We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Share an Experience

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    216
    68
    38
    26
See reviews for
39
111
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (494)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's got some trendy decor but that's where the cool factor begins and ends. They couldn't pick up my voucher when I checked in (thank heavens I had a copy with me otherwise I would have been without accommodation). Then there's no bath and tried to order room service but that never came (after I held the line and spoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a very clean, modern, trendy hotel in a rejuvenated area of Joburg, filled with excellent restaurants. Our room was an open concept design with the shower and sink in the room which could be closed off with a curtain. the toilet had it's own room within the main room. Interesting design, but not the first time we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The standard of this chain is really one you can always trust. Situated within the Melrose Arch precinct, this is an amazing venue whether on business or just a quick breakaway. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious, however if you want to share with a work colleague, be aware that the modern set up has its shower in the open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boksburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a totally disappointing experience. I read a review on Joburg.co.za that this was the place to go to for an amazing breakfast. It was my birthday and went there for breakfast with some friends. Firstly we could not get a decent table for our party. When we got to the buffet there was not much food and a que... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Rhona A, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your most recent experience with us. I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused for a disappointing breakfast experience. Our breakfast buffet is prepared by highly skilled chefs therefore it always bustling during breakfast time, the time that you had... More 

Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh my god! What a amazing job they made creating that hotel! Black and white walls, Hollywood stars on each door, fresh flowers and lovely people working all day and all night! I have a wish that all hotels have that concept of making business. Breakfast or milkshake whatever you order will be simply the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a reservation for Fire & Ice but was told that we were "upgraded" to African Pride down the block. The "upgrade" was to a "5 star hotel". No explanation was given for the "upgrade". We were told there were plumbing problems. However, we assume the hotel was overbooked or for other unexplained reasons. African was clean and as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear S R, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your most recent experience with us and our sister property. We upgrade our valued GUESTS to our 5 star sister property on occasion, the African Pride hotel is a luxurious hotel however we do apologize that the upgrade had short comings. The concerns that you have raised will be... More 

Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We flew in from the Netherlands for a 50th birthday party from a dear friend from ours, who actually invited us not only to the birthday party in the hotel, but to the hotel itself as well! The rooms are modern and very comfortable. The beds are excellent. The whole feel of the hotel is great. We had a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear EnjoyWhenTravelling, I would like to thank you for bringing this concerning incident to our attention. I was most horrified to hear that such a disgraceful occurrence could take place at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch and I cannot apologise enough that such an incident now places a poor impression of what should have been an amazing... More 

New Orleans
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very trendy and popular for the early 20-something set on weekend nights - I'm 30, but when I'm on vacation I like quiet hotels. The hallways were quiet, but the lobby, pool, and bar areas were always bustling. The lobby is a little small to handle the volume they experience. It wasn't bothersome, but if I want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Holly T, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your most recent stay with us. Our hotel’s style and décor is inspired by the ‘Old Hollywood’ chic that is indeed trendy and popular in today’s market. Popular stars are displayed in all areas making one feel like a star in this mini Hollywood. The... More 

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We stayed at Fire and Ice many years ago and loved it. While I imagine the rooms are still amazing, the food has taken a 180 turn for the worst. When we stayed, the burgers were tiny imaginative sliders with a culinary prowess and gourmet spin. We went back to check them out as they were so creative. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Ajarchbald, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel during your recent visit with us. We appreciate you visiting our establishment again after many years have passed however we are truly apologetic that it is not what you had remembered. We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for dropping the ball in... More 

Uvongo, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The attention to detail is what sets the hotel apart from its competitors. The decor is exquisite and the customer service from every member of the staff is top notch. The management team should be very proud as the service is prompt and precise. Would recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay in JHB.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Zaans010, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your most recent stay with us. We appreciate your valued comments about our modern hotel; the décor is inspired by the old Hollywood glamour making all feel glamorous when they enter through our doors. Our exquisite décor is fine tuned to the modern take on the world today therefore we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

188 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (168)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question