We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Johannesburg hotels

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
PlummyDorking Dorking
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    185
    58
    30
    19
See reviews for
32
91
26
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (131)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Dorking
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having used the Fire & Ice consistently for some 18 months I am sorry to say standards have slipped somewhat over my last three stays. Reception remains excellent, however bar service has gone downhill. I don't expect to be told at 11.30pm that I can't have a Baileys because there is a party upstairs and they have the bottle. Seriously?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed over during December 2013. The hotel is situated within the Melrose Arch Precinct and is quite fancily decked out. Service at reception was ok, with pay for parking underground. Rooms are nicely laid out, with a fresh and upbeat feel about them. The noise proofing was quite disappointing though, and even though we where accommodated in one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 3 nights with my fiance and our 1 year old son. It was very nice... I've been to alot of hotels in Johannesburg but for this price it was really good. We ordered dinner at around 21h30 and it was fast, hot and the staff were more than ready to help us. Very friendly. They even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Antoinette Celi… P, Thank you for giving us such an amazing review from your most recent stay with us and it certainly makes all of the effort that we put into our work really worthwhile! It brings me such great pleasure to see how evident it is that you enjoyed what we have to offer in the restaurant from... More

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night only but can highly recommend it. The check-in was quick and perfect, the security gentleman parked my car in the basement for me and the service was excellent all round. I loved my accommodation - very comfortable and different with a great vibe. Breakfast was fresh and delicious with homemade meusli, fresh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear lynnektravel, Thank you for your fabulous review; it is a pleasure to read and to know that we are living up to the finest customer service. We as a TEAM take pride in what we deliver to our GUESTS therefore when our GUESTS approach the hotel we can anticipate and convey the best Fire and Ice! ‘vooma’. The accommodation... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was great!! Very modern chic boutique hotel. They had nice drinks, and a great buffet breakfast. In the middle of Melrose Arch. Very Fancy. Your Lady will like very Sexy.... You get a lot for the buck. Here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear DocSharock, Thank you for taking the time to express your opinions about your recent stay with us. We appreciate such fabulous words; we are indeed modern and chic, thus boasting to a great platform of GUESTS making us the place to be seen in JoBurg. The hotel makes sure that we provide remarkable drinks and meals for our GUESTS... More

Paris, France
Top Contributor
660 reviews 660 reviews
101 hotel reviews
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Simple hotel, conveniently located in Melrose Arch area. Just had it for day-use, for couple of hours so location was key but I will never repeat that mistake: rooms with shower in a middle of a room, poor ventilation so humidity all over the place but most importantly a totally useless and inefficient staff: with six people at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Scipion-Paris, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us; we appreciate your insight. We are fortunate enough to be situated within the Melrose Arch Precinct, we are simply lucky that we are conveniently located a mere walking distance to an array of stores and restaurants from our doorstep; this... More

Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at this hotel many times I can say it is hit and miss. On first impressions it is a very stylish and quirky hotel but it is let down by very poor service. The front desk staff are very good but thats where it ends. Dining and bar staff make you feel like you are an inconvenience and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear valDubai, We appreciate your valuable opinions about our hotel upon your recent stay with us. The hotel acquires its unique quirky décor from the ‘old’ Hollywood chic, the décor resonates throughout the entire the hotel therefore you will find common ‘movie icons’ in the rooms, hallways and the other public areas of the hotel in aid to captivate the... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The accommodations are great. There is a ton of staff and the bar area doubles as a great lounge where you can drink and listen to music lieu of leaving the hotel to experience nightlife. The area surrounding the hotel seems very safe and there are several restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear angelh713, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. Your review was a pleasure to read, we appreciate such wonderful words. The Fire and Ice! hotel boasts great accommodation facilities making our GUESTS feel welcomed on every occasion. The hotel has an exceptional bar & restaurant which swanks a perfect platform for GUESTS to... More

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is no shuttle to & from Gautrain Station as per website. For 2k per night, there is no bath. The pool has limited sun loungers & is shared with surrounding apartments. The service is shocking but that is surely management's responsibility. The decor is just make-up - our room's pseudo leather chair had penned graffiti on it. Our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Glady123, Thank you so much for taking the time to express your concerns of your recent stay with us. There is no excuse for what had transpired during your stay, and we are embarrassed for not making your time with us a memorable one. The décor of our hotel is inspired by the ‘old’ Hollywood Glamour, therefore the dramatic... More

Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

New, Clean and Elegant place but the service staff could really do with a attitude makeover ....so much attitude from people who are supposed to Serve you its really quite amazing....Had to make an official complaint cause as a paying customer i really cant stand rude service staff ..also very loud place

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear RamsaySh, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the good points that you have risen, however we are truly apologetic for the bad experience due to our STAFFS attitude. As a customer at a hotel, it is only mandatory to be welcomed and treated like a super star on all occasions.... More

Do you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch