We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stanley Island

Keurbooms River, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley Island
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Stanley Island
Stanley Island
Stanley Island
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Alberton, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

wow! an absolute gem. such a disappointment for us that we only had a one night stay there, from the moment we had to phone for the boat to come and fetch us until we left the next morning it was just amazing. we will go back for sure!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We have spent 2 nights on the island. The accommodation is good, staff very friendly and helpful (especially shuttling one by boat even at night time when we went into town for supper!), and the setting stunning. We particularly enjoyed the early morning canoeing around the island.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

4 and a half star, I DON'T THINK so!! 1.) Green pool. 2.) Nothing to do. 3.) Average room (Honeymoon suite) 4.) No proof of payment. As we arrived to get on the boat, the "manager" made us wait 15mins to see he's supplier so that in his words "we don't get old bread and salad with worms on". Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Thanks Cyral for great stay and making us feel at home. And we would like to thank James for helping Cyral for making our stay perfect!! Will defnitly visit again this year and in the future. This will always be a spesial place for ne and my wife as we got engaged in the Island!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durbanville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We thought this will be a great idea to stay on an island for 3 days and enjoy the surroundings. From the beginning it was disappointing. We booked in beginning October and when we arrived beginning January we were transferred to another place to stay. The reason they are not finished in clearing party equipment from the island. We then... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
StanleyIsland_Plett, Owner at Stanley Island, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay, we are aware that this was an extraordinary circumstance out of our control which we tried to resolve with alternative accommodation. Please email events@stanleyisland.co.za for further correspondence. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. We had the best time!! The cruise and picnic were highlights of our stay. We got to truly relax because of such a tranquil setting. The staff were always polite and eager to assist.. what an awesome honeymoon destination!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had an amazing time at Stanley. Just the setting and the serene beauty of nature, it was wonderful. Management and staff were absolutely fantastic, the friendliness and personal service was incomparable. The knowledge and expertise of Management regarding the history of not only Stanley Island but also it's surrounding areas was refreshing and extremely interesting. The accommodation was great,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We arrived with the rain which wasn't the best arrival as we had to get to the island accommodation by boat and it was quite miserable. The evening meal was very late but great when it did eventually arrive. The accommodation was very comfortable though I'm not sure I would give it 5 stars as the bathrooms do not have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were only able to stay one night, but wish we could have stayed for more, very unique self catering experience, with 5 star quality rooms and service awell as a beautiful location in the middle of Keurbooms rivier surrounded by milkwood trees. Couldn't have asked for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Stanley Island over the Easter Weekend.  We are very familiar with this area of the Garden Route and have stayed at many establishments around Plett and Knysna.  Stanley Island, however, stands out as one of a kind.  The need to take a ferry to reach the Island added a touch of adventure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question