We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

4.0 of 5 Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
3
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayes at courtyard hotel in august 2014. We enjoyed it very much. Nice rooms, great facilities, very helpful staff. We really enjoed the free drinks sesion from 17 to 19. They also have free shutle to the mall. It was great. The only thing that could bother you could be the lake behind the hotel, it smells a bit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy you enjoyed the rooms and found the facilities up to scratch - we're also pleased you enjoyed helpful service from our staff. It's also great that you took advantage of our shuttle service and the complimentary drinks! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard on 3 January 2014. First impressions are good but the hotel is looking tired in places. The paving around the pool was loose, top of the table on the patio completely loose from the table, the pool was beginning to go green. Like others have echoed, the lake is horrible! On the positive side, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my first stay at the Courtyard Hotel. First impressions of the hotel was the garden is well maintained and beautiful. Check in was quick and efficient. The room that I stayed in was spacious and well furnished. The only thing that I did not like was the smell that eminates from the "lake" or "pond" or whatever it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. The lake has been an issue for some time, but we're hoping that new plans will soon be implemented to reduce its impact. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again as a guest. More 

Orapa, Botswana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

the location area, size of hotel, staff,ulala barman, kitchen zonke reception and management are so convinient and very warm, i was on a business trip but watch e space i am coming with my family but the lake should be taken care of than to let it die, there they need environment care and conservation programme.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review - we look forward to your next visit. More 

Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this boutique hotel in Oct '13. Staff was pleasant and very helpful, lounge and dining area were lovely, and room was very nice. Surrounding gardens were also very beautiful. However, the awful smell emanating from the "sludge pond" behind this facility permeated everything, and was enough to make one actually gag. If you are tempted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - Bruma Lake has been an issue for some time, but there are plans to sort it out; we hope this happens soon! More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been to this hotel 2 weeks in May 2013. The hotel presents the following good points: - The rooms are spacious, clean and provided with kitchenette for people who are interested in cooking light dishes. - Breakfast contains multiple choices with a live cooking station. - The staff is very attentive to customers and are very open for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. There are plans afoot to redevelop the lake - so we are really hoping that these materialise. More 

Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate my birthday not to far away from home. This hotel turned out to be a very good choice. We experienced this Courtyard Hotel to be spotlessly clean with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious with a fully equipped kitchenette. The rooms each have a patio overlooking Bruma Lake. If you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind and comprehensive review of our hotel - come and visit us again soon.! More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

While this hotel ticks all the boxes that one would expect from a traveller, you are left with the impression hat it does nothing more and that it is really a bit tired and in need of a refit. The hotel is well located with easy access to freeways and OR Thambo airport. The room is spacious comprising a lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your considered review of our hotel - we will certainly take into account the points you have raised. More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
96 hotel reviews
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a long flight and were very well recieved by the all the staff. They were great and a wealth of information. The area is beautiful and seems quite safe. We didn't have even a hint of problems or ever feel uncomfortable. The people in the neighbourhood are very friendly and watch out for you.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your generous comments about our hotel and its location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again - at this hotel or at another hotel in our group. More 

New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was used as a stopover from the US onway to safari in Botswana. The hotel is a 15 minute drive from Tambo airport. Negatives: Surly, uninviting welcome; bar area was uninviting. The room was quite awful. We weren't prepared for how dirty the room was, let alone the bugs - many of them. Room smelled of mildew. Needs some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your overall stay, but glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. We will be looking into the points you have raised to see what can be done to provide an improved service. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Courtyard Hotel Eastgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Address: Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Hotel Eastgate 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Courtyard Hotel Eastgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Eastgate Hotel Johannesburg
Courtyard Johannesburg
Johannesburg Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay