We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Johannesburg hotels

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
74%
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
valDubai Dubai
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    185
    56
    29
    19
See reviews for
31
89
26
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (409)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having stayed at this hotel many times I can say it is hit and miss. On first impressions it is a very stylish and quirky hotel but it is let down by very poor service. The front desk staff are very good but thats where it ends. Dining and bar staff make you feel like you are an inconvenience and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The accommodations are great. There is a ton of staff and the bar area doubles as a great lounge where you can drink and listen to music lieu of leaving the hotel to experience nightlife. The area surrounding the hotel seems very safe and there are several restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no shuttle to & from Gautrain Station as per website. For 2k per night, there is no bath. The pool has limited sun loungers & is shared with surrounding apartments. The service is shocking but that is surely management's responsibility. The decor is just make-up - our room's pseudo leather chair had penned graffiti on it. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New, Clean and Elegant place but the service staff could really do with a attitude makeover ....so much attitude from people who are supposed to Serve you its really quite amazing....Had to make an official complaint cause as a paying customer i really cant stand rude service staff ..also very loud place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear RamsaySh, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the good points that you have risen, however we are truly apologetic for the bad experience due to our STAFFS attitude. As a customer at a hotel, it is only mandatory to be welcomed and treated like a super star on all occasions.... More

Celigny, Switzerland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at that hotel for about 10 days. The room and hotel accommodation are wonderful and young waiters very nice. Unfortunately the music at the lounge is too high during all the day and "locals" don't pay attention to other guests. Chaos is the king! Even the people at the front desk are not so polite if you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear RegazzoniV, Thank you so much for the review, it is much appreciated. The rooms are uniquely designed which makes our accommodation facilities attractive and comfortable. The atmosphere at our hotel is created by the GUESTS and us the STAFF; we are the vibe that enlivens the hotel. In addition to the people that create the vibe, we have live... More

Maputo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there already twice on short stays. Its relatively new, clean, comfortable and very convenient location on posh Melrose surroundings with all shops and conveniences you need and some very nice restaurants, all at walking distance from the hotel. I recommend Moyo's restaurant, a really innovative and good African cuisine experience just down the road from the hotel. The bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear zambezi2, Thank you so much for providing us with feedback on your most recent stay with us. We are a modern chic hotel that has been up and running since March 2010, we do our best in all avenues to remain looking fresh and fab on an everyday basis. The hotel is located in the upmarket precinct of Melrose... More

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was very accomodating and went the extra mile from when we booked to departured. It was an out of this world experience. They even went as far as to book us a seperate area in there Milkshake bar restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hotel because of its location,and appealing reviews on the internet. It was suppose to be a lavish way to end an amazing holiday. What a disappointment. Bar/restaurant Walked into the hotel bar the first night to go for dinner; half a dozen bar tenders are all standing around chatting, none approach or welcomed us, we had to ask... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear sme87, We are extremely saddened that we were not able to live up to your expectations set by our normally very positive reviews. I would like to thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of the concerns and with this we know where we are going wrong and can only learn from it! We... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is nicely decorated and all details are carefully chosen to match the Art Deco style of the hotel. When reading about the hotel, I got the impression that it was good for business, but unfortunately the hotel does not have a real business center. The three available computers are part of the bar and close enough from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Salomoi, Thank you for taking the time to highlight your observations of your recent stay with us. I do apologize that we failed to meet and exceed your expectations, we as a hotel boast of services and facilities for both business and leisure GUESTS, however we do understand that we had shortcomings in providing to your business needs and... More

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great, comfortable rooms. Funky decor, similar to W hotels. Service is also modern and relaxed, but good and friendly. Food also good with a nice bar area. Not really a business hotel, more for tourists. I am not the demographis for this hotel, but would recommend it for the younger traveller.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H, It is such a pleasure to read about your experience at our establishment. Our funky hotel is themed in accordance with the old Hollywood Glam, making our GUESTS feels glamorous from the minute they step in to the hotel. The rooms have a modern finish to it creating an environment of comfort and relaxation; our STAFF is... More

Do you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch