We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Bloemfontein hotels

Protea Hotel Willow Lake

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Henry St, Bloemfontein 9330, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Willow Lake to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Willow Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
53%
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Bloemfontein
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Analacs Cape Town, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (71)
  • Photos (51)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
5
8
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed at the Protea Willow Lake on two separate occasions and have walked away happy on both occassions. Helpful staff, central location, good facilities INCL WIFI!! LOL. On my last stay I loved the hand written welcome note I found hanging on my lampshade! Keep it up Willow Lake

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Analacs Thank you so much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. Your comments were read and shared in our morning meeting, and the TEAM started their day smiling. At Protea Hotel Willow Lake we strive to exceed all our GUEST’s expectations, and it seems that we are heading in the right direction. Looking forward to welcoming you back at... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I only stayed for one night, but my stay was the best. The welcoming from the front desk, the cleaners, the restaurant staff and the Marketing team is amazing. They make you feel like a president and the rooms are to die for. Keep up the excellent work..

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Motsumi Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, as this is how all our GUESTS should feel – like a President as you stated it. I will definitely relay your positive comments onto my TEAM, and we are looking forward to... More

Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised with my room. Very clean and nice big modern shower. Everything worked and the check in was fast and efficient. The only down for me was that room service is only until 22:00.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Enigma15 Thank you so much for your kind review on the Protea Hotel Willow Lake. Your comments keep our TEAM motivated to keep on striving for excellence, we appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards ________________________________________________________________________ Lindy Meiring Deputy General Manager Tel: 051 412 5400 More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I always enjoy my stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, the decor provides a tranquil environment and I enjoy the rooms, especially the daring open shower! Fits in perfectly! Image at reception was excellent on check in and very helpful and enthusiastic! Great job Blanche!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Meryl-Lee V Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Willow Lake! GUEST feedback is the only way we can truly know if we are meeting our GUEST expectations, your comments are truly invaluable to us and will be shared with our TEAM, thank you once again. We look forward... More

Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I slept at the hotel only for one night. I had a really nice stay. The reception person was very friendly and was very efficient in handling my booking. The room itself was very nice and very comfortable. I must be honest , I slept like a baby, I did not get a chance to explore the TV and other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Tshepo M Thank you so much for your valued feedback and rating, they assist us to strive for service excellence! We are so humbled by your enjoyment of our property and our STAFF, we will ensure our personnel receive your comments. The Protea Hotel Willow Lake have also noted your views regarding the privacy of our rooms, we do... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel is fine rooms are small but comfortable. However it is noisy you can hear the neighboors. The location next to the zoo is nice. Also the food is decent and service is friendly. Yet not confincing enough to make it a great hotel. When you are a protea member you get a lot of benefits that other can not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear guidoven Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake – Bloemfontein. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay, however not so good to hear that you did not have a GREAT stay as this is what we strive to offer our GUESTS. I apologize for the noise from the... More

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

First and foremost, I would like to praise this hotel for its excellent location to most attractions. I just enjoyed that it's a few minutes walk to Waterfront and Mimosa malls. The reception is good although very small. I was disappointed by the layout of the rooms, the size of these rooms are small as slum village room. They provide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Boo-ngane Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake – Bloemfontein. Please accept my apologies for your dinner experience. We strive to cater to all request, but this is not always possible. Our check-in time is 14h00, however if you requested an early arrival this should have been attended to. I will... More

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great location, close to shopping malls, zoo and schools. Unfortunately no family rooms, which is disappointing considering you are so close to the zoo. Roller beds were also all booked up, so book early to avoid kids with no beds! Great restaurants within walking distance, vibey and buzzing night life too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer196807 Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake – Bloemfontein. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS expectations, and without comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more importantly, when we are doing wrong.... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived on Saturday evening around 18h00. The very big front door made from beautiful woods is very impressive. Room was on the 4th floor over looking the Zoo. Rooms was perfect for a good nights rest. Loved the funky colour lights in the shower. Walking around the hotel seeing animals so close up makes you forget about the drive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear kimroberts7574 Thank you so much for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate all comments from our GUESTS to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding all our GUEST`s expectations. I must agree with you that the door to the entrance of the Hotel is unique, and was specially made to create a "WOW" first impression. I apologize... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived late from an 8 hour long drive. The room was clean and staff were friendly. We didn't appreciated the fire alarm that went off a couple of times and upon inquiry the front dent said its ones of the guests hair dry. Needless to say we needed some decent shut eye, the breakfast team while preparing breakfast they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear 34LuckyT Thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake. It`s always good to hear that the STAFF was friendly, as this is what we strive to offer - Friendly GUEST service. However it is unfortunate to hear that you did not get a good night`s rest, and I would like... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Willow Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Willow Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Willow Lake

Address: 101 Henry St, Bloemfontein 9330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Willow Lake 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Protea Hotel Willow Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bloemfontein with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Willow Lake provides a serene environment that blends in with nature and the surrounds. The hotel comprises of modern and luxurious rooms, including 2 Paraplegic bedrooms; all of which are equipped with air conditioners, selective satellite television channels, tea & coffee making facilities, executive desk with multi adapter plug points, electronic safes and touch dial telephones. Each room has an open plan shower (no baths), with privacy curtains in all twin rooms. Guests are spoilt for choice when it comes to winding down. Choose to relax by the pool or sip on cocktails in the bar and lounge area. Why not visit the exclusive patio, have a bite to eat and experience a breathtaking view of the Bloemfontein Zoo Elephant. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
94

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Willow Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer