We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Plettenberg Bay accommodations

Nothando Backpackers Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Nothando Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
94%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
west87 Dublin, Ireland
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
33
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here in August! Very friendly staff. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Absolutely spotless.........I wouldn't call it a "backpackers lodge". It's a lot nicer, more like a hotel room! Food was great too!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We really appreciate your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More

Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a really nice place to stay in Plett. The prices are very reasonable, there is free wifi and the location is good, only a short walk to the main street. The rooms were perfectly clean, with coffee, a small tv and a safe. The best part of our stay was the staff though. They are very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vidar. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate feedback from our guests. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

It is a lovely place at plettenberg bay, staff and management are very friendly, relaxed atmosphere, clean comfy rooms, inexpensive laundry service and free internet. We would definitely recommend this place to everyone visiting the garden route.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vagabond. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More

Brittany, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very good atmosphere in this BP impeccably well maintained. it feels like home and the staff is really welcoming. City center is 2 min by walk. Do not miss: the Elviś´s Mojitos and the BBQ in the chimney!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Clem O. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate it that you took time out to review us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of you travels. Kind regards. The Nothando Team. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My friend got sick and the staff helped to get to a doctor, afterwards we were upgraded to a better room, Though the dormrooms seemed nice, the private rooms are the best! Staff was amazing and the owner helped us in anyway possible. The kitchen provided for the guests were clean and functional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marie Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are very pleased that we could help with your friend who was sick. We hope he recovered quickly and that you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Keep well and carry on travelling. Kindest regards Maryna (Owner) More

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Nothando for two nights in July while road-tripping along the garden route. We had originally booked for only a single night, but ended up calling and booking for a second (and driving and additional 2hrs back to Plett Bay) after the next hostel we were booked in turned out to be dirty and unpleasant.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Katie Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review about Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate your wonderful review, we enjoy running Nothando and we always try to give of our best. You were fantastic guests and we hope to see you again in South Africa and specifically at Nothando in Plettenberg Bay. Kindest regards The... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed two nights in a sivile with shared bathroom. Room was clean and cosy, bathroom was okay, and the wifi worked really well. Staff is helpful. Downtown is within walking distance. There is a great chill our area with communal kitchen and a bar. Only minus is that your clothes may smell after one night in the bar if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Nothando. We really appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again in SA and staying at Nothando. Kindest regards The Nothando Team More

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Service: While one of the staff isn't so nice, the rest of them and the owner are angels! Originally we took a family room for 4 people but once on-site the owner only charged us for two people! And we changed our itinerary last minute, the staff call the BazBus for us to make sure they will pick us up.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. It was lovely having you girls staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback. Enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again at Nothando. Kindest regards The Nothando Team More

Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

One of the best hostels I've stayed! All super cleaned, organised and very nice athmosphere! There is a nice bar, very nice kitchen, an amazing garden. Just loved the time I've spent there! Very close to the beach, markets and bars. I miss this place! Regards to Maryna!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hallo Andre Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We really enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Maryna (Owner) More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

More motel that backpackers. Large, high spec, beautifully clean rooms in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the centre. Helpful, friendly reception staff, excellent breakfast and a really chilled out vibe. Nice bar and outside area to relax in. Would highly recommend this hostel, and Plett, for a place to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We do appreciate it so much and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards The Nothando team More

Do you own or manage Nothando Backpackers Lodge?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay