We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Edenvale hotels

City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1613, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Edenvale
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
AlamedaYankeegal Alameda
  • Overview
  • Reviews (191)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    96
    40
    11
    10
See reviews for
23
49
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is attached to the airport, making it very convenient if you have an early flight. It's easy to get to the departure gates for both national and international flights without having to exit the building. Plus, you have a full range of goods and services available within this huge airport. I found the most knowledgeable staff to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this reservation at the wrong hotel thinking you are at the Airport. When I got to the OB Tambo airport location they called your hotel for me and spoke to your hotel who arranged my cancellation BUT the charge is still on my Credit Card. I didn't stay here and didn't get my refund because it was booked... More

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always stay at this hotel when having to do business in the area. Staff are great especially the dining staff. Never too much hassle from staff to assist with queries or to accommodate a request. Been going to this hotel for +-11 years.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the excellent review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your interactions with the staff and they were accommodating. We eagerly look forward to having you stay with us again. More

Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I think people are confused about this hotel - there are two City Lodges - one is literally attached to the airport which we tried to get in to but it was full so they referred us to this one which is about 10 mins drive by taxi (or you can get a shuttle from the airport). We found the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and thanks for your constructive comments. Sorry about the shower noise and the lack of a Do Not Disturb sign – we’ll be sure to check this out. Glad you liked our rates and hope to see you again if you can’t get a room at the airport. More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

dont do it; insects in the bathroom, the shower cubical smelled like a sewer, the show water drained all over the floor,,,,. the restuarant menu was very poor, the waiters were v poor. just not good...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. As we pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable rooms with excellent features and services, we will certainly look into your comments. Our coffee shop menu is limited, but it does provide a convenient alternative for guests who don’t want to order takeaways or go out to a... More

Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently went to Africa and needed to stay at the airport in Johannesburg to catch a flight out the next day. The people we were traveling with encouraged us to stay at a nice, high end hotel there but we didn't want to spend the money if we didn't need to. Our agent gave us great advice. The City... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

We thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad that you enjoyed your meal with us as well as the standard of our rooms, and our competitive rates. We do hope to see you again soon. More

Novo Hamburgo, RS
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The rooms are clean the cozy, nice for a night stay due to the airport proximity. But be carefull, this is not the one INSIDE the OR Tambo airport!! It is 10 minutes by taxi (depending the traffic)...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We’re pleased to hear that you found our hotel comfortable and convenient for your needs. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Situated a short walk for the terminal, it's a welcome sight after a long haul flight. The checking in process was quick and efficient, with a free welcome drink available at reception. The rooms are compact but very comfortable and it was nice to be able to soak in a bath after a long journey. Drinks by the pool are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Please note that as of January this year we increased the complimentary WiFi limit from 15 minutes to one hour per day. We do feel that we have improved this service, but will continue to upgrade this offering. Thanks More

Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Most of the stay was excellent - clean room and bed. I always check the shower spray and your passed the test. We have been to hotels in the past where I have refused to stay in the room because of the black and horrid shower spray. It is this that causes legionnaires desease. I was disappointed with the half... More

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. More

Johannesburg
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is several miles outside of the airport. So, you'll pay for a shuttle... per person... from and back to the airport. The hotel is in a pretty sketchy part of town... I did not feel safe. There is no elevator. We had been traveling for weeks and had considerable luggage. Good luck with that! You will get help... More

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Please be aware that we do have a hotel located within the O R Tambo airport precinct – this may suit you better as it is within easy walking distance of the terminals. We will , however, look into all of the matters you have raised. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Address: 4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1613, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Airport Johannesburg

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in close proximity to the R24 airport freeway, the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways with nearby restaurants and shops. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from the airport at a nominal fee. A fitness room, pool and meeting room are also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
219

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;