We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Plettenberg Bay accommodations

Nothando Backpackers Lodge

5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nothando Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
John D Franschhoek, South Africa
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
38
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Franschhoek, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars NEW

It is a beautiful place, more a guesthouse thans a BP. The staff is very Nice, helpfull. Location close to minibus rank. Convenient. The beach is a short walk down but a long way up since it is quite steel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear John. Thank you so much for your lovely review of Nothando Backpackers. We always welcome feedback. The Nothando Team is very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards The Nothando Team. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a good time at Nothando's, but the dorm was really small, simple and not really cosy. Apart from that - the staff is very friendly, the hostel is very central ( only the beach is a bit far), and it's affordable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are decent size and very clean. The entire place has a clean feel even the bar the bar has many sofas and many drinks available as well as board games. The staff is super cool and the area is safe at night for wandering to other places. The off season made the stay very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate your feedback. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Thanks to TripAdvisor, I found Nothando Backpackers and after reading all the reviews booked a couple of nights for Hubby and I just after the New Year's weekend this year. We arrived at an awkward time, and Maryna happily opened up for us so we could rest after a long journey on the Greyhound from Cape Town. The friendly staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Nadia Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We appreciate your feedback. Hope when we see you again you will stay longer. Kindest regards The Nothando Team More 

EAST LONDON
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

You would go a long way in finding such a top class backpackers. Absolute attention to detail, friendly well appointed staff, Comfortable rooms and sweeky clean bathrooms, off street parking and for a couple rand more an excellent breakfast. Highly recommended! Don + Jenny- East London

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hallo Don and Jenn. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate your feedback. It was great having you as guest, and hope to see you again in the near future. Always welcome. Kindest regards The Nothando Team More 

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We enjoyed our time at Backpackers. We felt that it provided fantastic value in Plett. They had helpful staff and we felt very safe. While it was within walkable distance to dining the streets in this area were dark and close to combi pick-up areas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Nothando Backpackers. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. the Nothando Team. More 

Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

I can honestly recommend Nonthando for travelers. I have stayed there 3 nights and I was fully satisfied – the room was clean, with comfortable bed and facilities like eclectic kettle. Also shared bathrooms were nice and clean. I really liked that there is a bar where you can have a drink or sit next to fire place to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Nothando Backpackers. It gives us great pleasure when our guests enjoyed staying at Nothando. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Fantastic professional staff, showed us around the place and to our room. Room was comfortable and clean, although a little disappointed as the description included a TV but other than that it was lovely. Staff were so friendly and would do anything for you. Elvis was good company and the food was amazing value for money! Location very near to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate the fact that you took the time out to write a review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in South Africa. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team More 

Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We had a great stay at this backpackers lodge. We stayed for 5 nights and a few evenings we enjoyed a great tasting brai with other gueast arranged by our new friend Elvis. Some nights we had nice dinners prepared for us and other guests. Rooms are not big but nice beds, linen and towels and cleanness makes it very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was wonderful having your family stay with us. Thank you to John for playing so often with Sarah. Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again at Nothando. Kindest regards The Nothando Team More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed here in August! Very friendly staff. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Absolutely spotless.........I wouldn't call it a "backpackers lodge". It's a lot nicer, more like a hotel room! Food was great too!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deios, Owner at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers Lodge. We really appreciate your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nothando Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay