We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Manga Country House

PO Box176 | Uplands, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Manga Country House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bella Manga Country House
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    22
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
49
60
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I stayed one night at Bella Manga Country House with my partner in March 2015. I chose it because I thought staying on a farm would be a more interesting experience than the hotels in town and I was certainly not disappointed! The welcome we got from the hosts Ray and Fiona was outstanding. There was a power cut on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This place is amazing - we loved every minute of our stay here. From the Rondavel to the breakfast - everything was excellent! The grounds are kept lovely. Both Fiona and Ray made us feel really welcome and made our stay the best.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Last year in October my husband turned 40 so I booked our family to the Country house. We arrived in the evening and I kept calling Fiona to check if we were in the right direction. Ray and Fiona were so welcoming and friendly. The forest lodges are so tranquil and the air is soo clean. My daughter left her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gwytherin, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

From the moment I arrived to my departure I was made to feel very welcome and that included the two super friendly dogs. I stayed in a B&B roundhouse with a big comfy bed and power shower, there ar large grounds to relax in and a fair sized salt water swimming pool. The breakfasts are huge, it was an effort... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolfratshausen
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

In comparison to the other B and B’s where we stayed in this two week period, and given that the prices were almost identical; Bella Magna did not rate well. We were in the Bougainvillea room in the main building. Although the room was large, it was not particularly well appointed; the room smelled from the urinal pucks that were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us - quite a different attitude to to when you were staying here. I did email you a couple of days before your arrival to explain that I had just come out of the emergency department of the local hospital in the middle of the night with... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

This place is amazing - we stayed here for 3 days in a Rondavel accommodation and this was just lush!! Very clean, very well presented from the pool area to the grounds which are exceptional. The breakfast here is fantastic. Make sure you have a walk around the grounds to appreciate how lovely this place really is! We received a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

lovely place and very quiet. We had a beautiful room (lavender room) and the most comfortable mattress ever! We thoroughly enjoyed breakfasts and Fiona and Rays company. The dirt road is quite long and bumpy, but it adds not detracts from this cared for property. have a happy new year both of you x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Made a very last minute booking to stay at the Bella Manga - the B & B is a little gem, and our stay totally exceeded our expectations. Beautiful setting, more than comfortable well appointed rooms. Added bonus is the retired race horses and polo ponies grazing in the paddocks on the property! The B & B is very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

my family( parents in law, husband, 1 years old baby) have spend one night here. the location is quite far, and the host and his wife 's attitude are unbievelable horriable.this is the terrible place I ever experienced.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review

This family booked 2 b and b rooms, they then asked to be closer together so we moved the whole of the establishment to accomodate them. They then asked where the kitchen was and were told that they had only booked for bed and breakfast and not self-catering. They then proceeded to get a wok out and try to cook... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Stayed in one of the 3 cabins away from the main facility. First off, it was too far from Plett and the dirt road leading to the property was absolutely appalling - even in a big 4x4! As for the cabin.... (You have to drive across a field through 2 gates) the equipment (kettle, toaster etc) were so old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellamanga, Owner at Bella Manga Country House, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay in the country!! We advertise as being a farm along a 1.4km dirt road (which thanks to 60ml of rain that day was appalling). Yes you have to go through 2 gates to get to our beautiful forest lodges - the gates are to prevent our cows from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities