We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Farm 4A Robberg Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an exceptional location with an staggering view! Extremely comfortable and spacious rooms with all amenities. Good food, friendly and helpful staff, outstanding spa. A quiet and private place to stay. We will come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 384bridget
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Evening Bridget, Thank you for your review, we are looking forward seeing you again! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

We were a group of 11 adults that went for dinner here in December 2015. It was the first time I visited the hotel. I was completely blown away by the setting and the absolutely uninterrupted views of the ocean. We were also blessed to experience a great sunset. Upon arrival we ordered drinks outside. Being a lover of a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelOftenDrinkSlow
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Evening Erica, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the power outages were out of our control and we managed it best we could. Still I would like to apologize for the experience hence the power. Please know that I take note of the comment made regarding the food/menu and pricing. Thank you once again. More 

Basrah Province, Iraq
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

When traveling, people somehow forget that despite the scenery, people have the ability to make or break any experience. The staff at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa has the ability to make a simple afternoon tea (gin if you're lucky), an unforgettable experience. Definitely in my travel plans again for Feb/March. Starting to make excuses to travel past this hotel!

Helpful?
Thank Stephan J
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Evening Stephan, thank you for your lovely feedback! We hope to see you soon! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

This hotels restaurant is amazing. I had high tea here last year and the food quality was great. This experience along with the view compelled me to book for my 21st the following year. I decided I would try the dinner as I enjoy changing things up. The dinner started with cocktails which took 30min to prepare which the waiter... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JennaHoey
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Evening Jenna, Very disappointing to read your review as you have been here before and thoroughly enjoyed it. This was your birthday, a very special birthday indeed. I take note of all that you have said and I thank you for being honest and open. I understand that you will not visit again from the Dinner experience. I hope that... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

The view was spectacular and did not disappoint. We ordered cocktails and we're told upon placing our order that the drinks would take over 30 minutes to prepare. Once we were seated for dinner, it took 2,5 hours for our food to arrive. We went to celebrate my twin sister and my 21st birthday. A very special occasion. My mom... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hi Rachel, Thank you for your review and honest feedback with regards to your experience. It is disappointing as a Hotel to read that it did not meet your expectations and we take note of this. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

After being last year, we had good exceptions for our drinks and dinner for a 21st birthday. What we got instead was an amazing view with an extremely mediocre meal. The menu was very limited (only 3 main meal options, 2 of which being quite similar), our waiters got our wine order completely wrong, the food took an unreasonable time... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Evening Tom, thank you for your honest review. It is indeed disappointing that you did not enjoy your experience, please know that I take note of this and thank you. In future please advise us of special occasions as such, we would have made in extra special with a birthday cake and champagne on arrival. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

We went for drinks and dinner. Ambiance was good and the view was brilliant. Waited extremely long for dinner to arrive. Food was overpriced and not many options were on offer. For a 5 star hotel I was expecting more

Helpful?
Thank Cameron H
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Evening Cameron, Thank you for your review, disappointing that you did not enjoy your Dinner, I take note of this and thank you for your honest feedback. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

We chose this hotel with high expectations from the pictures and reviews we read on TripAdvisor, however we were left disappointed. Before I explain my reasons for the 3 rating I will state how good the view is from the hotel, it is well kept and maintained - you'd expect this from a hotel that has only 10 rooms. Now... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mitul L
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mitul, Thank you for your feedback. We dealt with the issues, mentioned above, best we could. Sadly you did not enjoy your stay, but we tried to make it as comfortable as possible and we appreciate you acknowledging this. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Best thing about this hotel is truly the location set on the edge of the cliffs with superb ocean views. Rooms are very nice and comfortable as well and waking up to the sound of the ocean should not be missed. Walk down to the ocean and take a stroll along the cliffs at sunset - amazing. Given that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TobiasWo
Deu-Donne, Manager at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for the above feedback! Truly appreciated! More 

Knysna
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

It was my good fortune to enjoy a brief stay at this very spe ial hideaway on the Garden Route. The general atmosphere is of total relaxation. The staff are all very friendly and discreetly attentive. The food is amongst the best I have enjoyed in South Africa.My room overlooked the Indian Ocean and I was entertained by passing humpback... More 

Helpful?
Thank GentlemanAtLarge
Deu-Donne, Owner at Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the above feedback! It is truly great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plettenberg Bay
1.0 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#6 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#5 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay