We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Mthatha hotels

Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   912 Nelson Mandela Drive | Southernwood, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre to your Saves list
59%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mthatha
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
JohanBeukes Pietermaritzburg
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
6
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Pietermaritzburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel is situated just outside the CBD area and in a good location. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The room were clean with all the basic requirements such as DSTV and a nice big and clean shower. When visiting the Mthatha, I would recommend staying at the Savoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I find the Hotel Savoy situated close to restaurant facilities, my work and is secure. Rooms are comfortable and reasonable priced. Reception staff are very helpful and cheerful. Breakfast served in the local Mikes Kitchen was good

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It would be nice to have a single sofa in the room for sitting purposes if one does not want to sit on the bed. The service and cooperation of staff was good. I will come back to the hotel. ………………,,,,,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Did my booking via Internet. Had a very prompt response and when I enquired about special rates the GM Joanne was very helpful and it was a pleasure dealing with her and the staff who were efficient, friendly and courteous. Well done Joanne to you and your staff. The room was great , very clean and very spacious. Our dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you for your time taken to review Hotel Savoy. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And hope that we will see you again soon. Thank you for your compliments to Joanne Macdonald our GM I will pass them on. We aim to do our best at all times More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had to come through to Mthatha for business over easter weekend. I usually stay in a B&B, but in a weak moment I made a booking at Hotel Savoy Mthatha. The room and bathroom was neat enough, but that was the least of our problems. Our problem was the fact that the other guest staying there, had ZERO respect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel as a stop over between Durban and Balitto. The facilities are basic and the service average but its perfectly acceptable for one night. Breakfast/dinner is supplied by nearby Mikes Kitchen - this to was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I made a booking through bookings.com and it wasn't found due to a technical fault on Hotel Savoy's side. One of the reception ladies couldn't remember my even after correcting her 5 times. Dstv wasn't working and when it did the picture was hazy. The room was comfortable, clean and modern. I hope the next time I visit the above... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East London, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Booked a smoking room days in advance, when I arrived I was informed they have no smoking rooms available, and didn't attempt to assist me. If you offer a smoking room option then make sure you have a smoking room available! Also very expensive.. complete rip off.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very concerned where you read that we had smoking rooms. We make use of a number of sites and I need to rectify this immediately - please would you be so kind and contact me on leigh@jhgroup.co.za with the site that you booked on and read this. I look forward to hearing from... More

East London, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Breakfast at Mike's Kitchen was good, and service fine. I assume they are contracted to you for this service. However, the service at their evening meal was terrible. Waiter never around when you want him, only takes order & disappears. No white wine by the glass!!??. Main meal arrived almost simultaneously with starter. Quality of food and service not commensurate... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uvongo, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a surprise to find this hotel (like a motel) in Mthatha. The service is very friendly, the location safe, also for the cars. The rooms are okay, shower/toilette are clean. Right opposite you find Mike's kitchen restaurant. There you can enjoy a rich breakfast buffet. For your trip in or from the Eastern Cape we recommend this hotel for... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

Address: 912 Nelson Mandela Drive | Southernwood, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Ebony
Ebony
European