We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 71 Johannesburg hotels

Genesis Suites and Conferencing

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Genesis Suites and Conferencing to your Saves list
Genesis Suites and Conferencing
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
86%
Ranked #13 of 71 hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
  • Reviews (100)
  • Photos (84)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (18)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
35
13
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I cannot fault any of the staff at Genesis. The cleaners did an excellent job - even returning to turn down the bed during the evening! The reception staff were extremely helpful, from ordering cabs, booking tours - even finding out the weather. The only slightly downside was the lack of functioning wifi in the rooms but the wifi did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service and support, the accommodation as well as the conference facilities were great! Our lunches and refreshments at the conference facility was good. The menu available for dinner was unfortunately a disappointment. I will next time not include dinner in my booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay. My sincere apologies for not exceeding all your expectations and in particular dinner at the Fairmount Grill. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay and conferencing at Genesis Conference Centre. We look forward to welcoming... More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently returned from 10 days at Genesis. Great location for our purposes. Room was nice,clean & comfortable; we were supplied with all cutlery, crockery, microwave, fridge etc. however NO TABLE & CHAIRS TO EAT ON! Staff were friendly & competent, but reception staff totally disinterested (they were rude enough to look away whilst talking to you). Great food shopping &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review Genesis Suites & Conferencing on Trip Advisor. While we are pleased that you find our suites comfortable and well equipped, it troubles us to hear that your stay in general was not a memorable one. We do undertake to address all of our guests` criticisms and have made... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 10 days at Genesis.Staff in general friendly however the front desk/reception staff could improve. Maintenance was carried out promptly which was pleasing.Room was nice,clean & comfortable.The water & biscuits provided when beds were turned down at night was a nice touch. Found the room we were allocated (No. 3) noisy as it directly over the open air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete a Trip Advisor Review following your recent stay here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we... More

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved every minute of our stay at Genesis suites. It is central and we were able to go out for the day and return to our rolled down sheets with a little something special placed on our pillows. Place was always clean, staff super friendly. We had everything we needed and it was very affordable. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Nico Steenkamp More

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Based in Joburg for 5 days the suites were perfect for work and well appointed for rest. The facilities are excellent as is the service and security. Not the best location for bars and restaurants, but I was not looking for that on this trip. Fully kitted out kitchen. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing. We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing that our guests feel... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Four days of my stay at Genesis was just like one day because of hospitality and care provided. Staff are responsive and driven by desire to see their guests are satisfied. It was like home ome away from home. Thank you very much or Asante Sana in my Swahili Language

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Nico Steenkamp More

Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Did not know what to expect. On arrival was warmly welcomed by the staff. The suites are very tastefully furnished and comfortable. Fully equipped kitchen, dinning room, lounge, 2 bedrooms, main bedroom en suite. the main bedroom en- suite is open plan. A real home from home experience. Small gym with the relevant equipment. Even though it is self catering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer Thank you for reviewing Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us.It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites! Kind Regards Nico Steenkamp More

Regina, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the time I entered I wanted to leave, but had paid upfront for 2 days. I think in an attempt to appear modern, the facility felt very institutionalized (almost prison-like) and very cold. The hallways were dark and there was water all over the tiles so I almost slipped multiple times. The noise carried since there was no carpeting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer Thank you for reviewing Genesis Suites & Conferencing following your stay with us. We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make. It will give us great... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The suites were modern, fully furnished and well placed in terms of location. We really had a great stay. My only gripe would be a lack of signage explaining to a guest where to go once they arrive. Took a while to find the correct parking lot and then the hotel reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We hope that we can welcome you back to Genesis Suites in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Nico Steenkamp More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Genesis Suites and Conferencing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Genesis Suites and Conferencing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis Suites and Conferencing

Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel
Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis Suites and Conferencing 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis Suites and Conferencing offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa’s economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Genesis Suites and Conferencing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg #8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg #12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg #14 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis Suites and Conferencing offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa’s economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
43

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.