning to go green. Like others have echoed, the lake is horrible! On the positive side, the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty45
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
4.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.3 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#14 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#31 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#5 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay