We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stanley Island

Keurbooms River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plettenberg Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stanley Island
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    14
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Arrived the first day... Room we received for the "honeymoon package" looks nothing like illustrated on the sites. I paid honeymoon room rate for a room that did not even have tiles, just plain concrete. My wife loves to bath, the pic I saw on the net had a nice bathtub. No tub in room (nor tiles) or anything that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay on Stanley Island. We have just had a management changeover and whilst we strive for guest satisfaction, this sometimes falls short. I have discussed your stay with our manager and reviewed our website listing upon your recommendation, we have also undergone an independent review of... More 

Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

What an absolutely beautiful place and what an experience. We travelled with a 5 year old who loved the ferry trips to and from the island. The accommodation was lovely and the zebras in our camp were treat. This is the perfect destination to escape the hustle and bustle of crowds . Herbie was a delight and always willing to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

The setting, accommodation, hospitality and travel logistics are all great. It is a destination for families and honeymooners alike... I had anticipated problems in getting onto the Island but the ferryman was always at our beck and call.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Constantia, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Our family had a fantastic and fun time. The service/staff were excellent. Our suite was very comfortable. Seeing the zebra right outside our doorstep was quite an unique experience. The food was top rate. I would highly recommend Stanley Island.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alberton, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

wow! an absolute gem. such a disappointment for us that we only had a one night stay there, from the moment we had to phone for the boat to come and fetch us until we left the next morning it was just amazing. we will go back for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We have spent 2 nights on the island. The accommodation is good, staff very friendly and helpful (especially shuttling one by boat even at night time when we went into town for supper!), and the setting stunning. We particularly enjoyed the early morning canoeing around the island.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

4 and a half star, I DON'T THINK so!! 1.) Green pool. 2.) Nothing to do. 3.) Average room (Honeymoon suite) 4.) No proof of payment. As we arrived to get on the boat, the "manager" made us wait 15mins to see he's supplier so that in his words "we don't get old bread and salad with worms on". Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Thanks Cyral for great stay and making us feel at home. And we would like to thank James for helping Cyral for making our stay perfect!! Will defnitly visit again this year and in the future. This will always be a spesial place for ne and my wife as we got engaged in the Island!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durbanville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We thought this will be a great idea to stay on an island for 3 days and enjoy the surroundings. From the beginning it was disappointing. We booked in beginning October and when we arrived beginning January we were transferred to another place to stay. The reason they are not finished in clearing party equipment from the island. We then... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay, we are aware that this was an extraordinary circumstance out of our control which we tried to resolve with alternative accommodation. Please email events@stanleyisland.co.za for further correspondence. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. We had the best time!! The cruise and picnic were highlights of our stay. We got to truly relax because of such a tranquil setting. The staff were always polite and eager to assist.. what an awesome honeymoon destination!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#6 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#11 of 55 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 7 in The Crags
5.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.9 mi away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#5 of 55 in Plettenberg Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities