We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brown Sugar Backpackers

75 Observatory Avenue | Observatory Extension, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Brown Sugar Backpackers
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Loten, Norway
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here two nights, and the place itself is quite nice, but I must say after traveling a month from CT up to Joburg, this was definitely the place with really unfriendly staff that also rips you off. Examples; they have shuttle service, we ordered it for 6 people and the price was suddenly doubled + two people had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iselin W
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in the 18 bed dorm twice, first when arriving in South Africa and second when we was leaving. I would say that this backpackers is a good stop over as we found there's not really much going on in Jo'burg. The dorm itself is great, little weird that the beds are boxed in and a bit small... More 

Helpful?
Thank 24jb9
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location was quite remote. Nearest restaurants were in "Chinatown." Chinatown was very small, unkept area. Hostel had limited seating in common areas which did not help with the atmosphere. Room was fine. Staff was not very accommodating with packed breakfast which is advertised at the hostel. There are better places closer to downtown with much more to offer.

Helpful?
Thank kal818
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, eventhough we were forced to share bed due to overbooking we enjoyed our stay. The way our room was bild was a little strange but with the glass roofing we stil enjoyed it. The pool and breakfast was not special at all, but the place itself is very welkomming and with a nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Malte K
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

We spend 2 months in south africa and it was the worst experience we had. During the first night, 2 guys climbed the wall and entered in the hostel. They stole 2 parts on our car (and on others customer cars), and came in our dorms to stole 2 phones while we were sleeping (with 4 others people in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank littlevadrouille
LiezelRoux, Owner at Brown Sugar Backpackers, responded to this review

The overall security ratings and measurements at our hostel is very high but we had an isolated incident on the day you stayed with us and we did apologise sincerely to you and guests affected at the time. The dorm that you slept in was NOT locked and the only area that the unwelcome men had access to out of... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

Very good hostel! Nice, very helpful and friendly staff! Bookings are handled flexible and on short notice! Good food (hostel offers dinner, as well)! Breakfast buffet was more than enough (eggs are made separately on individual order)! Room and bathroom (shared) were clean! Towels are provided by the hostel! Good and comfortable atmosphere! We would book it again!

Helpful?
1 Thank suedafrika15
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at Brown Sugars for 5 days at the end of August. We had one of the private ensuite rooms which we situated next to the car park. The hostel is really homely and comfortable and the staff were all really helpful and friendly (especially Soloman). The hostel offers a shuttle service which is really convenient... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I had a very enjoyable experience here. The staff are friendly and happy to help if you ask. The rates are reasonable and the rooms comfortable. There is an excellent social setting in the bar, got talking to some folk and had a nice evening. The airport pickup was a nice feature too. The only real problem,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

I tried this place for 2 reasons: free airport pickup & "ex mafia mansion" story. Area is dangerous & out of the way. Staff is unattentive. Their driver tries to charge more than reception quotes, then tells us "ok ok" and tells us not to say anything inside. They also charge R250 for transfer to airport, don't bother, if you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BackpacksAndMiles
LiezelRoux, Owner at Brown Sugar Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. The area is only "dangerous" if you walk into the wrong direction and after dark. We offer cheap shuttles to all areas on the local area map for a slow as R10 per person. The driver that you mention was working on a final written warning and he is no longer employed with us. I... More 

East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

I have spent the last three days at Brown Sugar Backpackers. On arrival we were met by a friendly staff and walking into the foyer it felt as though I. was not in my own country but in a backpackers overseas. We arrived early so our rooms and dorm were not yet ready. They locked our luggage away allowing us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abrie P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#31 of 73 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#5 of 83 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#17 of 83 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
#4 of 83 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Birches Backpackers
The Birches Backpackers
#7 of 83 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities