We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    216
    68
    38
    27
See reviews for
39
111
32
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (495)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
See the most recent reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very comfortable stay. The hotel was very convenient for our requirements and in excellent condition throughout. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The place had a great vibe with unusual/funky decor. Breakfast was top drawer!! A minor downside was that our room only had a shower and no bath but that didn't detract from an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Dazzler1974 Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. As you are aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Therefore we can’t thank you enough for taking the time to post your incredible... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Melrose Arch is a fancy and behind the fence neighbourhood quite isolated from the city. Protea Fire&Ice is the best choice if you decide to stay there. It's located within this compound surrounded by cafes, shops and great restaurants. Whole area is monitored and guarded 24/7. The hotel is not big, which gives you feel of a more personal atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Klarita15 Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. Your comments are truly exceptional and we have passed your commendations on to the TEAM as it is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.... More 

Oxfordshire, England
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This is a very stylish hotel in the Melrose Arch area of Johannesburg. It felt very safe and secure which was a godsend following some of the 'stories' we had heard about Jo'Burg. The rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable. Yes, the shower arrangements are unusual but there is a curtain to draw across, I just wouldn't recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Travelozzy Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor and providing us with your outlook on both our physical features and services that are our product offers. The TEAM we were most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and more importantly that you felt safe within the Hotel and the Melrose Arch Precinct.... More 

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

No complaints at all with this hotel and we loved everything about it. The design/decor was contemporary and edgy and we loved every bit of it. It's within the gated environment of Melrose Arch and is very safe with access to real good restaurants. The service was amazing as well. Basically, no complaints at all and we got it for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Live_It_Ez Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. We would just like to express our thanks for your words of appreciation. At The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, we take pride in delivering the best GUEST service and commit ourselves to getting... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I tried to be sooo positive about this place.If you have business in the area of Melrose Arch, it's convenient and clean,I suppose acceptable,convenience of shops.I found it uninviting. If you have a family,or just in relax mode,rather go to Sandton.The Southern Sun Hotels are cheaper for similar rooms.Even the Protea Wanderers better choice.The pool is completely unacceptable for children.Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Mattata1 Thank you for your valued feedback which you posted on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. We are disappointed to hear that you and your family did not enjoy a good experience with us and would like to apologise for not living up to your expectations. Although the hotel... More 

Polokwane, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel and wish we had stayed here longer. The rooms are quirky, and the open plan design suited us perfectly. The hotel is more hip than we are used to, but the atmosphere was great. The receptionist on check in really made us smile, and escorted us to our room when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Ms_Sadien Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. We were most pleased to hear that the atmosphere is great and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right... More 

Florida City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a 4 Star Hotel. The concept for this hotel is very nice. I would tweak a few thing like PRIVATE bathrooms. But, I love the concept and the hotel is beautiful. This hotel is situated in a very good location. It is surrounded by many high end stores and a Woolworth store within walking distance. From the moment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Mangoes112006 Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with an in depth outline as to what transpired during your recent stay with us. We at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch thrive on receiving GUEST feedback, as it is... More 

Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Nice and stylish hotel. Good location with a variety of key stores just around the corner (at walking distance). Good decoration within the rooms. Staff at the restaurant are friendly and very helpful, but the rest of the staff seems a bit slow. Disappointed with the cleanliness part, as in my 3 days stay I had 2 observation, being 1)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Helder K Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. As you are aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. We would just like to express our gratitude that you took the time to convey your constructive criticism, as it is absolutely... More 

Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I think at this point it's important to give you background about why I am such a firm and passionate fan of the Protea Hotels Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch: About 6 months ago I hosted my first event at this Hollywood style hotel for one of my clients - Yogi Sip. This was the start of a very pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Allegra C Thank you for your words of appreciation posted on Trip Advisor. We welcome the fact that you have taken the time to provide the hotel with a detailed overview as to what transpired during your stay. We were ecstatic to receive your compliments and without doubt, we have commended the STAFF for their exemplary service GUEST feedback... More 

Hertfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Sandwiches in the cafe- they are supposed to have something between the slices. Towels by the pool - asked but no response so I dripped back to my room through the lobby. How to get to airport - bus, taxi or metro - nice smiley staff but didn't have a clue. Please just train the staff a bit, and I'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Happy Dell, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the poor dining experience and shortfall in our service levels. We would like to assure you that this is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question