We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Willow Lake

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
101 Henry St | Willows, Bloemfontein 9330, South Africa
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Willow Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second visit here. Excellent hotel that is situated in a great location. The zoo is next door and a good shopping mall is a 5 minute walk away with a selection of restaurants. Rooms are well appointed and the bed is super comfy. Staff are really friendly and very helpful. You won't be disappointed if you book... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda-UK1
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Linda-UK1 It’s always great to receive a lovely review as the one you posted on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, this is really much appreciated. I can only agree with you that the Hotel’s location is perfect, close to everything, and I will definitely share your review with my TEAM. Have... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you're in Bloem for business for 1 or 2 nights then you cant go wrong with this hotel. Central location, good side of town, CLEAN room & bathroom, good staff and the restaurant/breakfast room borders on zoo ... so you can see zebras while eating your eggs. Rooms are not big but are modern.

Helpful?
Thank Ianbredenkamp
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ianbredenkamp What a wonderful way to start a week by reading your lovely TripAdvisor comments. Thank you so much for taking the time, really much appreciated. It’s always good to know when we are doing right, and your comments will definitely be read in our morning meeting. Once again thank you, and I hope you have a great week... More 

Welkom, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

1.Exelent openness service delivery.( What you see is what you get) 2.Amazing place to relax in the air-condition room that is non smoking friendly. 3. The entrance in shower is a must . Very clean and easily entrance. 4 Buffet dining in the complex perfectly ordinated among all the rooms. 5. The personnel is outstanding and very polite to assist... More 

Helpful?
Thank martin_shardelow
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear martin_shardelow Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. I will definitely convey your positive feedback to my TEAM. It is vital for us to meet and exceed all our GUEST’s expectations. Once again, thank you, and I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl General Manager Protea Hotel Willow Lake... More 

Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i stopped for 1 night, on my why home to Johannesburg from Langebaan and it was definitely worth while. excellent hotel and facilities for a tired body! The dinner was very good and all the staff vey helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Mermaid1511
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Mermaid1511 Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, really much appreciated. Your comments will most definitely be shared in our morning meeting. May you have a lovely 2016, and I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Blanché Walzl General Manager Protea Hotel Willow Lake - Bloemfontein T: +27 (0)... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped over for one night on our way home to Gauteng from Western Cape. Lovely atmosphere, rooms were nice and well equipped no noise pollution from other rooms. The gardens are lovely, surrounded by the zoo which was a bonus to wake up to seeing Zebra's. Staff are friendly and accomodating. Breakfast - lots of choice.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Lisa V May you and your loved ones have a blessed 2016. Thank you for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, really much appreciated. It is always great to hear that our GUEST’s enjoyed their stay with us, as this is what we strive for. I hope we will welcome you back in the near future. HaveKindest Regards Blanché Walzl... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped over in Bloemfontein on our return journey from the Cape. We were pleasantly surprised as this hotel shares a boundary with the Zoo which sounded like it could be a bit dodgy. However the zoo looks well maintained - certainly the area overlooked by the hotel patio is. The room looked newly refurbished and the bed was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenni44
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Jenni44 Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, this is much appreciated. I can only agree with you that the Hotel’s location is lovely, and that you don’t really feel you are in a city. Please accept my apologies for the slow service you experienced on the patio area. This is definitely not the... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great hotel that borders the Bloemfontein Zoo. The main outdoor area used to look out onto the elephant enclosure, but unfortunately the last elephant the zoo had died, and they had placed some zebra in the enclosure. The first time I stayed at this hotel it was great fun to watch the elephant while chilling by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank stateofflux
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Stateofflux Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, always lovely to receive GUEST feedback. To be situated next to a zoo is truly a privilege for us, and I have to agree with all your comments, it’s great to hear the lions roar in the evenings. As far as the relocation of the zoo, this is in the pipeline,... More 

Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed for one night on our way back to Gauteng from the Western Cape, the room very neat and the beds were comfy. Would have liked a bathtub in the room. We also would have liked to have breakfast at the hotel but to charge R185 pp for n buffet breakfast is way to much! But overall a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcolegrand
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Marcolegrand Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms only offer showers, which is great for water saving, and very modern, however some GUEST’s still prefer baths, which we unfortunately do not offer. The breakfast price of R185.00 is the price across the Protea... More 

Vryburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

As a prokard member for many years I was sadly disappointed at this particular hotels services. I took my family there for a weekend break and the time we arrived didn't leave us any option but to accept the room. The room we were given was too small and being a hotel situated on the zoo one would expect it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dokes2014
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Dokes2014 It’s never good to receive a negative review on TripAdvisor, however thank you for your comments. It is important to know when we are doing right, but more important to know when we are doing wrong. Unfortunately we do not have family rooms or suites at the Hotel, only standard rooms. Please accept my sincere apologies for the... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Don't get me wrong by only awarding 3 stars. It's a quality hotel with good service and beautiful decor and good rooms. Only concern is with the showers in the room. If you visit with a business partner you will have absolutely no privacy when taking a shower since it is open plan. If you with your partner, great no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Divan v
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Divan v Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. You are correct we do only offer showers in our rooms, as this is a modern design, as well as assisting with water saving. Unfortunately not all our GUEST’s prefer this, however we do offer a privacy curtain in our sharing rooms. I hope this will not deter you from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein
#5 of 23 in Bloemfontein
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Golf Lodge
The Golf Lodge
#4 of 23 in Bloemfontein
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#6 of 23 in Bloemfontein
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bloemfontein
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
#11 of 23 in Bloemfontein
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay