We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

5.0 of 5 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    102
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
37
101
29
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (336)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (74)
All months
There are newer reviews for African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've been using the hotel for business travel for a few years now and it never disappoints. It can just as well work for a leisure trip. The location is safe with a plethora of great restaurants on your doorstep. The rooms are spacious and it seems that a lot of work was done to ensure that you don't hear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ColdAvis Business or leisure I am elated to hear that the TEAM are up to it! The Melrose Arch precinct is an excellent destination in JHB. I am sure you will enjoy our new restaurant in 2013 – we cannot wait to host you again! Safe travels! Jean-Claude & TEAM More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were very impressed with the interior design of this hotel, it's location and the management and staff who run the place. Sometimes contemporary design often fails to impress but not here. Our room was a delight and contained all the modern facilities you needed. The bathroom with it's rubber ducks and candle points was superbly laid out. We ate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kempr52 Thank you for your amazing feedback – the TEAM are delighted to hear that you had such an incredible experience! We cannot wait to unveil our newly refurbished restaurant in Feb 2013! We have taken note of your movie preference for your return visit - it was a pleasure to host you! See you soon! Jean-Claude & TEAM More

London United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here using a two for one voucher on prokard gold account. Given I was getting this was my stag weekend and meant to be a massive treat! I wish I hadn't bothered as severely let down!!! At check in was told I had been upgraded to a "suite" room and this wasn't the case. I was in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Watmough Thank you very much for taking the time to discuss your stay with me. The TEAM have looked into all the points mentioned, and the necessary steps have been implemented to ensure this does not happen again. Please accept my sincere apology for the experience - I look forward to personally welcoming you back! Best regards Jean-Claude... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ideally situated near restaurants and in the midst of the hip Melrose precinct. The standout features are the tables in the pool for a "dipping" experience whilst dining. The Library Bar for its intimacy and ambiance. Regretfully a heavy downpour of rain did create havoc. The two rooms we were initially checked into had water leaking in and the Melrose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seedat After an incredibly stormy weekend….your excellent feedback was well received by the TEAM! We really appreciate your amazing comments and for staying with us! When situations like this arise, it is how we react, the TEAM were equal to the task. Please accept my apology for the power issues experienced during your stay, we were affected by the... More

Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Melrose Arch Hotel for two nights in October and it is a fabulous contemorary hotel. We had a deluxe room which was very impressive, infact as nice a room as I have ever stayed in, for me it had the wow factor. The bathroom and shower were superb and came with it's own rubber ducks which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suffolk Stella My TEAM really appreciate your kind words, and are elated to hear that you had such an incredible experience at our hotel! We have some exciting developments at the hotel coming soon, to ensure that we continue to offer a unique and dynamic product to all who visit! I look forward to welcoming you back – safe... More

namibia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a really good hotel and it is conveniently located. The design detail is beautiful. the rooms are fantastic. Staff are well trained and very professional. The only complaint I have is that our room keys would be cancelled every afternoon and we both ended up going back to the front desk every afternoon, after first trying the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Globaltraveller62 Love your comment - fantastic, well trained, professional - music to my ears! I am extremely proud that the TEAM delivered such an amazing experience for you to enjoy such a memorable stay at our hotel! We have had our entire door lock system audited, to resolve the inconvenience caused with your key, please accept my apologies for... More

St Albans, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Melrose Arch for one night on a transit to the Game Reserve. The hotel was recommended by the travel agent as I did not know where to stay in Joburg in terms of safety. The hotel is in a little gated town where all the restaurants, shopping malls, office blocks, hotels and apartments are in one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kaymet We are the one!! Thanks for your excellent feedback! The hotel is also very close to all major logistical access points in JHB – we offer a courtesy shuttle Monday’s through Friday’s to the Sandton Gautrain station. I am very pleased to hear you had such a great stay, and wonderful experience, in our beautiful country! Thank you... More

BenAhmed
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice, once for one night, then a week later for 2 nights. The front desk team were great, on hand to offer any support needed. The door staff so polite and very helpful. Evan? has a great team of waiters and they are very keen to ensure you have a great meal. The breakfast really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben Ahmed Everyday should start with Bubbly and Oysters! What makes us proud, and keeps us on our toes are service related comments. The TEAM continue to work on service delivery to ensure that your experience at the hotel is memorable. We are elated with your feedback, thank you for staying with us while in JHB – we look... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've used this hotel on quite a few occasions and most likely to use it on several more. The location is great and some really good restaurants just across the road - one is spoilt for choice. The Orient, which serves pan-Asian cuisine is by far one of the best places I have sampled eastern cuisine in. Moyo, the African... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
APMelroseArch, General Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MiiTMO Thanks for your amazing feedback and for staying with us while in JHB! I am sure you will enjoy the new extended vegetarian options we have recently added to our Library Bar menu, our March Restaurant has also just won best dish of 2012, at the Taste of Johannesburg. The Hotel and Melrose Arch precinct has a myriad... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel

Address: 1 Melrose Square, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel Johannesburg
African Pride Melrose Arch Johannesburg

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay