We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    5
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
3
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is business park like area separated from Eastgate mall by a flea market type area, but once inside the hotel gates, environment is pleasant and secure. Rooms are very clean and are kept that way. The staff is welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast is well laid out and service good. No dinner service but you can order from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Piet Retief, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Attention from Bronwyn, the GM, from the first day of my enquiry was excellent - and carried through to our arrival. Incredible warm welcome from efficient staff. Very comfortable, exceptionally clean accommodation. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Penny and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Mbabane, Swaziland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I was attending a conference (accompanied by my husband) in Johannesburg and stayed at the Courtyard Eastgate. It was my first experience of their facilities and I was impressed with the facilities, the cleanliness and the friendly staff. The renovations that were being undertaken at the time did not affect us at all. The breakfast spread was beautiful and at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Summerville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Mu husband and myself arrived at the hotel around 8:00 pm for a one night layover before we headed out early the next morning to the airport. While checking in the man behind the desk said his credit card machine was not working so he made a hard copy with the swipe machine. We did not leave the hotel that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly look into this matter on your behalf and for our own edification. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

A depressing joint - the furnishings are clean but outdated, the TV is tiny, there is a noisy extractor fan in the bathroom which drives you crazy, a broken shower door and a soft, useless mattress which leaves you screaming for a chiropractor the following morning. Although it's a centrally convenient location, the view from your patio is a deserted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will certainly look into the matters you have raised, especially regarding the shower door, mattress and extractor fan. Please note that the former Bruma Lake site is in the process of being redeveloped, which we believe will be positive for the hotel and other... More 

Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayes at courtyard hotel in august 2014. We enjoyed it very much. Nice rooms, great facilities, very helpful staff. We really enjoed the free drinks sesion from 17 to 19. They also have free shutle to the mall. It was great. The only thing that could bother you could be the lake behind the hotel, it smells a bit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We're happy you enjoyed the rooms and found the facilities up to scratch - we're also pleased you enjoyed helpful service from our staff. It's also great that you took advantage of our shuttle service and the complimentary drinks! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard on 3 January 2014. First impressions are good but the hotel is looking tired in places. The paving around the pool was loose, top of the table on the patio completely loose from the table, the pool was beginning to go green. Like others have echoed, the lake is horrible! On the positive side, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my first stay at the Courtyard Hotel. First impressions of the hotel was the garden is well maintained and beautiful. Check in was quick and efficient. The room that I stayed in was spacious and well furnished. The only thing that I did not like was the smell that eminates from the "lake" or "pond" or whatever it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. The lake has been an issue for some time, but we're hoping that new plans will soon be implemented to reduce its impact. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again as a guest. More 

Orapa, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

the location area, size of hotel, staff,ulala barman, kitchen zonke reception and management are so convinient and very warm, i was on a business trip but watch e space i am coming with my family but the lake should be taken care of than to let it die, there they need environment care and conservation programme.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review - we look forward to your next visit. More 

Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this boutique hotel in Oct '13. Staff was pleasant and very helpful, lounge and dining area were lovely, and room was very nice. Surrounding gardens were also very beautiful. However, the awful smell emanating from the "sludge pond" behind this facility permeated everything, and was enough to make one actually gag. If you are tempted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - Bruma Lake has been an issue for some time, but there are plans to sort it out; we hope this happens soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.8 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
2.3 mi away
Genesis Suites
Genesis Suites
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Court Eastgate
Garden Court Eastgate
#27 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#31 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#32 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay