We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Plettenberg Bay B&Bs / inns

Milkwood Manor on Sea

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Salmack Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Milkwood Manor on Sea to your Saves list
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
95%
Ranked #14 of 73 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
iamthedre Knysna, South Africa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (441)
  • Photos (207)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (72)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    77
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
63
318
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Three of us recently stayed at Milkwood Manor, The location of this Prime Guesthouse couldn't be better! Certainly the best views of the bay and surrounds, and close to all amenities. The Rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and the service was excellent. Breakfast was great! Will certainly stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with 2 friends and found Milkwood Manor on Sea to be a lovely place to stay for a few nights. Gorgeous position and views, central spot to take day trips from, owner was helpful and warm, rooms were clean and had lovely views, shower pressure not so great, breakfast included.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed in April with my girlfriend at this guesthouse and we were somewhat underwhelmed.. Good things first... 1. Firstly the location of the guest house is great for the beach and it is quite spectacular... 2. They wash your car for you free of charge. 3. The owners of the guesthouse are lovely and very helpful. We only saw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Robert H Thank you kindly for your long review and we do sincerely apologise that you did not experience the best Milkwood Manor welcome possible. It is somewhat of an anomaly as our reception prides itself, as is usually positively commented, on its friendly efficiency. We will seriously look into the matter and ensure that improvements are made. Kindly... More

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location on beach . On the positive side ,the owner and staff were great and helpful ,sadly the place looks like its been done up on the cheap . No fridge or telephone in room and bathroom had mismatching tiles all over the place . Such a pity as its location is great !

Was this review helpful? Yes
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Lester, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful that you loved the location as much as we do. We do apologise that you didn't find our decorating to your liking. We will be making some improvements this winter with renovations planned, so perhaps upon your next return you will be pleasantly surprised at the... More

Krakow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The Milkwood Manor is a lovely charming small hotel directly on the sea - beautiful views, charming rooms and lovely welcome and service!! We have stayed at this little gem many times and plan to return again as soon as the opportunity presents itself!!! The owner is very charming as well as a wealth of information about the area and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our 2 night stay here in April. The location is as spectacular as it is unique and is a great example of how Mother Nature likes to throw us a curve ball every now and then. The guest house, previously surrounded by trees, now hosts front row seats to a spectacular ocean front location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Roeboy, Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciate the new location and views as much as we do. And yes, what a great heading, Mother Nature is constantly at work on our surroundings and we are truly blessed to witness it all unfold. What once... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

you just can't get closer to plettenburg bay than this..you can almost walk out directly onto the wonderful white sand...Caribbean eat your heart out....Milkwood Manor is a lovely hotel, this was our second visit. We chose a room overlooking the beach, so watching the sea and sunsets was stunning to say the least. Kees is a great host with lots... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Barbara W, Thank you for these kind words and for the great compliment of a return visit. You'd be happy to know that the Lookout Beach is set to become another one of South Africa's pristine "Blue Flag" beaches by the end of this year. Maybe by your next visit we will have the blue flag waving, then also... More

Aussie on the road
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was a pleasant surprise. We booked for 2 nights and stayed 3. Plenty to do in the area. The host Kees was charming and exceedingly helpful with activities and sight seeing. We chose a room downstairs (#4) and it was great. Spacious, comfortable and with a terrific little area we could sit outside and sip our drinks. The restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear tbgk, Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are delighted that you enjoyed it as much as we did. Next time you are in Plettenberg Bay do come stay with us again, and try the entire 12km paddle up the Keurbooms river with a picnic basket and some wine. We... More

Dinton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The weather didn't help but notwithstanding that, Milkwood Manor is no better than a very average establishment these days, but charging premium rates. Although the rooms are comfortable enough, you need to avoid ground floor rooms, especially room two which is very noisy, the breakfasts are poor, and while unusually it has a full service restaurant the food and atmosphere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
milkwoodmanorplett, Owner at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for drawing our attention to the noise outside room 2. It’s caused by people walking on the suspended wooden floor in the foyer. We have been reluctant to carpet it, because it’s such lovely wood, but it looks as if that will be the only solution. Most guests appear to appreciate the Manor’s unique position of directly bordering... More

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We have had a pleasant 3-nights stay. Due to the work of Mother Nature there is now no outside sitting area as the Manor is surrounded by the sea. Each room has a lovely balcony but more comfy chairs would go some way to solving the problem. Sitting on the beach on the sand (no seats/sun beds) does not suit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
milkwoodmanorplett, Manager at Milkwood Manor on Sea, responded to this review

Dear Buncha, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Milkwood Manor on Sea. We are truly pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for the advice. We hope that you would return to us in the future. Until then, Happy travels. Kind regards, Milkwood Manor on Sea More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Milkwood Manor on Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Milkwood Manor on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Manor on Sea

Address: Salmack Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Manor on Sea 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Milkwood Manor on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milkwood Manor Guest House Hotel Plettenberg Bay

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location: The most enviable location on the Garden Route. At the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, jutting into the ocean - any closer and you would be in it! - as well as the estuary of a large lagoon- no neighbours but nature! Exquisite, unimpeded 180 views (360 from the roof deck) of the vast blue ocean, golden beaches, large lagoon and the imposing Tsitsikamma Mountain Range. Nature all'round, yet not isolated, but only a 2-minute drive from the town centre and its trendy shops.A pristine beach: accessible from the sheltered cove adjacent to the Manor - ideal for swimming in natural water – you may boat across to an unspoiled and usually deserted beach, far from built-up areas, traffic, crowds and noise. Blissful solitude and a complete immersion in nature, with only the sound of white-crested surf tumbling at one’s feet and the calls of a medley of seabirds – a veritable bird sanctuary. Becalming and rejuvenating - the perfect antidote for stress,. With luck you may even find the mysterious and sought-after pansy shell (sand dollar).The Manor: built in classic Georgian style, with an airy double-volume foyer and eleven double bedrooms, most with private patio or balcony. All rooms are decorated in crisp white and en-suite to a shower cubicle with/without bath, and a queen bed or twin beds, TV-hospitality package, free uncapped Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, fan, heater and hairdryer. The sash windows allow the fresh ocean air straight in. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer