We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Bloemfontein hotels

City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Nelson Mandela Drive & Parfitt Avenue, Bloemfontein 9300, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein to your Saves list
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Bloemfontein
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Gaga555 Port St Francis, South Africa
  • Reviews (22)
  • Photos (18)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
6
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port St Francis, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bloemfontein is the ideal stop over on our annual return journey from the Kruger Park to Port Elizabeth. We have stayed at the City Lodge on numerous occasions and have always been happy with the accommodation. The reception staff are very friendly and go the extra mile to help where they can. The rooms are cozy and the beds are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midrand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not as bad as I thought it was going to be...for a 3 star rated establishment...it's good. The breakfast spread is tops. They should just change those horrible bed covers on their photos on the internet. When I saw that cover ...I immediately packed my own sheets & pillow....only to find that they actually have good WHITE clean sheets. Bloemfontein... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

We thank you for the constructive review. We're glad that the breakfast was enjoyable. We will definitely look into the issue regarding the heater. We hope to see you again soon. More

Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Remember this is a Lodge not a hotel so the facilities may not be to everyone's liking. There is no restaurant, as such serving dinner or breakfast. Meals are prepared by Woolworths and are garnished by the Lodge. Breakfast is prepared and served by WW staff. All nice enough but not typical restaurant/hotel. I was, however, disappointed in the fact... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We’re sad to hear that you were disappointed with some of the pricing. We do believe that we set our pricing at a competitive rate. We will definitely look into the issue you have raised with regards to accessibility of the 1st floor at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I were touring on our Harley to Cape town and this was the first, and final stopover on our round trip. We were made very welcome and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The drinks cold and the simple food excellent and very tasty. Room was more than adequate. Well done City Lodge!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we're chuffed you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were good to you. More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Notwithstanding our travel agents clear request for a non -smoking room the hotel placed me in a smoking room an sadly I couldn't change hotels. The manager Ian rather arrogantly told me when I showed him the booking request that it was the travel agents error not theirs and he didn't have a non smoking room for me. The next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies again for this booking error. More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Always amazing to stay in Bloem. Friendly staff and beautiful rooms. Always my first choice when in town on business. Would recommend it to anyone! WiFi could be better, but other than that GREAT! I love the breakfast. Joseph is the best waiter!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Centurion
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The most professional service received from the General Manager, Stephan Pieterse, the frienliest barma, Joseph and what an awesome experience from the chef, Josephine...Your are all true ambassadors for the Lodge group!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - we are glad that you had such a pleasant experience at our hotel. More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although the hotel claims to cater for businessmen, it is the complete opposite. Firstly wifi is 15 minutes! Secondly the so-called buffet breakfast is a rip-off. It is not a buffet, instead it is like school, where there is a lady who fries your egg, asks you what you want (eg sausage, bacon etc) and serves you. You wait in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us - we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Watch this space for improvements to our wifi offering! More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Travelling from KZN to George this hotel was ideal for an overnight stay. We got a friendly and efficient welcome and the prices were very good value. Clean beds and bathrooms. Tv and furniture a little outdated but overall a good place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us - hope to see you again on your travels! More

Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel that was used for accommodation for a conference held at the University of the Free State. The rooms were not available when we arrived (which is understandable) but there were no alternatives offered to the people. In other places, we could al least used the lobby or a small conference room or the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will definitely look into the points that you made.! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein

Address: Cnr Nelson Mandela Drive & Parfitt Avenue, Bloemfontein 9300, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Bloemfontein
Bloemfontein City Lodge

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A pool set in a beautiful garden is a treat for those moments of relaxation. This convenient location has numerous amenities within walking distance, such as the Bloemfontein Medi Clinic, Zoo, Free State Stadium, restaurants and shopping centres. It is also close to the N1 motorway and 2 minutes away from Bloemfontein’s CBD. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
151

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer