We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Plettenberg Bay accommodations

Nothando Backpackers Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nothando Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nadia A
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
38
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thanks to TripAdvisor, I found Nothando Backpackers and after reading all the reviews booked a couple of nights for Hubby and I just after the New Year's weekend this year. We arrived at an awkward time, and Maryna happily opened up for us so we could rest after a long journey on the Greyhound from Cape Town. The friendly staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Nadia Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We appreciate your feedback. Hope when we see you again you will stay longer. Kindest regards The Nothando Team More 

EAST LONDON
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You would go a long way in finding such a top class backpackers. Absolute attention to detail, friendly well appointed staff, Comfortable rooms and sweeky clean bathrooms, off street parking and for a couple rand more an excellent breakfast. Highly recommended! Don + Jenny- East London

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hallo Don and Jenn. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate your feedback. It was great having you as guest, and hope to see you again in the near future. Always welcome. Kindest regards The Nothando Team More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our time at Backpackers. We felt that it provided fantastic value in Plett. They had helpful staff and we felt very safe. While it was within walkable distance to dining the streets in this area were dark and close to combi pick-up areas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Nothando Backpackers. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. the Nothando Team. More 

Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

I can honestly recommend Nonthando for travelers. I have stayed there 3 nights and I was fully satisfied – the room was clean, with comfortable bed and facilities like eclectic kettle. Also shared bathrooms were nice and clean. I really liked that there is a bar where you can have a drink or sit next to fire place to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Nothando Backpackers. It gives us great pleasure when our guests enjoyed staying at Nothando. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Fantastic professional staff, showed us around the place and to our room. Room was comfortable and clean, although a little disappointed as the description included a TV but other than that it was lovely. Staff were so friendly and would do anything for you. Elvis was good company and the food was amazing value for money! Location very near to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time out to write a review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in South Africa. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team More 

Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We had a great stay at this backpackers lodge. We stayed for 5 nights and a few evenings we enjoyed a great tasting brai with other gueast arranged by our new friend Elvis. Some nights we had nice dinners prepared for us and other guests. Rooms are not big but nice beds, linen and towels and cleanness makes it very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was wonderful having your family stay with us. Thank you to John for playing so often with Sarah. Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again at Nothando. Kindest regards The Nothando Team More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed here in August! Very friendly staff. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Absolutely spotless.........I wouldn't call it a "backpackers lodge". It's a lot nicer, more like a hotel room! Food was great too!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We really appreciate your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More 

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is a really nice place to stay in Plett. The prices are very reasonable, there is free wifi and the location is good, only a short walk to the main street. The rooms were perfectly clean, with coffee, a small tv and a safe. The best part of our stay was the staff though. They are very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vidar. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate feedback from our guests. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

It is a lovely place at plettenberg bay, staff and management are very friendly, relaxed atmosphere, clean comfy rooms, inexpensive laundry service and free internet. We would definitely recommend this place to everyone visiting the garden route.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vagabond. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More 

Brittany, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very good atmosphere in this BP impeccably well maintained. it feels like home and the staff is really welcoming. City center is 2 min by walk. Do not miss: the Elviś´s Mojitos and the BBQ in the chimney!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Clem O. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate it that you took time out to review us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of you travels. Kind regards. The Nothando Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay