We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Add Photo Write a Review

535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    159
    231
    76
    38
    31
See reviews for
42
123
33
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (535)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for two days as part of our tour. The staff was friendly and attentive and the daily breakfast more than met our needs with fresh fruits, yogurts, hot dishes and an omelette bar. Melrose Arch is a very secure upmarket area and shopping and several restaurant experiences were an easy walk from the hotel. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 5 nights at the fire and ice, Melrose Arch. What a fantastic hotel! Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very close to the city and there are many restaurants, cafes & facilities within a short walk, Tashas has great food. Our room was well designed, modern and clean and despite what other reviews have said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear LukeandNess, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We appreciate your fantastic comments about our hotel. The Melrose Arch precinct has much to offer and the great part is that it’s all on your doorstep. Thank you for embracing the Fire & Ice! experience. I trust that we’ll definitely be seeing you again. Kind Regards, Gabrielle Abrahams General Manager... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must say, my stay at this hotel was very unpleasant, i had no power in room, neither a hairdryer, when i called to report this, nobody assisted me!!! Besides that, the so called room service breakfast which i ordered was really terrible! of which the hotel charges R150. i also had to pay for parking at a cost of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Nazlie K, Thank you taking the time to write a review about our hotel on your most recent stay with us. I am incredibly wretched by your unpleasant experience at the hotel; I sincerely do apologize for this as it is not what we strive for as a brand. Miriam Ryan, my GUEST Relations Manager is currently investigating your... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a perfect place to stay if you feel like a getaway in Joburg. Location is great, Melrose Arch has everything you need. The hotel itself is very trendy. Decor is very over the top but adds to the experience. Staff are unfriendly, milkshakes are amazing and breakfast is what you would expect from a nice hotel. Will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Johanler13, Thank you for providing us with a review on your most recent stay with us. A getaway is always needed and what perfect place than Fire & Ice! We are glad that we were your preferred choice for this occasion. Melrose Arch is an upmarket precinct which boasts a wide variety of high end stores for our GUESTS... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at Protea Hotel is as usual super nice and friendly. They welcome you with a big smile and they try their best to assist you in case of any problem. Also at the bar/restaurant on the first floor the service is courteous and friendly. A big thumb up on the staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear MatteoFoti, Thank you for your review. I am happy you found your stay to be pleasant with our STAFF members making it an even better experience for you. I will most definitely pass on your kind words to them as it brings me and my TEAM so much joy to hear that we were able to meet and exceed... More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on a business trip sometime ago, after staying in a hotel in downtown J'borg, Canal St, this area is clean, tidy and more importantly very safe. The rooms are a touch small, but for a couple of nights its no big deal, the decor was nice, because it is a little different so makes for a talking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Syksey99, Thank you so much for the above review, it is highly appreciated. The configuration of our rooms are style specific with the dramatic black and white theme with splashes of red and clear glass showers to embrace an Old Hollywood Glamour theme that we aim to carry out throughout the whole hotel. We are located in an urban... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our room had a broken fridge, aircon not working and one of the lights had a short. This was reported 3 times, but nothing was done about it untill the night before we left when I made a scene and our last night of a romantic getaway was spent with maintenance in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear doorsie, We appreciate the time taken to write a review about your experience at Fire and Ice! I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the poor show of hospitality at our property. The matters that you have brought to our attention have been addressed with the TEAM, as what you have experienced is not what we... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of 8 of us stayed here for one night in between plane trips. Unfortunately I was quite unwell and was unable to enjoy all that the hotel has to offer. That being said the impressions I got were fantastic! The decor is absolutely amazing- 10/10!! Loved the layout of the rooms and the complimentary drinks vouchers upon Checkin.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear LaurenMc92, What a superb review, thank you so much for sharing your amazing experience with us. I trust that you are feeling much better. We appreciate your fantastic comments about our hotel and are certainly glad that you loved it. The STAFF at Fire & Ice! always make sure our GUESTS feel the warmth of our hospitality. Melrose Arch... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly. But the decoration of the hotel and the rooms is just not for me. Very nice breakfast though. For lunch and dinner the menu is typical hotel menu. The room service was very slow. Everybody was saying the same thing at the crew. But the staff was apologetic and were doing their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Serli M, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and letting us know how your stay was with us. Firstly, please accept my sincere apology regarding all the issues you experienced during your stay with us. The relevant departments will be looked into and addressed to avoid further mishaps in the future. Secondly, we are pleased... More 

Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights in early June 2015, and we had a really pleasant stay. The decor is a bit much (it's like the Kardashians met Beetlejuice), but all the furniture and the bed was really comfortable. The room felt safe (had to use room key for access to the hallway and into the personal rooms). The area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Anastasia, Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am glad that you had a good stay, we are aware that the type of décor is different however it resonates from the Old Hollywood Glamour fitting in with our type of hotel. We are fortunate enough to be conveniently located within the Melrose Arch Precinct, a mere... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

234 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay