We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Wanderers

4.0 of 5 Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Protea Hotel Wanderers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Wanderers
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    109
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
20
48
29
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we spent a week in October on business. Good hotel, nice staff. There was some confusion over the loyalty card, but it got sorted out. Very nice cleaning staff who cleaned my room. Very friendly. Breakfast was very nice if somewhat pricy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a modern building with a secure car park outside. The gautrain bus from Rosebank station stops directly outside the grounds. My room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Food and service in the restaurant for dinner was good. Breakfast could be somewhat chaotic however with finding a clean table difficult. The gautrain bus and the hotels complimentary shuttle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a night here whilst on a tour. The reception staff were very efficient and we were soon off to our room, which was excellent. (apple in room included.) We had dinner in the restaurant and had a lovely meal with excellent service. The Wanderers club is just the other side of the car park and we walked over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear LinjEastSussex, Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are absolutely delighted to hear that not only were the reception STAFF efficient at check-in and had you settled into your room in no time, but also that the service during your meal in the restaurant was excellent! I am so sorry to hear that the breakfast... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did enjoy my stay at this hotel and will definitely consider this hotel in future. This was my first stay in the many years that I have been travelling to Johannesburg as the prices online are never competitive. I do see why business people would choose this hotel if their company or host was paying the bill. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear GrantH490, Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us at the Protea Hotel Wanderers during your recent visit to Johannesburg, thank you for considering us as your Hotel of choice for future reservations. We are delighted to hear that you found... More

London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had three days at this hotel and I guess i disagree with some of the reviews I've read. It really is a pretty pleasant, decently run hotel. The position is great in the north of Johannesburg and 5/10 minutes from Sandton which has become the center of commerce and shopping in the city. Although close to a busy corner, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Belsizedave, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review here on Trip Advisor. I am so delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you found the room to be comfortable. We are glad to see that you found not only the Hotel but also the food to be reasonably... More

Hermanus, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel for a week. During my first night I awoke with a noise that sounded like construction noise in the roof. Luckily I was so tired i slept through it but did wake up at around 05:00am from the same noise. On the second night I managed to work out the noise emitted from pressure build... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Gustav S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies that you there was a noise that disturbed your sleep not only on one night during your stay but during your entire stay; I am most deeply disappointed to hear that you reported this to the Front... More

Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night before leaving RSA. Ok location, good room, close to Sandton City, secured parking. Service was nothing special - big issue with the internet. It seems they have only vouchers and they definitely did not work, it took us or better them about 2 hours to make it happening. The gym, not easy to find you have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Patricia_St_0602, Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you had an issue with the internet during your stay with us; I have sent your feedback to our Wi-Fi service provider, unfortunately this does not rectify the situation for you but will hopefully be improved for future... More

uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is situated right on a main road which makes sleeping great fun, much traffic noise. The check in was prompt and polite, the reception area is very nice, all white and open with designer furniture. The rooms are pretty standard, I would say at the lower end of 4 star. Biggest annoyance was they don't provide you with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Akdjajaral We are pleased to hear your comment regarding our lobby area. We are however sorry to hear how disappointed you were with our rooms. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we in fact placed an order for new curtains and expect their arrival any day now. We hope you will give us the... More

Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

lovely place with genuine warm people thats the only way they can provide such a good and consistent service....the lovely apples in the room that keep coming simply awesome...they have a wonderful well equipped fitness centre though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear RamsaySh, Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the apples in the Hotel, we place a fresh red apple in every room daily and there is always a bowl of apples in our reception for our GUESTS. We strive to exceed GUESTS' expectations... More

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I stayed here only for one night. The staff was friendly and the food was good. The room was clean and I was nicely surprise with a hand-written welcoming note from the manager. I had a late flight the next day and the hotel allowed me a very late check out (2pm) which I found very generous. The pool is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Salomoi, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food at the Hotel and the clean rooms. We are so pleased that you liked the personalised welcome letter in your room and that we were able to accommodate you with a late check-out. We are... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Wanderers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Wanderers

Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Protea Hotel Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay