We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Hotel Rosebank

Cnr Oxford& Tyrwhitt Ave | Rosebank, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    52
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
13
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a single night. Loved the senerity of the hotel and the location being opposite to the rose bank mall. Don't miss the open bar every evening. The food was adequate and the staff were polite and helpful. Overall a pleasant hotel to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for 2 nights during July 2015. Overall, it was a very good stay and I probably would return if we were able to get a similar deal again. Finding a decent hotel in Johannesburg can be challenging because it's not entirely clear which neighborhoods are safe and the ones you should avoid.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive and positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Free glass of sherry when you check in, the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is situated next to the Gautrain station (Airport Link) and the Rosebank Mall which has restaurants, numerous shops etc. and near main roads making access quite easy although initially it is a little hard to find the entrance. The rooms were spacious and comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I checked in in the early hours of Sunday morning and was dealt with by a rather surly man at front desk who seemed irritated at having to do his job at that time of day. I was shown to my room by the same person who let me in through the front gate, who I assume to be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your very comprehensive review. We sincerely apologise for the reception you received at this hotel. We will certainly be looking into the points that you have raised as our aim is to provide our customers with quality, friendly and value for money service at all times. Please note that breakfast is not... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I usually stat at the Courtyard on Business. The rooms on the upper level maybe better, because I have had no complaints. I stayed in Block D on the ground floor right hand side room, and it was a horrendous. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller. There were two spiders in the bathroom. The bathroom has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the room up to standard – from a space point of view and the shower. We will look into this. While we’re glad you enjoyed our breakfast, we’re unhappy that although you found some of our staff friendly and proactive, some you did not.... More 

Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The unit was very clean, but one has to be persistent in what you would like with the staff. The first inclination is for them to say, 'no' or 'not available'. We were able to entertain in the suites living room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We will definitely take your suggestions into consideration as we continually strive to improve our customer service and satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back soon More 

White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

The main reason I will never go back is the simply awful shower-over-the-bath, and no air conditioner or fan in the bedroom and bathroom. The one bedroomed suite that we had is compact, and the surroundings pleasant enough. The staff were very nice. However, who on earth puts in a bath with a shower (non-detachable) over it? Take it out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that the bathroom facilities were not to your liking. We will definitely take your suggestions into consideration as we continually strive to improve our customer service and satisfaction. Thanks you for your kind comments about our staff. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015 via mobile

A first class hotel. Friendly staff, delicious food, clean comfortable rooms - "home from home". Close to the Gautrain, the Rosebank Mall.I csn most definitely recommend this Hotel to local visitors and overseas tourists.See you again in the future.Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your support and lovely review Jenny. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again... More 

Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

My husband and i stayed here over the Easter holidays in one of the 2 bedroom apartments, each room with its own bath and shower, apartment has a small fully equipped kitchen with complimentary coffee, cookies and water. It worked very well for us especially that we had 2 kids. The service was excellent, place is very clean, breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us! We are also glad that you found all the facilities on offer adequate, found our staff helpful and hotel location convenient! We look forward to welcoming back soon... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The hotel is well situated in Rosebank across from The Zone and Rosebank malls. The property is laid out like garden apartments, meaning several small buildings rather than one hotel tower. Because of this layout, you will get wet if it's raining outside when walking to/from the main building or when your taxi comes for you. I saw other reviews... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
City Lodge G, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Hotel Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for the constructive review! We are so glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and next time we recommend you join us for the Happy Hour... a great way to relax in the evening. Thanks again for your support More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#22 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
3.4 mi away
Genesis Suites
Genesis Suites
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay