We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Port Elizabeth hotels

Summerstrand Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Summerstrand Hotel to your Saves list
Summerstrand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
47%
Ranked #26 of 34 hotels in Port Elizabeth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014
EducationTraveler Ottawa, Canada
  • Reviews (34)
  • Photos (24)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (8)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
6
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a disaster. Here are only a few of my issues.... and I only stayed there for 2 nights (thank heavens). Didn't get any sort of reception or help with luggage when we arrived (although other guests got preferential treatment but I would rather not go into this). Got handed a card and when I entered "my room" someone else... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was unfortunate to stay at this “hotel” for business. The rooms are rundown and the bathroom areas especially are in dire need of attention. Furthermore on arrival the bookings were a mess. My travel companion – he had the booking confirmation and number with him in writing – was told that they had no such booking and that he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Wolmarans, Greetings from Summerstrand Hotel! Thank you so much for your review - without your feedback we would not be able to improve our offerings. I am terribly sorry for the problems you experienced whilst staying with us and I would like to investigate these to ensure that they do not happen again. If you would not mind... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Summerstrand is a pleasant hotel close to the beautiful Pollock Beach - which is great for walks, surfing, swimming....I had a comfortable room. There was great housekeeping service and a nice buffet breakfast. One caveat: if you like air conditioning, be sure the air conditioner works in your room. Mine did not work too well. I did not want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerstrandhotel, General Manager at Summerstrand Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Summerstrand Hotel! Thank you for your kind words received - I will be sure to pass this onto all the staff members. I am sorry for the air conditioner in your room not working but am glad that our team could assist you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future Kind... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have had the misfortune of having to stay at this hotel for business. It needs a lot of attention especially the bathrooms, that are very much in the need of upgrading esp. the showers. Most of the staff are very friendly. During my stay there were a lot of people from a government department staying there for a work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Summerstrand Hotel! Thank you so much for your comments - without your feedback we would not be able to improve our offerings. We are currently working on our bathrooms and the finished results are stunning. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to our other guests. Kind Regards Management Summerstrand Hotel More

Pretoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great hotel, nicely positioned in relation to beachfront, staff friendly, rooms huge and clean. Breakfast buffet was great, and the staff made a lot of effort to accommodate our group, including designing a buffet dinner menu for us. Pool area looked lovely, although we didn't use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Summerstrand Hotel! Thank you so much for your review on our property - we are so glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm Regards Management & Staff Summerstrand Hotel More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

An enforced stay at the end of the Garden route led me here - the only place I could find with a vacancy after my flight cancelled. Dingy corridors, stale smells, patio door that would not lock (in South Africa!). The atmosphere was of a 1970s hotel that has had no care and little maintenance since construction. The occasional staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Summerstrand Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our property, your feedback is of utmost importance to us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to yourself during your stay with us, we are dealing with the problems you mentioned and once again thank you for bringing it to our attention.... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My first impression wasn't favourable. The hotel doesn't look appealing from the outside - it looks like it needs a serious makeover (in fact, I kinda hoped it wasn't really the hotel). The staff member on reception couldn't find my booking. My room was down a long corridor and round the corner with not-so-nice carpets or lighting. The room itself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Summerstrand Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is important to us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us, we are looking into the problems you experienced and I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention. Kind Regards Summerstrand Hotel Management... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I traveled there for a business trip. The hotel was pre-arranged. From check-in to check-out it was a total disaster. I was assigned a room and went tot take a shower after a long trip. The room already had luggage in the room from another registered guest. I went to the front desk to rectify the issue and they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Summerstrandhotel, Manager at Summerstrand Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings from Summerstrand Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your feedback is important to us. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us, I assure you that this is not our usual standard and we are dealing with the problems you experienced. Thank you once again for your... More

Durbanville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The first impression of the hotel, the entrance, lounge and the reception, is WOW!!! I like, but walk to the lift and the faint smell of urine makes you look back and think " I must be mistaken". The rooms are nice size but the curtains are threadbare, The furniture old and broken, there are only 2 wall plugs, behind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at the Summerstrand Hotel on the 6th April 2013. It was my wedding night so I had arranged earlier that someone ensure that champaign, strawberry's, ice, water, etc were waiting when we got there. It was confirmed. On arriving we stood at the reception desk (tired from the wedding) for around 20 minutes while they "looked" for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Summerstrand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Summerstrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerstrand Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 34 hotels in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerstrand Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerstrand Hotel is situated directly across from one of Port Elizabeth's most pristine, eco friendly beaches and directly adjacent to the Humewood Golf Course. Enjoy a sumptuous Breakfast Buffet before starting your day or relax after a long day of work or play with a cocktail in the lounge, before having a delectable dinner Buffet in Satis Restaurant. Our Bar is the perfect place for a night cap. Our Bedrooms either have views over Algoa Bay, the Humewood Golf Course or our pool and landscaped gardens. We offer complimentary wireless connectivity throughout the entire hotel for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Summerstrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Hotelsclick.com Otel.com

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Summerstrand Hotel is situated directly across from one of Port Elizabeth's most pristine, eco friendly beaches and directly adjacent to the Humewood Golf Course. Enjoy a sumptuous Breakfast Buffet before starting your day or relax after a long day of work or play with a cocktail in the lounge, before having a delectable dinner Buffet in Satis Restaurant. Our Bar is the perfect place for a night cap. Our Bedrooms either have views over Algoa Bay, the Humewood Golf Course or our pool and landscaped gardens. We offer complimentary wireless connectivity throughout the entire hotel for your convenience. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
137

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.