We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Hotel Eastgate

Zulberg Close, off Ernest Oppenheimer Road | Bruma Lake, Johannesburg 2100, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added Courtyard Hotel Eastgate to your Saves list

At a glance

58%
Positive reviews?
KEY AMENITIES
Room Service
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
See all

HOTEL PHOTOS

Courtyard Hotel Eastgate
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      11
      4
      7
      2
      2
    See reviews for
    5
    3
    4
    9
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      4 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4 of 5 stars
    • Value
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • German first
    • Russian first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (26)
    • Mar-May only
      (3)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (6)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (10)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (7)
    All months
    Piet Retief, South Africa
    Level Contributor
    38 reviews
    8 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Attention from Bronwyn, the GM, from the first day of my enquiry was excellent - and carried through to our arrival. Incredible warm welcome from efficient staff. Very comfortable, exceptionally clean accommodation. Strongly recommend this hotel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thank you for staying with us Penny and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

    Mbabane, Swaziland
    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

    I was attending a conference (accompanied by my husband) in Johannesburg and stayed at the Courtyard Eastgate. It was my first experience of their facilities and I was impressed with the facilities, the cleanliness and the friendly staff. The renovations that were being undertaken at the time did not affect us at all. The breakfast spread was beautiful and at... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

    Summerville, Georgia
    Level Contributor
    6 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

    Mu husband and myself arrived at the hotel around 8:00 pm for a one night layover before we headed out early the next morning to the airport. While checking in the man behind the desk said his credit card machine was not working so he made a hard copy with the swipe machine. We did not leave the hotel that... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thank you for staying with us. We will certainly look into this matter on your behalf and for our own edification. More 

    Cape Town Central, South Africa
    Level Contributor
    5 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

    A depressing joint - the furnishings are clean but outdated, the TV is tiny, there is a noisy extractor fan in the bathroom which drives you crazy, a broken shower door and a soft, useless mattress which leaves you screaming for a chiropractor the following morning. Although it's a centrally convenient location, the view from your patio is a deserted... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will certainly look into the matters you have raised, especially regarding the shower door, mattress and extractor fan. Please note that the former Bruma Lake site is in the process of being redeveloped, which we believe will be positive for the hotel and other... More 

    Cluj-Napoca, Romania
    Level Contributor
    11 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

    We stayes at courtyard hotel in august 2014. We enjoyed it very much. Nice rooms, great facilities, very helpful staff. We really enjoed the free drinks sesion from 17 to 19. They also have free shutle to the mall. It was great. The only thing that could bother you could be the lake behind the hotel, it smells a bit.... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thank you for the great review. We're happy you enjoyed the rooms and found the facilities up to scratch - we're also pleased you enjoyed helpful service from our staff. It's also great that you took advantage of our shuttle service and the complimentary drinks! We hope to see you again soon. More 

    Knysna, South Africa
    Level Contributor
    47 reviews
    21 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

    We stayed at the Courtyard on 3 January 2014. First impressions are good but the hotel is looking tired in places. The paving around the pool was loose, top of the table on the patio completely loose from the table, the pool was beginning to go green. Like others have echoed, the lake is horrible! On the positive side, the... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Cape Town Central, South Africa
    Level Contributor
    26 reviews
    17 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

    This was my first stay at the Courtyard Hotel. First impressions of the hotel was the garden is well maintained and beautiful. Check in was quick and efficient. The room that I stayed in was spacious and well furnished. The only thing that I did not like was the smell that eminates from the "lake" or "pond" or whatever it... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thank you for your kind review. The lake has been an issue for some time, but we're hoping that new plans will soon be implemented to reduce its impact. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again as a guest. More 

    Orapa, Botswana
    1 review
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

    the location area, size of hotel, staff,ulala barman, kitchen zonke reception and management are so convinient and very warm, i was on a business trip but watch e space i am coming with my family but the lake should be taken care of than to let it die, there they need environment care and conservation programme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thanks so much for your kind review - we look forward to your next visit. More 

    Saint Simons Island, Georgia
    Level Contributor
    98 reviews
    10 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

    Spent 2 nights at this boutique hotel in Oct '13. Staff was pleasant and very helpful, lounge and dining area were lovely, and room was very nice. Surrounding gardens were also very beautiful. However, the awful smell emanating from the "sludge pond" behind this facility permeated everything, and was enough to make one actually gag. If you are tempted to... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review - Bruma Lake has been an issue for some time, but there are plans to sort it out; we hope this happens soon! More 

    Zurich, Switzerland
    Level Contributor
    38 reviews
    26 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

    I have been to this hotel 2 weeks in May 2013. The hotel presents the following good points: - The rooms are spacious, clean and provided with kitchenette for people who are interested in cooking light dishes. - Breakfast contains multiple choices with a live cooking station. - The staff is very attentive to customers and are very open for... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Eastgate, responded to this review

    Thank you for your comments and for staying with us. There are plans afoot to redevelop the lake - so we are really hoping that these materialise. More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    22 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (10)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (4)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (4)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (1)
    Viewed
    Other (1)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (12)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (3)
    Viewed
    Dining (1)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (3)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (1)
    Viewed
    Other (4)
    Check In Check Out
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
    0.8 mi away
    Mercure Suites Bedfordview
    3.1 mi away
    The Residence Boutique Hotel
    The Residence Boutique Hotel
    #1 of 71 in Johannesburg
    5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
    2.3 mi away
    Genesis Suites
    Genesis Suites
    #13 of 71 in Johannesburg
    4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    4.5 mi away
    The Reef Hotel
    The Reef Hotel
    #33 of 71 in Johannesburg
    3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
    4.1 mi away
    Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
    4.8 mi away
    Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Price Your Stay