We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Wanderers

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2116, South Africa
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Wanderers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Protea Hotel Wanderers
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    118
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
20
52
30
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall a good hotel, with good quality bedrooms and in a good and safe neighborhood in town. Positive attire of the personnel and good ambient. Too bad the perception of the hotel drops due to things like : no water (neither welcome bottles nor minibar) in the room (unacceptable for a 4 star hotel) + thin walls , don't expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Federico D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to hear that you felt safe at the Hotel and in the neighbourhood. We are delighted to hear that you found the rooms to be comfortable and of good quality. Upon reading that you did not have a bottle... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is well situated near both Rosebank and Sandon. They have a shuttle bus that will also fetch you from the airport train station in Rosebank. The rooms are of a generous size and the bathroom well appointed. The hotel is spotlessly clean. WiFi was free. The hotel a a large Gym in the basement that opens early and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear EricJ123, Thank you for taking the time to write your great review here on Trip Advisor. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Hotel facilities met your needs. We try and include different varieties of food at breakfast to suit everyone’s requirements, but try and keep it true to our... More 

Purmerend, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Ups: nice comfy rooms. quiet and a good shower. Downs, Location, bar and pool The rooms are large and good beds an if you have a room on the parkinglot side, the view is not bad at all. On the other hand, the bar in lobby is unispiring, the small pool is next to the restaurant, so you don't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Diaantjebanaantje, Thank you for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and that you enjoyed the shower, the rooms overlooking the Wanderers Club certainly have a great view. It is unfortunate that you found the lobby bar uninspiring and that the pool doesn’t... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I have been staying a few times at the Protea Wanderers hotel since 2003 and have always enjoyed it. It is a nicely decorated hotel with large outside area, unusual for many hotels. You can enjoy the Club pub, outside swimming pool, bowling and a very close proximity to the Protea Wanderers Cricket ground. It is also very conveniently located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear I W, Thank you for posting such a great review here on Trip Advisor. I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback. We are so pleased that you continue to choose our Hotel as your preferred Hotel in Johannesburg. We are thrilled to hear that overall you always enjoy your stay with us and that the STAFF are polite... More 

Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Used hotel for conference trip. Stayed in a twin standard room. Receptionist Shortchanged me after a payment as had no float & made no attempt to return money to me during my stay. Last guest's garbage was still in the room bin, makes me wonder what else from the last guest was not cleaned up? A 3/4 used up toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Tashmin, Thank you for posting your review here on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for taking Karen, our Rooms Division Manager’s call a moment ago. Once again I am truly sorry that you were not given your change when you paid for your tourism levies; it is certainly not acceptable that the reception did not have the smaller... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This hotel is of the usual high standard that one expects from the Protea group. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed, good food. The staff were helpful, professional and friendly so what else could you ask for!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Babs720, Thank you for posting your lovely review here on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay with us whilst you were in Johannesburg. I am so pleased to hear that the standards of our Hotel met your expectations. It was great to read that you found the Hotel to be so spotlessly clean as well as comfortable! I... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I've stayed here on a few occasions and always had a pleasant experience. so thought I best share them. the rooms were spacious enough, large comfortable bed and good size shower. The rooms and bathroom were clean and linen looked in clean and in good condition. I loved the small touch of leaving an apple in the room... The grounds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Hippy1977, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. I am so pleased to hear that you have chosen to stay at our Hotel on a few occasions now and that you have had some pleasant experiences. We are most certainly delighted to hear that you enjoy the red apple that... More 

Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

This is a wonderful hotel. We were picked up from the Gautrain although poor Jacob, the driver, got stuck in the appalling traffic, worse than usual because of load shedding & we had to walk to him so he wouldn't have to go around the block & wait for him another half an hour. The hotel itself is beautiful, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Heather B, Thank you for posting your lovely review here on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to hear that you slept so well on our beds and you thought that the duvet was thick and fluffy! It was so delightful to read that you found the facilities and services available at the Hotel to your liking and that we... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I have stayed here for business on a regular basis in the past but I have finally decided that this hotel is really looking tired and the attention to detail is very poor. So will be looking for an alternative hotel in the future. Rooms are very dark and bathrooms dark and dingy with mould on the shower ceiling. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Geldenhuys, Thank you for posting your review here on Trip Advisor. I tried to contact you on Tuesday and Wednesday this week via the mobile number we have for you however was not able to get hold of you to apologise before responding to your review. Please accept my heartfelt apologies that as a Prokard member that we... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015 via mobile

Not a great experience , at breakfast had to get cutlery from another table after waiting 5 min for it , and worst is because the hotel is not full, ask to be served drinks in the pool area and response is they are busy cleaning !!! Shocking

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Natalie B, General Manager at Protea Hotel Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Debmoh, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review here on Trip Advisor. I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience when you recently stayed at our Hotel; even more so I am truly disappointed to hear about the lack of service at breakfast. The response you received when... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question