We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Illovo hotels

Protea Hotel Wanderers

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Wanderers to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Wanderers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
78%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    107
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
20
46
28
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is situated right on a main road which makes sleeping great fun, much traffic noise. The check in was prompt and polite, the reception area is very nice, all white and open with designer furniture. The rooms are pretty standard, I would say at the lower end of 4 star. Biggest annoyance was they don't provide you with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely place with genuine warm people thats the only way they can provide such a good and consistent service....the lovely apples in the room that keep coming simply awesome...they have a wonderful well equipped fitness centre though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear RamsaySh, Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the apples in the Hotel, we place a fresh red apple in every room daily and there is always a bowl of apples in our reception for our GUESTS. We strive to exceed GUESTS' expectations... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here only for one night. The staff was friendly and the food was good. The room was clean and I was nicely surprise with a hand-written welcoming note from the manager. I had a late flight the next day and the hotel allowed me a very late check out (2pm) which I found very generous. The pool is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Salomoi, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food at the Hotel and the clean rooms. We are so pleased that you liked the personalised welcome letter in your room and that we were able to accommodate you with a late check-out. We are... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
66 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for four nights while attending a conference. We enjoyed our stay but were disappointed not to be able to swim. The hotel pool is beautiful but icy cold (I know it is winter in South Africa in August but we were hoping for a heated pool). The rooms were OK but nothing special. The same could be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Barbara707_12, Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are so sorry to hear that you could not enjoy a swim in our beautiful swimming pool during your stay with us in August, regretfully it is not a heated pool however in the Summer months can be quite refreshing to take a dip in especially on those... More

Manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First the hotel is located in the suburbs where most hotels are. Really an unideal location for tourists to explore Joburg. The choice was our mistake of course. The taxi fare according to the staff is R250 one way to downtown! We did not take a cab to downtown. Instead we took a cab from the hotel to the Rosebank... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Janong, Thank you for your review posted here on Trip Advisor. Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies for the disappointment you encountered due to the lack of assistance given when trying to book a taxi. We are most disappointed that the TEAM did not deliver on your request. It certainly is concerning to receive such feedback as we are... More

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very beautiful and very clean with wonderful services. Available TV channels keep you abreast with news and sporting actions from all over the world, the staff are very welcoming and ready to help at all times. And oooh yes, the apples. Any time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Jack O, Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the services available at the Hotel as well the numerous TV channels available in our rooms and that you found our STAFF to be welcoming. We look forward to having you back at the... More

Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I am checking out tomorrow from the Protea Wanderers having spent 3 nights here. I am so impressed by the staff and facility that I decided to offer my review prior to my checkout. Firstly, the facility itself is of the highest standards. The property is located close to the action but just far enough to give you an "exclusive"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Meaty-Yum-Steve, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on Trip Advisor whilst you were still staying with us at the Hotel, reading your review was truly the perfect way to start anyone’s day! You are indeed right when saying our biggest asset is our STAFF and we are extremely delighted to receive... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I was in Johannesburg last week and stayed at the protea hotel wanderers for 3 nights. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good. The rooms were spacious and clean. I can recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear LYNN B, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast at the Hotel and found the STAFF to be friendly and helpful during your stay with us. Thank you very much for your recommendation of the Hotel to other travellers. We look forward... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff were really friendly and helpful, having arrived at the hotel at 4:00 am. The first room we were put into was noisy because of a ventilation malfunction, but they moved us straight away. Room was spacious and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Again the staff were really obliging.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Emanuel G, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies that the air-con made a noise in your room, I am happy to see that the reception STAFF moved you into a quieter room right away. We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us... More

Durban
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have stayed here twice in the last year on business. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. I found the room comfortable, great bed, the window could open and there is a good desk configuration wtih a light and reasonable wifi that makes working in the evening easy. I found the room service limited and therefore had dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Knowthegoodstuff, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at our hotel. It was quite delightful to read your feedback and I will most certainly share it with the rest of my TEAM. Our STAFF are excellence driven thus providing you, the GUEST with the best GUEST service at all... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Wanderers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Wanderers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Wanderers

Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Wanderers 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)