We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tintswalo at Waterfall

5.0 of 5 Maxwell Drive, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tintswalo at Waterfall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tintswalo at Waterfall
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
11
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Erding
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

After the rave reviews on tripadvisor we expected a lot. We are not disappointet. The entire place is stunning. Wonderful and huge room and bathroom. Very thoughtful ammenities. Great dinner and breakfast with a matching service. We highly recommend the Tintswalo at waterfall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TintswaloCEO, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

We really appreciate your taking the time to submit your review to TripAdvisor, and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Tintswalo at Waterfall so much! We hope you will return one day soon. More 

Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I booked an event for a small group on behalf of a client at this hotel and required a whole lot of changes to the function room set up. Nothing was too much for the Tintswalo Waterfall team. They delivered everything with enthusiasm. What we wanted was so different from the typical function room design but they did not complain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TintswaloCEO, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor - we appreciate hearing from our guests, and are so pleased that you had a great experience at our hotel. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Liptovsky Mikulas, Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

+ everything so stylish, good atmosphere, superb staff, designed as horse stable with high ceiling, room was spacious and airy, king size bed, spacious bathroom as well, 3 different set ups of room during a day :) - NOTHING!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the hotel before leaving SA. Service, food, room, basically everything was perfect. Waiters are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great from the continental to the full breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TintswaloCEO, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback to Tripadvisor - we love hearing from our guests, and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely hope to see you again soon! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Visited this venue for the first time for a conference. It certainly beats the busy city centers. The conference room was tranquil and the view of the field was amazing. We requested extra adapters this was brought immediately. Nothing was a problem for the staff. Our requests were attended timeously and the service was excellent. The food was delicious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TintswaloCEO, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback - it gives us such sense of satisfaction to know that we have met and surpassed expectations. We appreciate hearing from you, and hope to host your group again soon! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

My husband and I visited Tintswalo at Waterfall for a dinner. We heard about this little gem through friends and by god how right they were. The food was exquisite. We received exceptional service and the manager on duty was superb. I had such a beautiful evening and would recommend this hotel to Ll my friends. Thank you for such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TintswaloCEO, Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback - we appreciate the words of encouragement, and will pass on the message to our service and kitchen staff. The chefs will be delighted that you enjoyed the food so much! We hope to see you and your husband again soon! More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Attend to an event at the hotel, no waitresses to take orders, poor quality food, bar area was a mess, unpacking drinks when clients around. We ask for an extension cable for the Astik board room, they brought us 50 cm extension cable. No worth the money you pay. There are much better options for half the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TintswaloCEO, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Dear Adrian A, We are truly saddened to read this review. Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve on service. On behalf on my management and I, we would like to apologize for the poor service levels you experienced. We always strive to deliver exceptional service always. I can... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We had a very important event with our top clients at the Tintswalo in the Waterfall experience in Johannesburg. The problem already started with organizing the event. So unprofessional. Then we arrive at the hotel. What a disaster! First our company's name was wrong on the welcoming board, then the ordered food snacks was not there. No drinks. Not even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TintswaloCEO, General Manager at Tintswalo at Waterfall, responded to this review

Dear rentia2014, Thank you for your feedback posted on TripAdvisor. On behalf of my entire management team and I, we would sincerely like to take this opportunity to apologize for the poor service standards that you experienced during your conference at Tintswalo at Waterfall. This certainly not the standard in which we operate. We have taken cognizance of the points... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Thank you so much to Tintswalo Waterfall for sponsoring my Cuppa for CANSA high tea on 26 July 2014. It was such a huge success, the food was out of this world, the employees were very helpful and welcoming, the overall service was excellent. The hotel itself is gorgeous. It was a huge honour to host my event as such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gaborone, Botswana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is one of my best hotel experiences in my many travels. I stayed at Tintswalo in July for two nights and didnt want to leave at the end of my visit. The hotel is just first class and unique in its own way

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tintswalo at Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo at Waterfall

Address: Maxwell Drive, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo at Waterfall 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Tintswalo at Waterfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay