We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beacon Island Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Beacon Isle Crescent, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beacon Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    207
    76
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
120
152
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an awesome hoilday - wonderfull for the kids. Safe, clean and friendly environment. Only complaint been that service, specially for breakfast was extremely SLOW. The hassel free checking in and out was AWESOME. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

a fun filled hotel with lots of amenities for kids. if you'd prefer a quieter holiday, avoid school holidays as it can get a bit noisy with all the kids running around. hotel staff friendly and rooms clean and neat, a little bit small for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids. also, would be nice to have a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Diane M Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. I have noted that you have completed a guest survey as well. Beacon Island is classified as a non fully self catering resort, hence no cooking appliances are permitted in the rooms. A microwave for... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a few days during the break with the family. It's a great place for the children, ... we did not see ours for the entire day so busy she was with all her new friends. The café, restaurant and bar are disappointing but there are many alternatives nearby. Good: - Great for children, many activities during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear sti 100535 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests. I have since had a... More 

Cape Town
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overpriced cold hospitality poor except for Joe.Lobby freezing rooms cold and not clean plumbing did not work feaces in toilet when arrived curtians torn AwAITED OVER 40 MINUTES TO GET DRINKS IN LOUNGE pool not suffiently warm

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear jennycE4137NT Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. I have noted that you have also completed our guest satisfaction survey. We are currently investigating your complaints and I shall send you a response once we have the full results. At The Beacon Island Resort... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best holiday destination in the Western Cape! I think Plett is one of the most beautiful places in the country and the view from our window was breathtaking! Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms and delicious food. We enjoyed every bit of our stay in this lovely hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear 21091959 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests. We are truly delighted that you... More 

Ceres
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best holiday destination in the Western Cape - we have been visiting Plett since 1988 and this year stands out as one of the best... if to rate on management of property, staff and service! From Good to Great!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear denvilvdmerewem Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests. We are truly delighted that you... More 

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked the place and the view from the window. The beach, the river, the sea, the mohntauns, even a rainbow was breathtaking. It is a great place for families and seems to be very safe for kids to roam about on their own when their parents for some time to themselves. But having said that, could have been good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sailakshmi D Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests. Our security that are on... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous family holiday all round - it works for all ages - from babies to grandparents. This is a HAPPY place :-) They run a great show and gets better every year ! Been coming for 21 years and never a bad moment. Ten out of ten time and again.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dindy3 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests. We are truly delighted that you... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a family we have been staying at the Beacon Island since our children were toddlers (now in their 20's) and we have always had a wonderful holiday, There are loads of activities for the little ones as well as for teenagers. The setting of the hotel is simply stunning. There can be no better place to lounge in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Domenque7 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests. Thank you for your wonderful feedback,... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel offers EVERYTHING one could wish for when on holiday. It is 100% kiddie focussed. Every room has a wonderful view. There is tons to do between Knysna and Plett so it's a perfect holiday for the family. The room for a family of four is very cramped. Probably the only negative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ronel S, Manager at Beacon Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear hh0lland Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Beacon Island Resort. Your comments and feedback is valuable and important to us. The only way we can improve and truly be the best Resort is by receiving feedback from our valued Guests. We are truly delighted that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#10 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay