We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Bloemfontein hotels

Protea Hotel Willow Lake

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Henry St, Bloemfontein 9330, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Willow Lake to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Willow Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
56%
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Bloemfontein
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SequimWATraveler Sequim, WA
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
5
8
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, WA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was excited to visit a hotel that was located in a zoo. We asked a room with a view of the animals and were cheerfully accommodated for an extra fee. Great. Unfortunately, the exhibit outside our window was being renovated so we couldn't see any animals from our window. The hotel was clean; rooms were compact -- the clear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear SequimWA Traveler Thank you for taking your time to comment on TripAdvisor. These comments are extremely important to us, to ensure that we meet and exceed all our GUEST’s expectations. I am delighted to hear that you received “first rate” service from the STAFF, as that is why we are in this industry, to serve our GUESTS. Unfortunately they... More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a pleasant moment at Protea willow lake hotel the staff are friendly, more welcoming. Keep up the good work. I stayed there for almost twoo weeks they really made it easy for me. Staff is friend very helpful. Free WiFi .

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear ConniePilane Thank you so much for your kind comments, our TEAM is delighted that we met your expectations. It is ratings like yours that keeps us motivated and smiling. We hope to welcome you back soon, thank you again. Kindest regards, LINDY MEIRING / DEPUTY GENERAL MANAGER Protea Hotel Willow Lake Bloemfontein More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed for one night, but my stay was the best. The welcoming you receive from the front desk staff make you feel like you welcomed and the rooms set are nice and the wifi . Keep up the excellent work..

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear andre_jefferies Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on “TripAdvisor”, much appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us, it is each STAFF member’s mission to meet and exceed all GUEST’s expectations. I must agree with you, we have a lovely, friendly and vibey bunch of STAFF members at reception,... More

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Protea Willow Lake on two separate occasions and have walked away happy on both occassions. Helpful staff, central location, good facilities INCL WIFI!! LOL. On my last stay I loved the hand written welcome note I found hanging on my lampshade! Keep it up Willow Lake

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Analacs Thank you so much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. Your comments were read and shared in our morning meeting, and the TEAM started their day smiling. At Protea Hotel Willow Lake we strive to exceed all our GUEST’s expectations, and it seems that we are heading in the right direction. Looking forward to welcoming you back at... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I only stayed for one night, but my stay was the best. The welcoming from the front desk, the cleaners, the restaurant staff and the Marketing team is amazing. They make you feel like a president and the rooms are to die for. Keep up the excellent work..

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Motsumi Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, as this is how all our GUESTS should feel – like a President as you stated it. I will definitely relay your positive comments onto my TEAM, and we are looking forward to... More

Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised with my room. Very clean and nice big modern shower. Everything worked and the check in was fast and efficient. The only down for me was that room service is only until 22:00.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Enigma15 Thank you so much for your kind review on the Protea Hotel Willow Lake. Your comments keep our TEAM motivated to keep on striving for excellence, we appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards ________________________________________________________________________ Lindy Meiring Deputy General Manager Tel: 051 412 5400 More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I always enjoy my stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, the decor provides a tranquil environment and I enjoy the rooms, especially the daring open shower! Fits in perfectly! Image at reception was excellent on check in and very helpful and enthusiastic! Great job Blanche!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Meryl-Lee V Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Willow Lake! GUEST feedback is the only way we can truly know if we are meeting our GUEST expectations, your comments are truly invaluable to us and will be shared with our TEAM, thank you once again. We look forward... More

Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I slept at the hotel only for one night. I had a really nice stay. The reception person was very friendly and was very efficient in handling my booking. The room itself was very nice and very comfortable. I must be honest , I slept like a baby, I did not get a chance to explore the TV and other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Tshepo M Thank you so much for your valued feedback and rating, they assist us to strive for service excellence! We are so humbled by your enjoyment of our property and our STAFF, we will ensure our personnel receive your comments. The Protea Hotel Willow Lake have also noted your views regarding the privacy of our rooms, we do... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hotel is fine rooms are small but comfortable. However it is noisy you can hear the neighboors. The location next to the zoo is nice. Also the food is decent and service is friendly. Yet not confincing enough to make it a great hotel. When you are a protea member you get a lot of benefits that other can not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear guidoven Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake – Bloemfontein. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay, however not so good to hear that you did not have a GREAT stay as this is what we strive to offer our GUESTS. I apologize for the noise from the... More

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

First and foremost, I would like to praise this hotel for its excellent location to most attractions. I just enjoyed that it's a few minutes walk to Waterfront and Mimosa malls. The reception is good although very small. I was disappointed by the layout of the rooms, the size of these rooms are small as slum village room. They provide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWillowLake, General Manager at Protea Hotel Willow Lake, responded to this review

Dear Boo-ngane Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Willow Lake – Bloemfontein. Please accept my apologies for your dinner experience. We strive to cater to all request, but this is not always possible. Our check-in time is 14h00, however if you requested an early arrival this should have been attended to. I will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Willow Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Willow Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Willow Lake

Address: 101 Henry St, Bloemfontein 9330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Willow Lake 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Protea Hotel Willow Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bloemfontein with
any amenities