We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   22 Poseidon Crescent | Bluewater Beach, Port Elizabeth 6210, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Poseidon Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Poseidon Lodge to your Saves list
66%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013
Petra G Berlin, Germany
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I called on Saturday 4 Jan to make a booking. The host informed me that I should send an email to confirm date which I promptly did. I received a confirmation email and upon arrival today was informed that the booking wasn't confirmed and no deposit was paid. I proved to him that it was untrue by showing him his... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Oh how I liked it. It was my second time in this nice accomodation. The hosts, a couple from Germany, are very friendly and obliging. The breakfast was yummy. Ilona fixed different breakfasst, so we had variety every morning. The room was very comfortable and clean. I can say the same about the bathroom. The view from the room overlooking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed one night at Poseidon Lodge and really enjoyed it. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the pool area great. The close proximity to the beach is a big plus. Shopping was a short car journey away. The ventilation in the rooms was the only downside as the large windows in both rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Confluence, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We intended to stay only one night but ended up staying two because the guesthouse was so welcoming and comfortable. The owner made us an excellent South African breakfast (extra charge, but worth it) and we enjoyed chatting with her. She gave us tips on places to visit and where to go to eat. The beach is close by and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

do not give your credit card to this fraudulent establishment. my recent reservation to this hotel which was more than 6 months away was cancelled by me in 10 days after making the reservation (change in plans). cancellation policy clearly stated that i can cancel without penalty 30 days prior to arrival. i cancelled 6 months in advance and yet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PoseidonLodge, Owner at Poseidon Lodge, responded to this review

This Person never stayed in our house and there was never a complaint at Visa as he is stating in his response. We had someone from USA who booked with an Internet Agent and cancelled his booking again. He booked online and gave his credit card details by internet on the agents site. He agreed to pay a deposit to... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My mother (55), sister (26) and myself stayed at the Poseidon Beach Lodge en route to Cape Town. We were happy with our stay, as it was clean, safe, comfortable. PROS *Nice, safe, residential neighborhood. *Parking available inside the gate. *Rooms were very clean, shower worked properly. TV with several channels. The beds were comfortable enough - I am surprised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

we stayed at the lodge for 7 days for our honey moon. we had a lovely stay. ilona was a fabulous lady. she really looked after us and we had lovely chats over breakfast she was so welcoming and friendly. the views from the room of the ocean was gorgeous, there were shops and a garage just up the road,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This is by far the worst development i'v ever stayed and utter rude and un-professional management. i think the description is misleading with regards to proximity of restaurants and shops. The breakfast of very poor quality. i would not recommend this establishment to anyone. L Nel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PoseidonLodge, Owner at Poseidon Lodge, responded to this review

This Guest, who wrote this review, booked a two day stay via an internet agency and choosed to pay his deposit to Poseidon Lodge directly into a bank account. That was 3 weeks before arrival. When he arrived he pretended that he paid that deposit already but could not show any proof of payment . The Establishment checked their bank... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Poseidon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Lodge

Address: 22 Poseidon Crescent | Bluewater Beach, Port Elizabeth 6210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Poseidon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Poseidon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay